Jingle Jangle

Jingle Jangle

Matthew 21:21-22 (NLT)

Then Jesus told them, “I tell you the truth, if you have faith and don’t doubt, you can do things like this and much more. You can even say to this mountain, ‘May you be lifted up and thrown into the sea,’ and it will happen. You can pray for anything, and if you have faith, you will receive it.”

 

Do you believe that if you pray for anything that you will receive it? Seriously think about it. Do you really think if you ask the Lord to do something, anything that He will oblige you and release the command in Heaven to complete your request? As a believer, this should be the premise of our life. Complete and 100% total dependency on God the Father for everything we need, want and desire to fulfill our life and satisfy our entire being. The Holy Spirit has been reinforcing in my spirit over the last few days that I have the power of change locked inside of me. Jesus handed me the Keys to the Kingdom so that I can unlock every door and barrier in my life by faith and see the goodness and glory of His Presence completely overwhelm my life. Why can’t I seem to unlock it in certain areas of my life?

Doubt is a faith killer. Worry is a faith destroyer, too. Anxiety is product of both that makes us think in the midnight hour or in the midst of a storm that the Lord is not with us, not aware of our plight, or simply does not care. None of this is true, but let me assure you that if we walk around jingling the keys to complete freedom in our pockets or better yet begin shaking and jangling them in the enemy’s face like we may just use them, be prepared for the war that lies ahead. Those Keys of to the Kingdom represent the Power of God that stripped the enemy of all of his power in your life. It robbed him of his victory. It ended the fight. The only hope we have of overcoming is the Authority and Power of Christ represented in our Keys to the Kingdom. We need faith to release the same power that brought Jesus safely back from death and the grave to win the war for our faith. The enemy will fight you for your keys. He will challenge the validity of them. He will make you think that they unlock nothing but heartache and disappointment for those who are foolish enough to use them. He mocks us in our waiting. He berates us as we press deeper into His Presence in our pain. He is a relentless adversary who will follow us to the ends of the earth to steal, kill and destroy us. Nothing personal, of course, he just wants those keys back. Will you give them back? Are you ready to relinquish the power in your life to live in the prison called discontent, dissatisfaction, disease and destruction? I didn’t think so. It’s time to stop waving around our authority and walk in it.

Matthew 14:27-32 (NLT)

But Jesus spoke to them at once. “Don’t be afraid,” he said. “Take courage. I am here!” Then Peter called to him, “Lord, if it’s really you, tell me to come to you, walking on the water.” “Yes, come,” Jesus said. So Peter went over the side of the boat and walked on the water toward Jesus. But when he saw the strong wind and the waves, he was terrified and began to sink. “Save me, Lord!” he shouted. Jesus immediately reached out and grabbed him. “You have so little faith,” Jesus said. “Why did you doubt me?” When they climbed back into the boat, the wind stopped.

The Power of God in our life operates in the parameters of our personal faith in Jesus Christ. It is all about Jesus and never about us. We hear of the rise and fall of men and women of God all the time. Shaking our heads in disbelief, when we should be planting our palm against our head going “I should have known better!” Why do we expect men and women of God to be perfect all of the time? Why would Jesus use them to teach, preach, heal and deliver people in His Name if they weren’t living the life? I agree that those who bear the mantle of apostle, pastor, preacher, deacon, usher and greeter and so on and so on should live a godly life. Most of them do, but sometimes they fall just like everyone else. They are people and never perfect. But when we exalt them to be “Jesus” in our life – they are destine to fail. My faith should be in Christ alone. It cannot be in the wind and waves around me. It cannot be about the church I go to or lived in the example of other believers. If I want to see the Power of God in my own personal life – I must press in deeper. I must strive to know Him more and more.

Peter had already proven that He believe Jesus was the Son of God. When the storm came, he saw Jesus walking on the water and wanted to be with Him. He wanted to walk in the footsteps of Jesus but after getting a few feet from the boat realized that the storm was greater than he thought, the waves were higher and the wind stronger. Now He no longer was paying attention to Jesus but to the world around him. What happened? Peter began to sink! Welcome to the plight of the everyday Christian who wants to follow Jesus but keeps getting hammered by life. Waking up each morning with a heart longing for God’s Presence and fully intent on living in the Power of Christ, their day smacks them down before they even have a chance to get out their Bible or get to their knees. This is a great reminder that greater is He who is in us than he that is in the world. You don’t have to read your Bible every day (oh but it helps). You don’t have to pray on your knees in your prayer closet religiously to be a “good” Christian and faithful believer. Nothing we do releases the Power of God in our life except faith in Jesus Christ. When Peter starting going under what did he do? He cried out to Jesus! When we begin each day from our bed in total darkness crying out to Jesus before we take a single step into the next day – the Lord comes rushing in. This is faith. To have nothing – to do nothing and fully accept Jesus Christ as everything we need to make it through each day.

Hebrews 11:6 (NLT)
And it is impossible to please God without faith. Anyone who wants to come to him must believe that God exists and that he rewards those who sincerely seek him
.

The only way to please God is with faith. Genuine, real, tested and true faith that believes God, His Word, His Spirit and most importantly His Son without ever letting go or letting up. Faith is the tenacity to hold on to God’s Promise when it seems impossible knowing that in the impossible is the realm of hope we wanted all along. You want to get me all riled up? Tell me that something is impossible, never or forever! I dare you! I want you to! I beg of you because in that moment God steps in and says, “Not so fast!” The impossible is when God’s Power is most evident and effective because something dared to challenge His Authority. Forever is His Domain. Never is only for those who do not know Jesus. Anyone who truly believes that God exists and His Love is real knows that when all else seems to fail – He never does!

When the doctors told us during our son’s third relapse of cancer in two short years that we had now entered the “Realm of Hope” because chemotherapy was only a temporary fix. I told the doctor much to her surprise, “Thank God we made it!” I love the Realm of Hope because the impossible becomes possible in this place. People may think I am crazy! When the doctor told me that my daughter would be on a long list of asthma medication forever (even writing it on his prescription pad and underlining it) was the first time I witnessed Heaven and hell collide when the enemy overstepped his boundaries, the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords stepped in and said, “No more.” Our daughter was healed instantly and completely in that moment. Don’t believe me. I will give you her pediatrician’s number because he called it a miracle, too. But now I am challenged as our son and daughter are completely healed that I have all these other keys I am not using. My faith is not just for those big things that come along in life. Everyone carries keys every day. We have them in the natural and spiritual. I use my keys to start my car, open my house, and do my job. They work for me. I need to be equally as conscious of these Keys to the Kingdom I have been given and use them every day, too.

Matthew 17:15-20 (NLT)

 “Lord, have mercy on my son. He has seizures and suffers terribly. He often falls into the fire or into the water. So I brought him to your disciples, but they couldn’t heal him.” Jesus said, “You faithless and corrupt people! How long must I be with you? How long must I put up with you? Bring the boy here to me.” Then Jesus rebuked the demon in the boy, and it left him. From that moment the boy was well. Afterward the disciples asked Jesus privately, “Why couldn’t we cast out that demon?” “You don’t have enough faith,” Jesus told them. “I tell you the truth, if you had faith even as small as a mustard seed, you could say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it would move. Nothing would be impossible.”

We know Jesus Christ and call Him our Savior and have made Him our Lord, so why are we still not seeing the miracles, signs and wonders in our life associated with such a commitment. We call Him Savior and follow the rules that make Him our Lord, but if we do not believe our life remains powerless. The enemy is not a fool. He listens to every word that we speak and watches everything we do. He is cunning and smart. He is no match for those who have faith believing fully in the Power of God for their life. Have your words told on you? Have your actions not aligned with what you say you believe? Those who truly believe that God’s Love is expressly for them making the Jesus the center of their life involving Him in every decision that is made – going where He says go – waiting when He says wait. Let me say that part again – waiting when He says wait and letting go when He says move on will see change coming. When we grab hold of those Keys of the Kingdom by faith and confidently open the door to the next level bringing us closer to God and deeper in His Presence, you will know it? How? Because in that moment you take a step of faith, inevitably all hell will break loose in your life. When you overcome the stronghold that kept you locked in fear and doubt releasing the Light of His Love, the enemy will come after you to steal your joy and rob you of peace. Faith will hold tight to confident hope in that moment.

When Jesus quantifies faith it is compared to a mustard seed which implies two things – how difficult it is to procure and how powerful it is in the smallest doses. If we focus on Jesus and continually pouring all our hopes and dreams into Him by faith, things will begin to change. We must dig deep in the Word of God to discover all of the benefits hidden there. We must consult with His Spirit inside of us to help us understand and act on what we now know. We must be committee to seeking God with our whole heart and entire life to have all of His Power.

Matthew 8:5-10 (NLT)

When Jesus returned to Capernaum, a Roman officer came and pleaded with him, “Lord, my young servant lies in bed, paralyzed and in terrible pain.” Jesus said, “I will come and heal him.” But the officer said, “Lord, I am not worthy to have you come into my home. Just say the word from where you are, and my servant will be healed.  I know this because I am under the authority of my superior officers, and I have authority over my soldiers. I only need to say, ‘Go,’ and they go, or ‘Come,’ and they come. And if I say to my slaves, ‘Do this,’ they do it.” When Jesus heard this, he was amazed. Turning to those who were following him, he said, “I tell you the truth, I haven’t seen faith like this in all Israel!

One of my most favorite stories in the entire Bible is this one. This man was not a disciple of Jesus but a true believer nevertheless. He understood authority due to his position and was able to apply it to Jesus Christ. Our son is a mathematical genius and complete scientific thinker. He does not know or understand gray areas of life or the middle of the road. When he accepted Jesus Christ, it was with that complete logic that he has. He does not worry or stress like most people because his brain is not wired in the uncertainties of life. He operates in cold hard facts. Because He is able to believe with complete confidence like that and his brain logically accepted Jesus as Savior and Lord – he simply believes. This is the same kid who has fought cancer all these years and won. From day one to the end, he never believed that he would die but completely believed that God would heal and deliver him from cancer completely. The enemy fought this for years. He had five bouts of cancer. The doctors suggested a bone marrow transplant and he was denied so many times I cannot count. Through it all, our son never once has complained, worried, griped, or shown any emotion like that in this journey but just figured God was working it all out.

I think this is reminiscent of the Roman soldier. He didn’t need to be convinced or swayed, wooed or wowed. He believed God at His Word. Is it that simple? Yes friends, I believe that it is. I have seen it with my own eyes. I have felt it in my own heart. With regards to my child, what choice did I have? I am not a doctor. I did not have the cure to cancer. I did not have the money to help him when insurance kept turning him away. But God had a plan – our son would live and not die. Our faith kept us holding that promise in confident hope when there was nothing left to hang on to. Imagine the potential if we approached EVERYTHING in life the same way. Revival would come. People would want to know our God again and serve His Son. It probably wouldn’t change the world but it would touch hearts and change lives. It’s time we hoisted Jesus to His Rightful Place again. Put it right smack in the center of it all and let Him do what He promised to do rather than looking for quick fixes and easy ways out. We need to stop jingling and jangling the Keys of the Kingdom in the enemy’s face and use them effectively to unlock Heaven so it will pour out unto the earth. You have the right – you are a Child of the Living God. In you lies more potential then you could ever dream up, faith will change everything but sometimes we have to start with one thing to make it grow. What is your one thing today? That thing that you want God’s Perfect Plan, open the door to His Presence, step in by faith, hand it over to Jesus and wait confidently until it comes!

Hebrews 11:1 (NLT) Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen

Leave a Reply

