Boarding Pass

Boarding Pass

Luke 5:23-25 (NLT)

Is it easier to say ‘Your sins are forgiven,’ or ‘Stand up and walk’? So I will prove to you that the Son of Man has the authority on earth to forgive sins.” Then Jesus turned to the paralyzed man and said, “Stand up, pick up your mat, and go home!” And immediately, as everyone watched, the man jumped up, picked up his mat, and went home praising God.

I woke up this morning to a note on my journal. “Print boarding passes.” It is time to go home. After spending almost a week with our children who live in the New England area, it is time to repack our bags and head to the airport. Boarding passes are show that we have a place on the airplane. These little pieces of paper show the flight counter where to send our bags and have paid the price to fly. It tells the security guard our point of destination as our bags are inspected as to try to keep the other passengers and ourselves protected from acts of terrorism. It will give us the gate number and time that our flight will arrive. It is a key piece of information that allows us to cross many access points. I need to print these passes as a vital part of our journey home.

When Jesus died on the Cross rising again three days later, He held the Keys to the Kingdom. He offered them to us. We have the ability to take those keys out of His Nail-Scarred Hand and open doors that lead us home and close the ones meant to distract us. By simply saying, “Yes, Lord, I choose You” there is an immediate opening in the Kingdom of God and room in the place prepared for Children of the Living God. However, there is something important to note here. A comparison on my heart from the moment I wrote the note last night reminding me to print our boarding passes. My sins are forgiven. It is up to me, though whether or not I make it all the way to the Kingdom of God. Jesus paid for my “flight”. Will I board is another thing entirely?

“Is it easier to say, ‘Your sins are forgiven,’ or ‘Stand up and walk?’” Jesus has full authority over the sin in our life. There is nothing that comes against us more powerful than the God in us. Nothing is impossible for the one who believes. When I purchased these flights, the Lord blessed us tremendously with very good prices. So good in fact, that I went directly from the discount website to the airlines webpage to see if there was a catch. No catch, so I bought the tickets. But surely when we arrived at the airport, there would be some minor stipulation. None. The flight was nonstop and perfect except for the screaming child encountered on most of them. Today, I will print the same type of “boarding pass” but with a bit more confidence than before because I have tried them before and found them to be true and valid. We are told emphatically that our sins are forgiven. We are free. Inside us is the power of God to do anything by faith even move mountains. Why are Christians so powerless then?

 

2 Corinthians 5:6-9 (NLT)

So we are always confident, even though we know that as long as we live in these bodies we are not at home with the Lord. For we live by believing and not by seeing. Yes, we are fully confident, and we would rather be away from these earthly bodies, for then we will be at home with the Lord. So whether we are here in this body or away from this body, our goal is to please him.

 

I know that New England is not my home. My home is in Florida. It is where my home is, office is, church is and life is. I came to visit my daughter. This is her home now. She has moved from the comfort of her first home to build a new life with her husband. They came because they were called by God to be here. They are seeking to serve the Lord and build His Kingdom. Today I will go back home. I am confident of where I live for it has been our home for more than ten years. It is the confidence I have that makes me travel. I know that when I get there that there is a place for me just like I know if I walk by faith not by sight and seek to live in the Presence of God that I will leave the earth one day to live with Jesus forever. This impacts my life just like my boarding pass shapes my plans. I will do what it tells me to make my flight and get home today. My life should be guided and directed by the Word of God to make my way home. By faith, I will follow its directions to be sure that I make it to that place. When I stand before Christ, He must know me for me to get in. The Holy Spirit is my guide just like the people who will help us through each checkpoint today. I know this seems so simple maybe too simple for some but to live by faith and confident hope means more than accepting the fact that our sins are forgiven but at some point we must get up and walk!

Hebrews 13:14-16 (NLT)

For this world is not our permanent home; we are looking forward to a home yet to come. Therefore, let us offer through Jesus a continual sacrifice of praise to God, proclaiming our allegiance to his name. And don’t forget to do good and to share with those in need. These are the sacrifices that please God.

I know where I live. I am going there today. I will do exactly what it the boarding pass instructs me to do to make it to my destination because I am fully convinced for now it is where I belong. My life should also reflect that my sins are forgiven and I am to get up and walk. Walk by faith. Live in confident hope. To do what the Word of God tells me to do. To allow His Spirit to work in and through me to make it to my final destination. Without faith, it is impossible to please God just like I cannot get home without my boarding pass. This world is not our permanent home. I must live as though I am looking forward to a home yet to come. The one that Jesus died to give me access to. I must believe that it is worth traveling through the mountains and valleys in the Light of His Love. It is not always going to be easy but my forever home will be worth it. Today I want to thank Jesus for making a way for me to live in Eternity with Him. Thank you that this world and all of its heartache and struggles is not my forever. I am committed to walking by faith in confident hope living in love with Jesus. He made a way for me to leave this place behind. I will live like it.

Our sins are forgiven. Many know this, but few live like it. I have greater power in me than any problem that I will ever face or hardship that will ever be endured. I have the potential for the impossible to fill my possibilities. It is by living like my sins are truly forgiven and this world is not my final destination that builds the confidence I need to be more than a conqueror. Today I choose to walk by faith and not by sight. I will live like a Child of God and not permanent resident of this planet. Thank you for the reminder, Lord. May I grow more rooted and grounded in Your Love than ever before and take full advantage of all that you offered when you said, “It is finished!”

Ephesians 3:16-18 (NLT)

I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit. Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is.

Leave a Reply

