Closing Doors

Closing Doors

Matthew 6:22-23 (NLT)

Your eye is a lamp that provides light for your body. When your eye is good, your whole body is filled with light. But when your eye is bad, your whole body is filled with darkness. And if the light you think you have is actually darkness, how deep that darkness is!

Each day when I leave for work I walk around the house and close the door to every room to keep our little dogs out of until we are home. I deny them access to certain rooms to remove little temptations especially from our puppy who tends to find mischief when unattended. But even our old dog has maintained some old tricks like rummaging through waste baskets looking for a discarded wrapper or tidbit of food. So every day on my way out the door, I make it a habit to walk around closing doors. Not only do I secure the inside of the house from welcomed ones, but I make sure the front door and back door are locked to keep out unwanted guests and set the security alarm shutting the door tightly behind me. Several years ago, we arrived home to find that someone had treated themselves to the contents of our home. When I get to work, I lock the doors to my car before heading in to insure that it is still there when I am ready to go home. Even taking certain measures to ensure the safety of my family and security of my home, there is no guarantee that if someone really wants in that they cannot make it so. However, I have done everything in my power to stop it.

My motivation in this is not fear but rather caution. I am not afraid and have still found that I leave the doors unlocked unintentionally. But there is a door that I should put a higher precedent on than my house and my car. It is the door to my mind. My eyes are an access point to my mind and so are my ears. There are many different ways that the enemy can infiltrate my thinking and change my mind, spirit and heart with regards to Christ. It is when I am not careful to secure my thoughts and govern these points of access that my faith is chipped away at and my confident hope dissolves in things like fear, discontentment and stress. As Children of God, we must learn to become more protective of our mind in order to win every victory in life. For if we can maintain the Mind of Christ, faith in God and live in confident hope, it is then that we win every single victory and live triumphantly.

Matthew 6:21 (NLT) Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be.

 

We must put the Word of God in context to discover its true meaning. Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be is followed by the warning to be conscious of the potential of our eyes. Why? You will carefully watch and maintain what is important to you. Many will head off to church today and set the security alarm in their home, while their mind is filled to the max with the things of this world. Sin will be dominant in their heart and mind as in maintaining life in this world, they have forgotten to fortify their mind and soul against the enemy all week long. Worship will be uncomfortable. The Word will bring conviction but no deliverance. They will leave the same way that they came and when they arrive home battle weary it will be time to fight for love, joy and peace all over again. Where is your treasure today? Are you working to maintain it?

I Peter 5:6-9 (NLT)

So humble yourselves under the mighty power of God, and at the right time he will lift you up in honor. Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you. Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour. Stand firm against him, and be strong in your faith…

Humility is not fashionable in the world in which we live. Total surrender to the Power of God challenges human thinking and rationale. People like the idea of a God who offers unconditional love but fail to take Him up on His Opportunity to fully take advantage of amazing grace because it is accepted through humble obedience to God’s Word, Will and Way. It demands our total concentration forsaking the things of this world to accept all that He offers. We do not want to give God all of our worries and cares quite frankly because we do not believe in Him. If we truly accepted that God is alive today and His Spirit lives in us it would change how we think and engage in living. If we truly understood that we have the Keys to the Kingdom and that Christ is a firm foundation then we would move our life into His Presence fully. The enemy preys on weak faith and disbelief to create havoc in our life. He is constantly prowling looking for the weak ones with unsettled hearts and uncertain minds to “devour” them. We must stand firm. We must have made up minds and confident hearts to overcome the enemy in our everyday life and live the life promised in God’s Word. Anything less than the truth is a total lie. We must know who God is and what He requires. We must decide whether we believe it or not. We must choose to live what we believe to be successful.

Isaiah 28:16-17 (NLT)

Therefore, this is what the Sovereign Lord says: “Look! I am placing a foundation stone in Jerusalem, a firm and tested stone. It is a precious cornerstone that is safe to build on. Whoever believes need never be shaken. I will test you with the measuring line of justice and the plumb line of righteousness. Since your refuge is made of lies, a hailstorm will knock it down. Since it is made of deception, a flood will sweep it away.

 

We must know what we believe. We must have faith in Jesus Christ. Active faith that gives Him every single burden and is confident in what we believe. We cannot say that we believe and live according the world. It is insanity to do the same thing over and over expecting different results. Yet that is exactly what Christians do every single day. They keep praying and asking God to come and help but keep the door to their heart and mind closed by ignoring His Word and avoiding a single conversation. This would cause any relationship to falter but is completely detrimental in a long distance relationship. We cannot see Him but we can hear the Lord and know He is there through active engagement every single day of our life. His Spirit is our life partner. When I leave after locking the doors and barring the windows to my natural home, I ask the Holy Spirit to remain their securing the hearts and lives of those who are precious to me. I invite Him to clean house while I am gone. I want the Lord to live in my home for without Him it is nothing but a deteriorating building that will one day fall apart. Confident hope is based on what we believe – not what we see. To have it requires faith in a God who we cannot see to live in us and with us now. We must learn to close every door that the enemy may access. He does not care about our stuff what he wants is our soul.

2 Corinthians 10:3-5 (NLT)

We are human, but we don’t wage war as humans do. We use God’s mighty weapons, not worldly weapons, to knock down the strongholds of human reasoning and to destroy false arguments. We destroy every proud obstacle that keeps people from knowing God. We capture their rebellious thoughts and teach them to obey Christ.

 

Believers must regain control of all access points to their mind. It has a heavy influence over our spirit and soul. Paul admitted that it is a constant battling ongoing inside of us. I agree. I wake up sometimes in the middle of the night thinking about work or some other natural thing sensing that I am beginning to stress and worry. I have learned to immediately begin to pray in its place taking strict authority over my mind, will and emotions. It is a struggle. Daily engagement that requires prayer, the Word of God, obedience and changing old habits to make new changes. We are human. The mind will work against us because it is driven by our sinful nature that must die for us to live in Christ. It is fighting its own demise so it works overtime to maintain control. People think that they can watch whatever they want or do whatever they feel like and God’s Grace will be sufficient… and it will BUT for those who want to walk in victory and those who desire the Promises of God to become a reality in life – it is time to secure the parameters of our mind, will and emotions. We must cast down every single thought contrary to God’s Word, Will and Way. We must live what we believe in order to walk out of darkness and live in the Light of His Love. We must take every single rebellious thought and make it obey Jesus Christ. You don’t have to do any of this unless of course you desire to live in the total freedom of a rich and satisfying life that Jesus offers.

 

John 10:10 (NLT)

The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.

 

I no longer watch horror movies or psychological thrillers. They are just not for me. I was not given the spirit of fear and will no longer invite it in my home or mind for that matter. I am just not interested but to each their own. That being said – I remember in many of them when someone is being pursued by an attacker or enemy of some sort that just as they find shelter and slam the door shut suddenly without warning a foot stops it from closing all the way. (Insert deep intake of breath followed by scream for effect.) This is EXACTLY how the enemy works in the mind of God’s People. If he can get the tiniest foothold in our life even with a fleeting thought, he will soon take over. I can lock every door in my home but if I leave a window open an intruder can get in. We have to close the door of our mind and protect it with the same due diligence that makes us lock our doors and windows. We must set an alarm that when a rebellious thought or bad attitude challenge the Mind of Christ working in us that we immediately submit it to the Power of God living in us. Every single time without a commitment to subject our mind, soul and body to Jesus Christ.

Revelation 3:20-21 (NLT)

 “Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends. Those who are victorious will sit with me on my throne, just as I was victorious and sat with my Father on his throne.”

 

Jesus wants to maintain a relationship with each and every person ever created. Some will invite Him in and others will continually put Him off hoping that one day the Lord will force His Way into first place. Jesus is not like that – He just keeps knocking. But if the enemy is in control of our heart and mind, Jesus cannot enter. We must make room for Him in our heart and mind. Faith is the very thing that is His Platform. Our faint puts the Lord above every problem, fear and doubt we have. It keeps our eyes on Jesus. Without such a platform, He has not place to reside. We must make that place ready and available by removing every offensive thing we can think of to make more room for His Presence. He is asking for an invitation to come in and stay awhile. The Lord longs to linger in our life. He is not a thief and will not sneak in. As we surrender our heart and mind to Him, He will beautifully and completely makeover our life into something more wonderful than we could even think to ask for. It begins with me. I must open the door to my heart by removing those things that are contrary to His Kingdom. I want God’s Power in my life. I will secure my heart and mind to have it.

Luke 11:9-10 (NLT)

 And so I tell you, keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened.

Leave a Reply

