Half Empty or Half Full

Half Empty or Half Full

Hebrews 11:1-3 (NLT)

Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see. Through their faith, the people in days of old earned a good reputation. By faith we understand that the entire universe was formed at God’s command, that what we now see did not come from anything that can be seen.

I discovered a list of quotes that I found quite enlightening. The question – “Is the glass half empty or half full?” Here are some of them:

  • The optimist says the glass is half full.
  • The pessimist says the glass is half empty.
  • The project manager says the glass is twice as big as it needs to be.
  • The realist says the glass contains half the required amount of liquid for it to overflow.
  • And the cynic… wonders who drank the other half.
  • The worrier frets that the remaining half will evaporate by next morning.
  • The fanatic thinks the glass is completely full, even though it isn’t.
  • The entrepreneur sees the glass as undervalued by half its potential.
  • The Buddhist says don’t worry, remember the glass is already broken.
  • And of course my favorite: The radical thankful child of Jesus says, “THE CUP RUNNETH OVER.”

As you can see there are many different perspectives on the list and these are just a few it was endless with the perceptions of so many who have viewed the glass for themselves. I wonder today how you see the glass of your life. I have contemplated this recently and found that over the last few years somehow mine had drastically changed. I have always been an optimist. The glass was always half full in my reasoning of life. There was always possibility. Everything could have a happy ending. But with the twists and turns of life, although my faith was still intact, my heart had somehow become too realistic. Rather than focusing my whole life on the God who makes all things possible even the impossible, I had concentrated it solely on the healing of our son which, of course, was successfully. But the rest of my life had been placed precariously on hold, now I no longer had the kind of faith that saw the potential of God in all of my life. I was living on reserves and that needed to change. It is day by day.

God wants His Goodness to be evident in every area of my life and reflect His Glory. God has already provided everything I need to survive and thrive in this lifetime on my way to meet Him in Eternity. He did not pack my life like a lunch to get us through the day but continually supplies those who love Him enough to trust Him with a bountiful feast right in the enemy’s face. God is faithful and that faithfulness is our assurance that everything He promised in His Word has the potential to be a reality in my life. God wants to bless us. It has been His Plan all along even when we lost our way or deliberately walked away – we were ordained to be blessed therefore it is our inheritance in God through Christ Jesus. He decided it before we were born and the Lord intends to keep His Promise. So what is the problem? Why are we lacking? We are not. We have all these things. What we do not have is faith? We do not see them because we look at the natural rather than relying on confident hope that God will do exactly as He promised so we accept counterfeits and substitutions rather than allowing God to do His Best as He promised. The glass is half empty but we are about to make it half full by changing our perspective on life. Looking at things through our faith, attaching confident hope to each one. Faith draws us closer to God. Hope allows us to see what He offers and confidence tells it is true. Fear and doubt hide God’s Provision, Goodness, Faithfulness and Blessing from us so we think that we lack what we need survive when in reality we are about to thrive.

Philippians 4:19 (NLT)
And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.

 

God has provided everything we need today. It is within our reach. Most of the time, our focus is not on what we have but what we think we lack. Our wants have a funny way of becoming our needs when focused upon. God promised to give us the desire of our heart. Those who delight in Him will have whatever their heart desires. (Psalm 37:4) He promises those who seek the Kingdom of God above all else and live like it will be given everything they need. (Matthew 6:33) We want God’s Provision but do we really want God. This is the first step to having all that His Kingdom has to offer. If you don’t want God but just His Stuff that makes you a thief. God promises to supply all of our needs. God promises to provide seed to the farmer and then bread to eat. He provides for us and increases our resources as we give it away. In other words, when fear of lack limits our giving it limits our resources, too. God loves a cheerful giver. Generosity is fearless giving. When we withhold anything in our life, it because limited. Think about that. We remain half full in our fear.

Psalm 27:13-14 (NLT)

Yet I am confident I will see the Lord’s goodness while I am here in the land of the living. Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord.

Fear is a lack of confidence. Do you believe that God is ALWAYS good? I do. I don’t know that I have always felt that way. But even in believing that God is good, we must accept that He is always good to us. He does not ever set us up for failure. He does not teach us a life lesson but prepares us from the inside out. The Holy Spirit tempers our life teaching us the right way to live. This cultivates the soil of our soul so that all the fruit of the Spirit can be produced there. (Galatians 5:22-23) When the Lord passes before Moses to show Him His Glory and Goodness – He made a key statement eluding to future salvation in Jesus Christ. The Lord said, “I will make all my goodness pass before you, and I will call out my name, Yahweh, before you. For I will show mercy to anyone I choose, and I will show compassion to anyone I choose.”(Exodus 33:19) The Lord said I will show mercy and compassion to anyone I choose. This was not possible under the Law but came through Jesus Christ. God intended to get His Goodness to mankind. Jesus grants us access to the Kingdom of God and every single promise that He has given us. We connect with Jesus by faith. Faith builds confidence in us that what we hope for is a reality enough to wait on it peacefully and patiently. His Goodness has nothing to do with us. He made the choice. He pursues us with unfailing love that insures His Goodness. (Psalm 23:5-6) Nothing we have done in the past and submitted to the Cross will hinder us because God makes all things work together for our good. (Romans 8:28) To believe this changes our perspective on life from failure to fulfillment when we believe that God is good!

Isaiah 54:9-10 (NLT)

“Just as I swore in the time of Noah that I would never again let a flood cover the earth, so now I swear that I will never again be angry and punish you. For the mountains may move and the hills disappear, but even then my faithful love for you will remain. My covenant of blessing will never be broken,” says the Lord, who has mercy on you.

 

“My covenant of blessing will never be broken!” The Lord is whispering this to you today. Yeah you! The one who like me gets wrecked at the thought of such unfailing love, grace, mercy and goodness in the midst of the disaster I once made of my life. The one who cannot accept that His Love overcame all sin and shame. The one who cannot believe that God is that good. His Faithful Love remains intact. God is not a man. He cannot lie or change His Mind. (Numbers 23:19) Until we believe that wholeheartedly and without reservations, some blessings in our life will remain on hold. Not because He is withholding them from us but are limiting our self. What must happen? We must come to the Lord. He waits for us to come to Him so that He can show us His Love and Compassion. Remember what He told Moses, I will show my love and compassion to whom I choose. Well, He sent Jesus Christ to grant us access so He is saying I choose you now come on! (Isaiah 30:18) To ask Jesus to be our Savior is one thing, but when we make Him the Lord of our life – we choose to step into His Presence and live there. By doing so a radical change begins to happen as His Favor becomes active in our life. Those who live fearlessly and confidently in the Presence of God will discover the blessings that they heard about only to believe at one time that they were too good to be true. When He becomes our treasure, the Lord releases His Glorious Riches and Resources in our life. We must look at things through eyes of faith and confident hope to see them and attain them. This is the Promise of those who love the Lord and serve Him – “The rain and snow come down from the heavens and stay on the ground to water the earth. They cause the grain to grow, producing seed for the farmer and bread for the hungry. It is the same with my word. I send it out, and it always produces fruit. It will accomplish all I want it to, and it will prosper everywhere I send it. You will live in joy and peace. The mountains and hills will burst into song, and the trees of the field will clap their hands! (Isaiah 55:10-12) Every Promise of God for our life has been released into the atmosphere and is circulating overhead waiting for those who by faith lift their hands in praise in pain, dare to be thankful under pressure and choose to believe that God’s Goodness and Love is for them. They pour out their life from a glass that seems half full to be supplied with overflowing resources from Heaven when God opens the sky to pour out His Glory on them.

Psalm 139:5-6 (NLT)

You go before me and follow me. You place your hand of blessing on my head. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too great for me to understand!

 

Nothing can ever separate us from the Love of God. When He created us it was with love and careful intentions. He recorded every moment of our life before we were born. (Psalm 139:16) He has a good plan with a future and hope. (Jeremiah 29:11) All you must do to have it is seek Him wholeheartedly. (Jeremiah 29:13) Looking at Him and not the world around you. Advice and opinions are free. They come invited or uninvited, solicited or not. What does the Lord say about your life? That is what you need to tap into and discover. What does He have planned? One thing that I know from this passage today is that He goes before me and follows me. He has placed His Hand of Blessing on my head. This tells me that my glass is always half full. There is always potential for God to release a blessing in my life. The rest is up to me. Will I believe? Will I trust? Will I obey? If I do, my life becomes limitless. I will abound in all things by faith and confidence in My God alone. My current situation does not dictate the future of my blessing. (Psalm 84:6) I am just passing through on my way to glory. Even in my wandering on my way back, He guards all that is mine. (Psalm 16:5) There will be nothing lost, wasted or stolen from my life even if I fail. The Lord is protecting my inheritance as I find my way to Him. The blessing of the Lord comes with no sorrow with it. (Proverbs 10:22) This makes it all worth waiting for.

Matthew6:21-23 (NLT)

Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be. Your eye is a lamp that provides light for your body. When your eye is good, your whole body is filled with light. But when your eye is bad, your whole body is filled with darkness. And if the light you think you have is actually darkness, how deep that darkness is!

 

Thank you Lord for opening my eyes back to the Light of Your Love today. Thank you for changing my perspective again. I can feel your Hands on my face gently but persistently turning my focus back to You. I apologize Lord for looking the other way. My glass has never been half empty but always have full. In fact, my cup is running over today when I think of all you have done and look at our life through eyes of faith rather than fear. I am optimistic again. But more than that I am confident! Confident in Your Love, Your Faithfulness, Your Goodness and Grace that is leading me into Your Glory. My glass is full today just because of your love. Keep my eyes on You Lord,

What is your treasure today? What is the desire of your heart? Your eyes are the lamp that leads you to where you are going. Turn your eyes upon Jesus, look full in His Wonderful Face, and the things of earth will grow strangely dim, in the light of His Glory and Grace.  What a great old hymn and wonderful reminder that will change our perspective back to where it should have been all along! Is your glass half empty or half full today? Only you can decide.

I Corinthians 13:7 (NLT)

Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

Leave a Reply

