The Visionary

The Visionary

Acts 2:17-21 (NLT)

“In the last days,’ God says, ‘I will pour out my Spirit upon all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy. Your young men will see visions, and your old men will dream dreams. In those days I will pour out my Spirit even on my servants—men and women alike—and they will prophesy. And I will cause wonders in the heavens above and signs on the earth below—blood and fire and clouds of smoke. The sun will become dark, and the moon will turn blood red before that great and glorious day of the Lord arrives. But everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”

 

I am a dreamer. I wander in my thoughts sometimes. Daydreaming of the next step in the midst of monotony. I think it goes along with optimism. I have also noticed that as I began studying the Word of God intent to know His Secrets from time to time I have visions. I am not a psychic. Please don’t ask me to read your palm or tell the future. It is not like that. Sometimes I just know things – things that only could be from the Father as no man could see so far. Does that make you uncomfortable? Well, the truth is it does make people uncomfortable. It is not a “me” thing but a God thing. I hesitate to share it with anyone because it may seem like some “spooky” spiritual thing. It is not. God said that in the last days that He would pour out His Spirit on people. Sons and daughters would prophesy. Young men and old would see visions and dream dreams. The haunting part of this verse is not the fact that God would tell His Secrets to mere humans but that the very course of events surrounding His Outpouring is taking place. Yet, where are the dreamers? Where are the true visionaries?

Many years ago when I was first introduced to the idea of prophetic words, I was quite skeptical. The Gifts of the Holy Spirit were mocked by the church of my youth, He was rendered a “silent partner” in our relationship with God. No one could deny His Existence but refused complete Holy Inhabitation. The Book of Acts was as new as the day I received my Bible but rather our church focused heavily on Hebrews (Faith) and Revelation (Hope). Good principles to have but without the help of the Holy Spirit quite elusive. Just speaking from experience. To know the Will of God and understand His Word, I need the Holy Spirit to constantly renew my mind, teach me how to live and guide me in the process. Enough said.

During that time a young man came to me and said that he was praying for me. God had given him a “word” for me. He told me that God was planting me like a post. Driving me in the ground like a stake that could not be moved. He kind of laughed and apologized at the end, but said that he felt better after getting it off his chest. Glad to help. I refuted the “word” spoken over me for a long time until I realized God did just what He promised to do. I found a verse in the Word of God that even implied it several years back but cannot remember where I found it. I need to find it again. The events of the last five or six years of my life have indeed planted my faith and trust in the Lord deeper than anything ever could. It was a painful process. There was a great deal of pressure but in the end I am well planted in a good foundation like a stake or post in the ground.

Ok, maybe you think that was pretty general and I could tell you time and time again how the Lord has dropped things in my spirit that turned out to be true. People are enamored by modern day phenomenon like people who claim to possess psychic power. They even chase ghosts and spirits. However, when someone starts talking about dreams and visions from God … why does this seem so weird? God’s Word said that it would happen. Why wouldn’t you want to be a modern day visionary? Do you want to know God’s Secrets? The only requirement is to know Jesus and walk in His Way. The Holy Spirit is given as a seal over our heart and guarantee of every promise that we have been given. How better to spread the Word?

 

Daniel 1:12-17 (NLT)

“Please test us for ten days on a diet of vegetables and water,” Daniel said. “At the end of the ten days, see how we look compared to the other young men who are eating the king’s food. Then make your decision in light of what you see.” The attendant agreed to Daniel’s suggestion and tested them for ten days. At the end of the ten days, Daniel and his three friends looked healthier and better nourished than the young men who had been eating the food assigned by the king. So after that, the attendant fed them only vegetables instead of the food and wine provided for the others. God gave these four young men an unusual aptitude for understanding every aspect of literature and wisdom. And God gave Daniel the special ability to interpret the meanings of visions and dreams.”

Are we listening? We cry out to the Lord but I think if we would incline our ear to Him that things might change. I have five children. I know exactly what it feels like to “waste my breath” and keep telling them something when they choose not to listen. In the beginning, I would discipline them for disobedience especially when their behavior was harmful. But now that most of them are adults, I may warn them or give them my opinion, but after that I just pray for them as they find their way. The Lord has given us His Word and His Spirit. We must learn to rely on them both in order to hear from the Lord again. God speaks to us in many ways. He will not speak to us about others or anything else until we learn to listen and obey for ourselves.

The “Daniel Fast” has become a popular event within in the modern day church. Many organizations observe the fast to kick off the New Year. There are websites instructing people how and when to fast. How to get ready. How to make it through. What to eat. What not to eat. How to conserve energy. What to pray for. I believe that the true intent of fasting should be God’s Will not the will of man. The king wanted all the young men to be healthy and strong. The food would defy Daniel and the other young Jewish men’s religious covenant to God. They asked the kind’s steward to allow them to eat only vegetables. To test them and see that at the end of the ten days they would be healthy and fit. They were not only physically fit but in tune with God. God gave them knowledge and skill in literature and wisdom. Natural intelligence. God gave Daniel understanding of all visions and dreams. Maybe you don’t believe that this is possible in the modern age, but in Joel it was prophesied and in Acts – the Spirit of the Living God was released. A few weeks ago, the moon turned blood red. I think now is exactly the time…

Habakkuk 2:1-3 (NLT)

I will climb up to my watchtower and stand at my guard post. There I will wait to see what the Lord says and how he will answer my complaint. Then the Lord said to me, “Write my answer plainly on tablets, so that a runner can carry the correct message to others. This vision is for a future time. It describes the end, and it will be fulfilled. If it seems slow in coming, wait patiently, for it will surely take place. It will not be delayed.

As believers, God invites us all to the watchtower. We are offered the opportunity to stand at the guard post and look to the horizon – where are help comes from. God answers some prayers immediately. Others take time. If you have God’s Word, and are willing to maintain your position all things become possible in your life. Do you know God’s Word? Do you hear His Voice? If you have nothing to stand on, this will not make any sense. Some people are feeling the pressure of the impending return of Jesus Christ and is wreaking havoc in their life. All hell is breaking loose but they don’t understand because they love God. Just a week or so ago, people were assassinated in Oregon for admitting that they were Christians. Twelve innocent people were tortured and then crucified for refusing to denounce Jesus Christ as Lord. We need to hear from the Lord to live in this world. We need to know that there is more to life than this. It is a day and age that I pray whenever boarding a plane or my kids go to the movies – “Holy Ghost go with us.” You should, too.

The Vision of God is a blessing. It is a privilege. To see a glimpse of what God is doing and wait until He is finished. Pray it in. Watch for it. Make others aware of its coming. I know there have been a whole lot of preachers and so-called evangelists who have tainted this sacred ministry. God speaks to us for free. His Son paid the price for this valuable communication between God and His People. Why aren’t we listening? Notice that there was a single man waiting on the vision. He was alone in the watchtower waiting on God. It may be that way with you today. Be the visionary. Ask God to speak to you. Decide to wait until He comes. You will have to wait. God is making good out of every detail. He is perfecting the way. The Lord will never compromise His Perfection for the comfort of His People but He promises that the Ones who wait will not be disappointed.

Isaiah 30:8-11 (NLT)

Now go and write down these words. Write them in a book. They will stand until the end of time as a witness that these people are stubborn rebels who refuse to pay attention to the Lord’s instructions. They tell the seers, “Stop seeing visions!” They tell the prophets, “Don’t tell us what is right. Tell us nice things. Tell us lies. Forget all this gloom. Get off your narrow path. Stop telling us about your ‘Holy One of Israel.’”

 

My heart is broken today for the church. We have become the very place warned about in God’s Word. Visions make you weird and unwelcomed in most because a vision from God will never embrace sin. People want to be comfortable even in church. Are you a visionary? Is the Lord speaking to your heart but you are afraid to say what He is saying or do what He is telling you to do? Do it anyway. Write down those dreams and visions. Pray over them. Ask the Lord to tell you more. Jesus is coming back. You don’t have to like it. You don’t even have to believe it and can carry on with “normal” life. I want to be a visionary. I want to write it down. Give it to the runner. Wait for it to come to pass. Why? I want Jesus. I want all of Jesus. The Truth hurts sometimes just like when I was told God was planting me like a post. At first, I didn’t believe it. Now I am welcoming the Word. It has changed my life forever. Lord, make me a visionary for You!

Matthew 19:26 (NLT)

Jesus looked at them intently and said, “Humanly speaking, it is impossible. But with God everything is possible.”

Leave a Reply

