The Science Fair Project

Matthew 5:13-16 (NLT)

 “You are the salt of the earth. But what good is salt if it has lost its flavor? Can you make it salty again? It will be thrown out and trampled underfoot as worthless. You are the light of the world—like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden. No one lights a lamp and then puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand, where it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your good deeds shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your heavenly Father.

Not everyone will relate, but mothers of multiple children will definitely understand. I hate science fair projects… maybe hate is a strong word. Loathe, detest, dread, will not miss, and cannot wait until I am done forever. With five children and twenty years of grade school filled with countless project boards, every ingredient imaginable, and some of the silliest things I have ever wasted my time on, energy and resources on. However, all my educational indulgence has paid off because I learned something! It took a+. awhile (insert laugh) which my Father in Heaven is quite accustomed to so don’t judge me.

Our youngest daughter was working on her project last night. Albeit at the last possible minute, choosing to participate in other activities, calling me at to run by the store to grab her ingredients, and mess up my clean kitchen after dark. I will give her props because she fully embraced her endeavor. She was meticulous in her process, walked through each step with perfection, and cleaned up her mess when finished so immediately I gave her an A+. She allowed me to do some household chores and catch up on social media while conducting her experiment. When she was done she reviewed the results with me, now mind you I didn’t think much of her choice of experiments from the beginning. She wanted to know if Kool Aid changed the rate at which water came to a boil. Kool Aid. I hate the stuff. The food coloring along causes me to cringe. However, she discovered that different flavors/colors of the drink mix actually did effect the boiling rate of water. My little sponge just couldn’t stop there and determined that she thought it might be the salt in the mix that impacted her outcome. So she added a step and some salt to plain water to see if impacting the time it took to boil. It did. Whoa! As my brain absorbed the information, my spirit took hold of the idea.

Jesus said, “You are the salt of the earth.” Perhaps you already knew that salt added to water would make a difference in our daughter’s experiment. I was pretty impressed she thought about it. Anyone who has been in church could probably affirm that Jesus called us the “salt of the earth.” But what does it mean? I know what salt is, where it comes from and how people use it. I have studied what it was used for in history. I also know that too much sodium is not always a good thing. Jesus went on to say that if it has lost its flavor it is no good. In Luke 14:34-35, the Lord tells us that flavorless salt is only good for the manure or poop pile. I don’t want to be worthless. My goal is to fulfill the purpose for which I was created. Part of my calling is to be salt and the other is to be light. We are also called the Light of the World. Tiny sparks with the expressed purpose of illuminating the world with the Love of God. How are we doing? Do we need to add some salt?

Matthew 24:9-13 (NLT)

 “Then you will be arrested, persecuted, and killed. You will be hated all over the world because you are my followers. And many will turn away from me and betray and hate each other. And many false prophets will appear and will deceive many people. Sin will be rampant everywhere, and the love of many will grow cold. But the one who endures to the end will be saved.”

Jesus again spreading that Good News. He tells us that believers will be arrested, persecuted, and killed. Not happening? Oh yes it is. He also indicated that Christians would be hated all over the world just for following Him. Bingo! He warned that many would turn away from Him and hate each other. Churches split and divide every single day. False prophets. There are many in the church leading people astray but the followers do not know because they lack a personal relationship with Jesus Christ so they don’t realize what they are being fed is a lie or watered down truth or a lie or omitting important details like the Cross and Blood of Jesus…yep you guessed it… all lies. Sin will be or is rather rampant. Love of many will grow cold. We are living right where Jesus said we would be. Now what?

The ones who endures to the end will be saved. What does that mean “endures to the end”? Grace opens the door to the Kingdom of God. It is not a doormat that we use to come and go as we please. When we are giving the Grace of God, it is with purpose. Not to fill our bank accounts, pantries, garages, or pride, it is to cause the Love of God to overflow in us until it reaches those around us. My mission (or commission) is to share the Good News of Jesus and continue to follow Him until He comes and I can be with Him forever. It is not my job to change the world but to love everyone in it and tell of the Savior who loves them and died for them offering the freedom that I have found. I cannot share with them what I do not have. If I run out of salt and head to the neighbor’s house, I am out of luck if they don’t have any either. We are well supplied by God to live a godly life. What are we doing with it? Are we salty? What does it matter?

Revelation 3:15-20 (NLT)

 “I know all the things you do, that you are neither hot nor cold. I wish that you were one or the other! But since you are like lukewarm water, neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth! You say, ‘I am rich. I have everything I want. I don’t need a thing!’ And you don’t realize that you are wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked. So I advise you to buy gold from me—gold that has been purified by fire. Then you will be rich. Also buy white garments from me so you will not be shamed by your nakedness, and ointment for your eyes so you will be able to see. I correct and discipline everyone I love. So be diligent and turn from your indifference.  “Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends.

We can do a lot of things and label them for the Lord. We can serve faithfully and tithe on every dime. We will be blessed in our obedience but that is not necessarily going to share the Good News with others or express His Love to the lost. In the letter to church in Sardis, the Lord commended them on their efforts, but gave them a staunch warning. “Since you are like lukewarm water, neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth.” Whoa, not cool! Am I lukewarm? I have to evaluate my own life to decide. Don’t worry, in the presence of true evaluation, the Holy Spirit is released to convict, instruct and guide a willing and sincere heart. Jesus didn’t come to condemn us. He came to save us and set us free. Freedom is secured by faith expressed in confident hope. Confident hope can love freely and unconditionally because it is satisfied by the Source – Jesus Christ – not other people. It is time to turn up the heat. It is time to add some salt. It is time to be salty. This is the beginning of revival.

Psalm 85:6-9 (NLT)

Won’t you revive us again, so your people can rejoice in you? Show us your unfailing love, O Lord, and grant us your salvation. I listen carefully to what God the Lord is saying, for he speaks peace to his faithful people. But let them not return to their foolish ways. Surely his salvation is near to those who fear him, so our land will be filled with his glory.

 

Jesus didn’t say that those who are salty would not encounter the bad things expressed in Matthew 24. What He did say is those who endure to the end will be saved. Salvation is our goal. To get the message out that our God saves, heals, delivers and sets free. It is not going to happen hiding in a church or our Christianity outside the four walls. It is not expressed in condemnation but complete and total love the opposite of the world’s response to the weak, tainted and broken. You cannot give something you do not have. You cannot adequately express what you have not experienced. You cannot introduce others to someone who you do not know. If we want revival…real revival…not just playing church – we must be revived. Refinement is part of this process. God will turn the heat up. When we decide to be the salt of the earth, loving His Word, seeking the Truth and truly living what we discover, it hastens the process. Living God’s Way produces the revival in us so that it can spill over into the world. (Psalm 19:7-12) We cannot change the world or its destiny but we can cover it with the Glory of God, saturate the atmosphere with His Praise, extend His Love to others, and let His Grace blanket the earth and its people pouring from hearts and minds on fire for Him. I want revival. I need revival. Revival begins in me. Even more surprising, I learned it in a science fair project. How is He speaking to you? The Lord is talking to you! Look for Him. Listen to Him. He wants to restore, revive and release us. I am ready. How about you?

Psalm 85:10-13 (NLT)

Unfailing love and truth have met together. Righteousness and peace have kissed!  Truth springs up from the earth, and righteousness smiles down from heaven. Yes, the Lord pours down his blessings. Our land will yield its bountiful harvest. Righteousness goes as a herald before him, preparing the way for his steps.

Leave a Reply

