Acid Rain

Acid Rain

Psalm 19:12-14 (MSG)

Clean the slate, God, so we can start the day fresh! Keep me from stupid sins, from thinking I can take over your work; then I can start this day sun-washed, scrubbed clean of the grime of sin. These are the words in my mouth; these are what I chew on and pray. Accept them when I place them on the morning altar, O God, my altar-Rock, God, Priest-of-My-Altar.

You probably remember the essence of this verse to read, “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to you, O Lord…” There is power in our words. God does not take an idle word for granted. He hears us when we speak in great anticipation of an expression of faith, love or trust that will release more of the abundance that He has tucked away in Heaven for those who believe. I have lived long enough to eat from the harvest of my conversations and declarations in my life. Some I have enjoyed and others had to choke back down. I found a suggestion yesterday that was a great reminder. It said, “Go 24 hours without complaining. Not even once…then watch how your life starts changing.” What a challenge this is for us? In a world filled with dissatisfaction and discontentment to not voice our concerns for a single minute not one time in the course of the day…I can only imagine the results.

During the first round of cancer treatment, our son was receiving maximum dose radiation to his head and neck. Though not painful during treatment, it burned long after it was over as it continued to radiate the tumor and everything in its vicinity. Toward the end of treatment, his extremely fair skin began to blister and breakdown boiling from the inside out. His skin was so hot that cream would melt before I even put it on him just being in close proximity. Splitting open, it was the most horrific thing I have ever seen yet each day I had to take him back twice a day for treatment. During the last week as I tried to soothe the burning, festering, and open wounds all around his ears and neck, I told him that it would be okay if he told God that this was not okay and that he didn’t like what was happening to him. See up to this point, he had not uttered a single complaint. While I on the other hand continually complained about his situation right down to the uncomfortable bed I had been given to care for him free of charge. I am all too human. While I was professing God’s Faithfulness and my belief that a miracle was coming, I was cursing every step along the way. You know what that kid told me in the midst of agony and pain that few will experience. He said, “Mom, what good would it do to complain about it?” I have never felt so convicted in my life and couldn’t wait to have a talk with Jesus about my bad behavior. Trusting the Lord does not allow for complaining because we know something good is coming. Grumbling only indicates a lack of faith that produces unproductive conversation.

Blessing and cursing is a daily choice. I make the choice with my attitude and actions but most importantly with my words. Words tell the secrets of our heart. Why do you think it reads may the words of my mouth first? Our idle words without thought or intent spill forth the contents hidden in the deepest recesses of our heart. They indicate belief or disbelief. Faith or fear. When we begin to set a new precedence in our life with our daily conversation it will change the productivity in our life.

James 3:7-12 (MSG)

This is scary: You can tame a tiger, but you can’t tame a tongue—it’s never been done. The tongue runs wild, a wanton killer. With our tongues we bless God our Father; with the same tongues we curse the very men and women he made in his image. Curses and blessings out of the same mouth! My friends, this can’t go on. A spring doesn’t gush fresh water one day and brackish the next, does it? Apple trees don’t bear strawberries, do they? Raspberry bushes don’t bear apples, do they? You’re not going to dip into a polluted mud hole and get a cup of clear, cool water, are you

We say that we trust the Lord. We want to believe. We are in a battle that incorporates our body, mind and spirit. We are in control of our body and mind. As we strive to submit our body and mind to the Holy Spirit living inside of us our life has the potential and probability to change. However, either one left to its own devices will rob us of the blessings that God has in store for us as His Children. Such things are released by faith and trusting His Way as the best way for our life even the mountains, valleys, and storms with the waiting that comes with it. Complaining our way through the wildernesses does not produce the same effect as praising our way through trust me I know I have tried both ways. The Promise Land was right there but they kept circling and circling complaining all the way. What if your promise is that close and you are wandering in our words? What if our own confessions over our life are keeping us confined? What a shame that would be to be so close to God’s Glory, Goodness and Favor for our life but kept just out of reach because we voice our discomfort in the process

Luke 6:44-45 (NLT)

A tree is identified by its fruit. Figs are never gathered from thorn bushes, and grapes are not picked from bramble bushes. A good person produces good things from the treasury of a good heart, and an evil person produces evil things from the treasury of an evil heart. What you say flows from what is in your heart.

The contents of our heart comes pouring out of our mouth. When we speak, there is power in our voice that releases commands in Heaven and earth. How do I know? If you are a Christian or believer who has accepted Jesus Christ as the Son of God and call Him Savior and Lord, then you have the power to bind and loose in Heaven and earth. (Matthew 16:17-19) What are you commanding in your life today? What are you permitting? What are you forbidding? Excuse me while I cower in conviction because while on most days I live on praise and adoration of my God, there are many that I actually gripe and grumble my way through. I call out to God and then hold the door shut with words that do not indicate trust and faith but doubt and fear. Lord, help me watch my word. Let me be the gatekeeper over my mouth that I need to be.

Isaiah 55:10-11 (MSG)

Just as rain and snow descend from the skies and don’t go back until they’ve watered the earth, doing their work of making things grow and blossom, producing seed for farmers and food for the hungry, so will the words that come out of my mouth not come back empty-handed. They’ll do the work I sent them to do, they’ll complete the assignment I gave them.

Do you know where rain comes from? God draws water from the earth and pours it back out. (Job 36:26-28) It is simple science designed by God based on sowing and reaping. What is God drawing from your life? When water is pulled from the earth, the rain produces its contents? Rain produced of chemical-infused, polluted water will give forth something called “acid rain”. Rain was designed by God to produce a harvest in our life by watering the seed entrusted to the ground. We plow the ground of our life laboriously with obedience. We plant seeds of faith in good soil. But then we curse our seed with negativity, doubt, fear and anxiousness in the form of words that rain on our harvest and kill it in the field. If you are discontent or dissatisfied with your harvest, yet you are being faithful to God and living a “good” life and planting seeds of righteousness along the way, what are you saying while you wait for the harvest? How sad to think of all the seeds we have sown that died in the ground because of idle words, complaining, grumbling and mistaken statements.

Are you tired of sowing and never reaping? Watch your words. Are you discontent with your life in the Lord? Change your conversation. To experience new results requires making a change otherwise it will just remain the same day in and day out. What if we began speaking God’s Word over our life when tempted to complain or voice our discontentment? It says that God’s Word never returns to Him unaccomplished. We can sow and water our life but it is God who gives us increase by faith and trust in Him. This opens the windows of Heaven to bless our cultivation in life. People who change their words to agree with what the Lord says about their life will prosper.

Philippians 2:13-15 (NLT)

For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him. Do everything without complaining and arguing, so that no one can criticize you. Live clean, innocent lives as children of God, shining like bright lights in a world full of crooked and perverse people.

Why would the world want a God that does not keep His Promises? Why live in obedience to God if there is nothing to gain? I want the love, joy, peace and true satisfaction that comes from living a life in the Presence of God and in constant fellowship with His Son Jesus Christ. Negativity, complaining, grumbling and venting is cursing our life. Given the Power of the Holy Spirit in us, we have the power to dictate our outcomes based on our confession alone. What are you saying about your life today? What is coming out of your mouth? I am a talker. I am taking on a huge task in the evaluation of my speech today, but I cannot help but want everything that God has for me so I need to stop killing my crops. Are my words like acid burning up my fields? Or are they like fresh spring rain drawn from untouched mountain snow? It is up to me. I am free to produce whatever kind of life I desire. I can follow the Lord in mind, soul, body, and, yes, even mouth. Or I can allow the world to influence my communication and destroy my harvest. God is working in us. This power cannot be taken for granted or it is like giving a toddler a loaded gun praying for a good outcome. He is giving us the desire to please Him and His Power to do so. We must do EVERYTHING without complaining to have God’s Very Best. We must do EVERYTHING without arguing to live in complete agreement bonded by love with the Lord and every other human being on the earth. Ouch! This is how we become shining examples of the Lord of God and a hope that never leads to disappointment. Take the challenge with me to day to totally eliminate complaining and grumbling from our lives today. I am convinced that within a day our life will dramatically change as God pours out more of His Love on us like good rain!

Psalm 34:12-14 (NLT)

Does anyone want to live a life that is long and prosperous? Then keep your tongue from speaking evil and your lips from telling lies! Turn away from evil and do good. Search for peace, and work to maintain it.

Leave a Reply

