Grace Revealed

Grace Revealed

Titus 2:11-14 (NLT)

For the grace of God has been revealed, bringing salvation to all people. And we are instructed to turn from godless living and sinful pleasures. We should live in this evil world with wisdom, righteousness, and devotion to God, while we look forward with hope to that wonderful day when the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ, will be revealed. He gave his life to free us from every kind of sin, to cleanse us, and to make us his very own people, totally committed to doing good deeds.

God’s Grace, His Unmerited Favor gives us purpose in life. A purpose that was hidden in our heart linked to Eternity discovered only in Jesus Christ. The moment the death sentence satisfied, our true potential is revealed although most don’t even realize it. When I was attending college, I really had no idea what I wanted to do much less who I was to be in this life. I took the core classes recommended for general education. When choosing electives, my father who also financed this endeavor instructed me to take typing classes. Way back then, this would be the equivalent to “keyboarding” classes in this computerized age. I had taken this class in high school and really didn’t see the benefit of continuing but my dad is a very persistent person who insisted that I sign up for another class. His reasoning was that if I knew how to type that I would always have a job no matter where life carried me. I don’t know where he got this idea, but he was right. At first, it was a basic skill that really didn’t mean much to me. I took it for granted until I became a single mother and it helped secure my first job in many years. It was a skill that would overcome years of staying home with my children. I was soon approached by the medical transcriptionist in the medical office who noticed my typing skills and encouraged me to take the class to do what she did. So I did. Now married to the love of my life and expecting a sweet baby, I considered it. When she was born, I couldn’t bear to put her in daycare and so I took the class and medical terminology now made my typing skills invaluable not only monetarily but I could be home with the children again. Fast forward to now, not only am I able to make a good living and contribute to my family with this valuable skill but now in these quiet moments with the Lord, I can attempt to relay His Message to you. All because my father saw my potential and lovingly led me in the right direction. How much more is this true of our Heavenly Father who sees our potential and gives us the grace to see it come to pass as His Children?

The Grace of God has been revealed. Huh? Who me? Are you looking around right now wondering what makes the difference? GRACE is often described as God’s Riches at Christ’s Expense. As spiritual babies and young believers, it is difficult to understand what the Grace of God is all about and the true potential of it. My father knew that if I had a basic marketable skill that I would be able to provide for myself as an adult. God’s Grace is the very thing that saves me and sets me free allowing me to participate as resident of the Kingdom of God not a slave to the darkness of this world. He gave us new life and the freedom to live apart from sin and all its consequences and conditions. What will we do with this gift?

Romans 84:10-11 (NLT)

A single day in your courts is better than a thousand anywhere else! I would rather be a gatekeeper in the house of my God than live the good life in the homes of the wicked. For the Lord God is our sun and our shield. He gives us grace and glory. The Lord will withhold no good thing from those who do what is right.

God’s Grace revealed in our life shows us a better way. As a young person, I had the ability to ignore my dad’s wishes and take the courses that I wanted to take even though he was paying for college. He would not have known if I signed up for something else until it was too late to make a change. This would have been rebellion and having an old-fashioned parent would have led to consequences I would prefer not to think even well in adulthood. I honored his request even though I did not see the future impact. The Lord has shown us a better way. He has given us an open invitation by His Grace to live in His Presence. To be a gatekeeper in the House of God. He promises to those who do that He will be their sun and shield – illuminating their way with the Light of His Love and covering them with His Protection which is our faith in Him. To those who enter this place choosing to dwell there – the Word of God says that He will withhold no good thing from them who do what is right. This is the benefit of grace to the Body of Christ. To put our life in the grace revealed to us in Jesus Christ and live it right there with Him.

I Corinthians 3:10-11 (NLT)

Because of God’s grace to me, I have laid the foundation like an expert builder. Now others are building on it. But whoever is building on this foundation must be very careful. For no one can lay any foundation other than the one we already have—Jesus Christ.

 

Grace is given to us by the Lord. It is a gift. Like any gift possessed, just because we have it does not mean that we use it. There are many who will ask Jesus to be their Savior but never make Him Lord of their life. Grace like any other gift is not worth much to us if we do not use it somehow. Jesus Christ is the Giver of Grace. Faith in Jesus provides a firm foundation to structure our life upon each day building it into something that will glorify God. There is no other foundation worthy of building on than Jesus Christ. Our life will always be unstable unless we use the Grace of God and allow it to change our heart and mind until it transforms our attitudes and actions into something worthwhile. I knew how to type but did not use this valuable gift for many years. Ironically, it was the same years I had wandered far from the Lord. He was faithful. When I came back to Jesus, I found His Grace was still sufficient (2 Corinthians 12:9) and I could still type.

Galatians 5:3-5 (NLT)

I’ll say it again. If you are trying to find favor with God by being circumcised, you must obey every regulation in the whole law of Moses. For if you are trying to make yourselves right with God by keeping the law, you have been cut off from Christ! You have fallen away from God’s grace. But we who live by the Spirit eagerly wait to receive by faith the righteousness God has promised to us.

I have been a mom for almost 26 years. It doesn’t seem that long but it has been. I have finally been at this thing long enough to hear the words, “Mom, you were right.” All those years of being ignored and discredited end in a moment of revelation. But as a mom, I do not glory in those moments but when my children take the new wisdom that they have found it using it to improve their choices and make better ones. Isn’t that how our Father in Heaven must be and so much more? If I do not delight in their mistakes, but find relief and joy in my children’s greater understanding and accomplishments. It doesn’t matter how long it took them to arrive at such an epiphany as long as that moment comes. The Favor of God is preordained for His Children. He chose to love us and give us grace from the moment that He created us. The Grace of God is a gift that belongs to us because He decided it to be so. There is no way to earn it. Once we accept it, the Lord celebrates it by bestowing everything to us once barred by sin and rebellion.

I have had children rebel and go their own way. It hurts when we are apart from our children even when they are fulfilling God’s Purpose for them. We love them. We desire to live amongst them and enjoy life together. Grace builds strong relationships in life and even greater ones with God. To understand the Gift of Grace that is given to us allows us to freely extend it to others. How can we withhold this unearned and undeserved privilege of living in His Unfailing Love and experiencing His Overwhelming Goodness? Has God’s Grace been revealed to you? Are you living in it today?

Ephesians 1:6-11 (NLT)

So we praise God for the glorious grace he has poured out on us who belong to his dear Son. He is so rich in kindness and grace that he purchased our freedom with the blood of his Son and forgave our sins. He has showered his kindness on us, along with all wisdom and understanding. God has now revealed to us his mysterious plan regarding Christ, a plan to fulfill his own good pleasure. And this is the plan: At the right time he will bring everything together under the authority of Christ—everything in heaven and on earth. Furthermore, because we are united with Christ, we have received an inheritance from God for he chose us in advance, and he makes everything work out according to his plan.

I have been typing for more than 30 years now. Crazy? When I sit down before a keyboard, I honestly do not even think about it. My fingers just do what they have been doing forever it seems. What does this have to do with God’s Grace? The meaning of our life is to live in God’s Grace and share it with others. I still type for a living. People pay me to simply type and proof documents for them. Thanks dad! Not only that each day as I sit with the Father and we talk about this life that He has given us full of unfailing love, undeserved grace and overwhelming goodness – I am able to share it with you. Thanks God! God’s Grace is a gift. Over the years as we use it, we learn more of its great potential. But not everyone who is given grace ever uses it. My life is worth nothing unless I use it to tell others of God’s Grace and build His Kingdom. (Acts 20:24) Grace is not our excuse but empowers us with a gift to give others freely just as it has been given to us. (Ephesians 2:8) As God’s Grace changes our heart, it allows us to live for His Glory. (Romans 11:5-7) When people ask me how I learned to type or why I chose to, I tell them about my dad. He is the reason I did it. Not because I wanted to but in obedience. Don’t you see the message in this today? God has given us His Grace. At first, we live apart from sin not necessarily because we want to but to honor our Father. In our failure, He just pours more and more grace and goodness into our life until we discover that Grace isn’t about the Law but all about His Love for us.

Galatians 5:3-5 (NLT)

 I’ll say it again. If you are trying to find favor with God by being circumcised, you must obey every regulation in the whole law of Moses. For if you are trying to make yourselves right with God by keeping the law, you have been cut off from Christ! You have fallen away from God’s grace. But we who live by the Spirit eagerly wait to receive by faith the righteousness God has promised to us.

 

What a Great and Good Father we have, who could not bear to leave us in our sin but chose to free us by His Grace! Ask the Lord to reveal His Grace to you today in a new way. It is unfathomable in its depth and potential for our life when we use it first to build a relationship with God by separating ourselves from this world to experience the its full benefit in our life. Grace is fully released by choosing to live for the Glory of God. To obey our Father in all things even those things we do not understand or necessarily agree with but choosing His Way over our own. As we do the Gift of Grace becomes our sun and shield guiding and protecting us through this life into Eternity. God called us and saved us to live a holy life. Grace allows us to do so despite our inability to completely avoid sin. Who better to lead us than the One who wrote out our future? (Psalm 139:16) Who better to provide the Grace that we need to get there? (2 Corinthians 12:9) He knows our weakness and will become the strength we need to power through every opposition. God is showing us His Grace today. Will we open our eyes to see it and reach out grabbing hold of it to use it? God is working all things for our good according to His Plan today. (Romans 8:28) If we decide to wrap our life in His Grace, be obedient children fully covered by His Presence, we cannot fail but will find grace, grace and more grace in His Love.

2 Peter 1:2-3 (NLT)

May God give you more and more grace and peace as you grow in your knowledge of God and Jesus our Lord. By his divine power, God has given us everything we need for living a godly life. We have received all of this by coming to know him, the one who called us to himself by means of his marvelous glory and excellence.

 

 

Leave a Reply

