Lost Desire

Lost Desire

Psalm 73:24-25 (NLT)

Whom have I in heaven but you? I desire you more than anything on earth. My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; He is mine forever.

 

The thought occurred to me. Do I desire Jesus Christ? Do I want Him more than anything on earth? I do today, but not every day. There are days when my wants and desires take over producing discontentment that demands immediate gratification. Notice I did not use the word “need”, because honestly the Lord meets my every necessity even on the days I am stubborn and headstrong trying to go my own way. People are busy. I am quite sure the enemy planned it that way. With a husband and children, my life would be busy enough but add work, church, schedules, agendas, as well as, all the other responsibilities associated with maintaining a home, etc. Our eyes are on many other things, as our hands work to achieve things and to get them done. Suddenly, it easy to forget the One who loves us and desires in every moment of life. Why else would He hand script our life moment by moment? Why would He be so in tune to catch even our tears in little bottles of safekeeping? In the midst of our chaotic frenzied state to make a better life, He is working behind the scenes to make good of every detail in the mess that we leave behind at the end of human efforts. But in the quiet moment of time carved out for our Keeper, I am reminded today that He wants me. He desires me. The Lord is constantly pursing me with Unfailing Love coupled with His Goodness. His Love and Desire for me so profound He allowed men so far beneath Him to ridicule, torture, spit on and crucify Him just to be with me one day. Jesus is mine forever because He gave Himself to give me forever. He gave me my life back in the hope that I would give it back to Him. When two become one in marriage, it is to surrender their thoughts, dreams, goals and aspirations to share life together. Do I desire Him today more than anything on earth? Do you?

Psalm 51:16-17 (NLT)

You do not desire a sacrifice, or I would offer one. You do not want a burnt offering. The sacrifice you desire is a broken spirit. You will not reject a broken and repentant heart, O God.

 

Jesus came to this world to give us a rich, satisfying life. (John 10:10) I believe that, do you? If we truly believed that it was the Lord’s Heartfelt and Expressed Desire to satisfy us completely and had faith that He could and would – we would desire Him, too. Of course, we would. The human race longs for satisfaction and contentment seeking endless ways to achieve it even unto death for those who find it too elusive. The Lord does not desire us to sacrifice our life because the ultimate sacrifice has already been given and accepted by God – Jesus. He doesn’t need a burnt offering – one easily consumed by the fire because anything we surrender was already supplied to us by God. So now what? He desires a broken spirit and repentant heart. Well, isn’t that lovely? Sounds like fun. Well, actually it is the very thing that puts us a place of receivership from the Lord.

Ecclesiastes 2:10-11 (NLT)

Anything I wanted, I would take. I denied myself no pleasure. I even found great pleasure in hard work, a reward for all my labors. But as I looked at everything I had worked so hard to accomplish, it was all so meaningless—like chasing the wind. There was nothing really worthwhile anywhere.

 

Solomon, son of King David, lived under the Favor of God for His Father. When God asked him what he desired, he asked for wisdom. God granted his request. Now here the man is after using
God’s Gift, his life was full of people and things (Ecclesiastes 2:7-11) but his soul a cavernous void. He perceived his life as meaningless. We can use the Favor of God granted in our salvation to achieve immediate gratification but the Lord desires to give us complete satisfaction. What’s the difference?

Desire is to wish or long for; to crave and to want. It is to express a wish to obtain; ask for; and request. What are we asking the Lord for today? Do we want the Lord to satisfy our soul? Satisfy means to fulfill the desires, expectations, needs and demands with full contentment. To put an end to desire, need and want by sufficient and ample provision. To have full assurance. To answer completely. God wants us to be complete lacking no good thing. The Lord desires to give us a rich and satisfying life.

Too often humanity cries out for gratification rather than satisfaction. What’s the difference? Glad you asked. To gratify means to give pleasure by satisfying desires by humoring inclinations and/or feelings. Whoa. It is false satisfaction. Anything false is dangerous because it takes the place of truth. God does not lie or change His Mind. He operates fully and completely in truth. To seek instant or immediate gratification from God is to ask for less than His Best and He is not willing to do that.

Galatians 5:13-17 (NLT)

For you have been called to live in freedom, my brothers and sisters. But don’t use your freedom to satisfy your sinful nature. Instead, use your freedom to serve one another in love. For the whole law can be summed up in this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” But if you are always biting and devouring one another, watch out! Beware of destroying one another. So I say, let the Holy Spirit guide your lives. Then you won’t be doing what your sinful nature craves. The sinful nature wants to do evil, which is just the opposite of what the Spirit wants. And the Spirit gives us desires that are the opposite of what the sinful nature desires. These two forces are constantly fighting each other, so you are not free to carry out your good intentions.

 

Human nature is a strong force within us all. We never fully can rid ourselves of this nuisance until we are one with Jesus Christ on the Day of Redemption. It will take a daily desire for Jesus to pursue Him every day of our life as our flesh tries to get us wrapped us up in other things. It demands immediate gratification while the Holy Spirit works in us to produce total satisfaction. We must desire the One who can complete us and make us fully content which means daily taking those sinful desires, human inclinations and overwrought emotions nailing each one to the Cross allowing the Blood of Jesus to flow over them, washing our soul in the Word and presenting our body, mind and spirit to the One who loved us first and loves us the most. He is the One who desires nothing but the absolute best for us… nothing more and nothing less.

 

Galatians 5:22-26 (NLT)

But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things! Those who belong to Christ Jesus have nailed the passions and desires of their sinful nature to his cross and crucified them there. Since we are living by the Spirit, let us follow the Spirit’s leading in every part of our lives. Let us not become conceited, or provoke one another, or be jealous of one another.

 

Use the Helper that you have been given. He works in us to produce the life that we have been promised by the Lord and deals with our flesh every day. He gives us the Gifts that last forever as fruit born of surrendered ground. Broken spirits that refuse to run off and make themselves wait. Thank you Lord for self-control born of Your Spirit who whispers, “It will be worth it, just hang on!” A repentant heart maintains its position in righteousness and with that is satisfied with the richness of a right relationship with God the Father by becoming one with Jesus, His Son. We must nail every emotion, passion and desire for anything other than 100% total and complete satisfaction to the Cross to want Jesus more than anything on earth. He is worth the wait. You won’t be disappointed when He arrives. Faith and confident hope never leads to disappointment.

 

Philippians 2:13-16 (NLT)

 For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him. Do everything without complaining and arguing, so that no one can criticize you. Live clean, innocent lives as children of God, shining like bright lights in a world full of crooked and perverse people.  Hold firmly to the word of life; then, on the day of Christ’s return, I will be proud that I did not run the race in vain and that my work was not useless.

I do not want a working relationship with Jesus. I want an intimate and personal relationship with Him as a bride loves her groom. What’s the difference? Jesus and I can work together and my life can life in cooperation with the Word of God and doing His Will. Such an endeavor will produce prosperity in my life. I will be blessed just in working His Plan. Those who sow will always reap. I can fill my house with things and my bank account with money following God’s Word and Way implicitly. However, that doesn’t produce intimacy. I am not intimate with my boss. I do not desire him. I do desire intimacy with my husband. I want to share every aspect of my life with him. This has produced a large family and more than a decade of life together. I cannot image a day without him in my life and how I never have to. This is the kind of relationship that Jesus desires with us. Each one of us individually because even if you were the only one on the earth that day. If you were the one who had to drive each nail into his hands and feet, He would have still died just for you because He loves you and me that much.

With that thought, I ask the question again…”Do you (I) desire Jesus more than anything (or anyone) else? Am I seeking a marriage of convenience just to get what He has for me but never giving myself to Him? Do we have a casual working relationship? Are we friends with benefits but no real commitment? Struggle is real and these questions valid. In the end, it will matter to Him what matters most to us now.

I Peter 1:13-15 (NLT)

So prepare your minds for action and exercise self-control. Put all your hope in the gracious salvation that will come to you when Jesus Christ is revealed to the world. 14 So you must live as God’s obedient children. Don’t slip back into your old ways of living to satisfy your own desires. You didn’t know any better then. 15 But now you must be holy in everything you do, just as God who chose you is holy.

 

Revelation 2:2-4 (NLT)

 “I know all the things you do. I have seen your hard work and your patient endurance. I know you don’t tolerate evil people. You have examined the claims of those who say they are apostles but are not. You have discovered they are liars. You have patiently suffered for me without quitting. But I have this complaint against you. You don’t love me or each other as you did at first!”

Leave a Reply

