All Good

All Good

Romans 8:26-28 (TLB)

And in the same way—by our faith—the Holy Spirit helps us with our daily problems and in our praying. For we don’t even know what we should pray for nor how to pray as we should, but the Holy Spirit prays for us with such feeling that it cannot be expressed in words. And the Father who knows all hearts knows, of course, what the Spirit is saying as he pleads for us in harmony with God’s own will. And we know that all that happens to us is working for our good if we love God and are fitting into his plans.

 

God is good. Life is good. The earth in its creation is good. The Lord has promised that for those who love Him and are “fitting into His Plans” that all things work together for good. What if its not all good right now? What if the struggle is real? Does it mean that the Lord has forgotten His Promise or is falling down on the job? Is it possible that one has met the external parameter of His Love or full extent of His Grace and there is no more? My biggest fear about “church” as it exists today is its unwillingness to equip people to survive when things are not all good and when bad things happen to God’s People. Evil will prevail in the world until Jesus Christ returns. It is just as much of a reality as the Goodness of our God. There is no such thing as a normal life. Everyone is different. We are all individuals. Society has a normal but that does not necessarily make it a reality in your life. When a crisis hits our life, we become a statistic. The fatality of fate gnaws away at our faith and hope becomes nothing more than a fairytale. How does one hold tight to the Truth that God is good and all things work together for the good of those who love and serve Him?

I am glad you asked. I have been asking myself the same question. Somewhere in our journey toward healing, as I prayed for our son, the Lord shared Romans 8:28 with me as if for the first time. It has become one of my favorites. I use it often to encourage others and remind myself continually of God’s Intent to make His Goodness prevail in my life. I must do everything in my power to make it happen even though the reality is that I can do nothing at all other than surrender my life to God’s Plan. I miss the joy and bliss of ignorance before I became the mother of a cancer patient. I loved not knowing what it felt like to live at doctors, wait on results and walk out healing. To God be all Glory and Honor for pushing me, pulling me, and dragging me through the Realm of Hope to complete healing for our son…now Jesus, please heal me.

Romans 8:29-30 (TLB)

For from the very beginning God decided that those who came to him—and all along he knew who would—should become like his Son, so that his Son would be the First, with many brothers. And having chosen us, he called us to come to him; and when we came, he declared us “not guilty,” filled us with Christ’s goodness, gave us right standing with himself, and promised us his glory.

 

I am so very thankful today that God’s Goodness is not dependent on me or my ability to be faithful to Him. God’s Goodness was His Idea long before I was every born. It goes all the way back to Creation when He spoke the earth into existence and then populated it with life. He had a plan. It was a good one with a future and hope for everyone. (Jeremiah 29:11) God chose us with full cognizance that we were sinners and could not do anything in ourselves to regain right standing becoming His Precious Children. God did it all. He sent His Son and accepted the sacrifice. I cannot even imagine. God did the unthinkable just to allow us to experience His Goodness every day.

I Corinthians 13:12-13 (TLB)

In the same way, we can see and understand only a little about God now, as if we were peering at his reflection in a poor mirror; but someday we are going to see him in his completeness, face-to-face. Now all that I know is hazy and blurred, but then I will see everything clearly, just as clearly as God sees into my heart right now. There are three things that remain—faith, hope, and love—and the greatest of these is love.

On those days when the reflection in the mirror is just a little cloudier than before, we must work to see God’s Goodness and keep our faith in place. I cannot see what the Lord is doing but must rely on the Guidance of the Holy Spirit to get me where He is going. I cannot see the completeness of His Plan being worked out all around me so there are days I struggle to stay focused until the end. Those are the days, okay these are the days, if you insist today is the day I will say that God is good even when I am struggling to see it all work out. When the salvation that He is working through me is challenging me to just hang on, these are the days I must remind myself that He is good. (Psalm 11:7) There are only three things that remain through the end of time – faith, hope and love. I need all three to make it to the end especially love. Some days it is more of a challenge than others, as we try to hang on.

Colossians 2:8-10 (TLB)

Don’t let others spoil your faith and joy with their philosophies, their wrong and shallow answers built on men’s thoughts and ideas, instead of on what Christ has said. For in Christ there is all of God in a human body; so you have everything when you have Christ, and you are filled with God through your union with Christ. He is the highest Ruler, with authority over every other power.

 

Today I am reminded that God is always good. A still small voice is whispering to me, “Just hang on and it will all make sense.” The Lord is reminding me that every detail of my life committed to Him has a place in His Plan that will be made whole and complete. Nothing will be wasted. Every tear safely stored in a bottle wrapped in His Love. God has a purpose for us. It will be fulfilled if we desire such a life which means even on those days we entertain those empty philosophies meant to steal our joy, kill our faith or drain our hope that God’s Love will always be the prevailing factor in our life that motivates us to hang on because He is good.

To have Jesus Christ means that I have it all. Everything I need, want and desire can be found in Him. Discontentment and dissatisfaction are things found in myself not my Lord. When they come calling and the mirror of my mind fogs over with things I don’t’ understand or meant to blur my vision, I must wipe them away as vigorously as the steam on the bathroom mirror after a long hot shower. How do I do that? With the Truth, God’s Word gives me all the hope that I need to become more rooted and grounded in Christ. By His Spirit who is with me to help me in every weakness for then I become strong. To continually surrender my life to faithfulness and obedience to the Lord is to believe especially on those days when I struggle to see it all coming to pass that I will praise Him right where I am even when I have no idea where that is just because He is good! The Lord is all good! I give Him the highest position in my life today pushing every other worry and care aside to allow Him to rule and reign today knowing He is working on my behalf.

Psalm 23 (TLB)

Because the Lord is my Shepherd, I have everything I need! He lets me rest in the meadow grass and leads me beside the quiet streams. He gives me new strength. He helps me do what honors him the most. Even when walking through the dark valley of death I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me, guarding, guiding all the way. You provide delicious food for me in the presence of my enemies. You have welcomed me as your guest; blessings overflow! Your goodness and unfailing kindness shall be with me all of my life, and afterwards I will live with you forever in your home.

The Lord is my Shepherd, Leader, and Caregiver. He is totally responsible for my life. I have all I need but just need to remind myself sometimes that it is all good. I forget. He lets me rest when I am weary as He gives me new strength to conquer every giant and overcome every fear. He helps me do all those crazy things faith calls me to do that I have no idea what or how to do. Even when death comes calling, He walks me right through the darkness and into the Light of His Love… every single time. He is close to me. He guards all that is mine including my heart that I gave to Him. He guides me all the way to His Promise if I will simply obey. He provides everything I need, want and desire in the face of the enemy all the while overflowing my life with blessing after blessing. His Goodness is with me all my life because His Unfailing Kindness tightly bound in His Love chase after me day after day. I will live with Him forever – that is our end goal after all. When I cannot see the next step, it must be enough to take just one knowing that the Lord loves me and it is all good! Today I am reminding myself of that… again. Faith in God does not mean that we have arrived but that daily we just want more of Him. He is all I need. God is good!

Psalm 111:4-9 (TLB)

Who can forget the wonders he performs—deeds of mercy and of grace? He gives food to those who trust him; he never forgets his promises. He has shown his great power to his people by giving them the land of Israel, though it was the home of many nations living there. All he does is just and good, and all his laws are right, for they are formed from truth and goodness and stand firm forever. He has paid a full ransom for his people; now they are always free to come to Jehovah (what a holy, awe-inspiring name that is).

Leave a Reply

