Still Unfailing

Still Unfailing

Psalm 23:6 (NLT)

Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever.

 

My heart is overflowing with the constancy of God today. The word “constant” means not changing or varying; continuing without pause or letup; regularly recurrent; continual; faithful; unswerving in love or devotion; steadfast; and firm in mind or purpose. This is my God concerning me I am convinced. I did not discover this in a church service or under the instruction of a mighty man or woman of God. This has been forged in my heart by experience. There is power in conviction that the God of the Universe in all His Omnipotence has such intent and purpose in His Love for His Children. To be absolutely sure that He is pursuing us with goodness and unfailing love can change the outcome of every single day of the rest of our natural life. Such faith and confident hope will open the door to Eternity allowing its blessings to reach us even now.

Forgive me now. This may not be a long or interesting post but rather sharp and to the point. I am standing right here and right now on the rock of my existence who is “constant”. It is a high plain which I can see in all directions that no matter what comes in this life He is right there with me. Tomorrow is the one year anniversary of our son’s bone marrow transplant. After five cancer treatments, it was a desperate attempt using an unconventional regimen to free him of this awful disease. These were my thoughts the night before the transplant…

Laying here tonight I am not sure how to feel. The last three years seem like the summation of my life. I can’t remember life before that day but I am so ready for it be another chapter closed. We fought so long and so hard for this moment with no guarantees. The only constant that we have is that God is Good and His Word True. He told me that our son would live and not die! He has proven faithful healing him on five occasions. I have no fear but pure hope born of faith pressed not by the moment but each step leading us this far. I guess all that I know and the reason I still have hope as I close my eyes to sleep is that He REALLY is that good to me! #TEAMUNCONQUERED

In a season that seemed would never end, I find that the year has passed quickly. God has healed our son. He has had four scans so far showing the goodness and faithfulness of God’s Unfailing Love with no evidence of recurrent or residual disease. There will be another on Friday. These mark the end of the chapter that I sought so heavily. It did not come in a moment but over four long years. God’s Word is true. Now as I move on into whatever is next on God’s Bucket List for my life, I feel more equipped than ever before. Not by my own strength but in the fact that I know that the Lord is constantly pursuing me with His Goodness and Unfailing Love. He is my Constant.

Numbers 23:18-20 (NLT)

This was the message Balaam delivered: “Rise up, Balak, and listen! Hear me, son of Zippor. God is not a man, so he does not lie. He is not human, so he does not change his mind. Has he ever spoken and failed to act? Has he ever promised and not carried it through? Listen, I received a command to bless; God has blessed, and I cannot reverse it!”

God does not change His Mind. He doesn’t have to. He is Sovereign and Omnipotent which means He is the Highest Ranking Power in the Universe. So there is no one else that the Lord is subject to so what He says goes. When God’s Word says something or God speaks directly to us the variance is not in God but us. Will we hold on to this Truth or try something else? God does not change or vary but means exactly what He says to us. We must believe every single word God breathes to us, in us and through us. His Promises are true because God is constant and does not ever change. Such an act would render Him a liar.

Exodus 34:5-7 (NLT)

Then the Lord came down in a cloud and stood there with him; and he called out his own name, Yahweh. The Lord passed in front of Moses, calling out, “Yahweh! The Lord! The God of compassion and mercy! I am slow to anger and filled with unfailing love and faithfulness. I lavish unfailing love to a thousand generations. I forgive iniquity, rebellion, and sin.

 

The Lord is not only full of unfailing love but intent on lavishing it on you and I. We give up too easily in a world where love has grown cold unable to comprehend such faithfulness. Walking away forfeits those things which otherwise belong to us by His Power and Pervasiveness in our life. All we have to do is hang on and God will make His Word come to pass in our life. His Word can never return to Him void so it circulates in the atmosphere waiting for faith to catch hold of it so that which is intended will come to pass. We have to believe the fact that the consistency of the Lord includes love that continues without pause or letup no matter what the circumstances. It is not contingent on us but rests solely in the character of God and His Love for us. We are pursued by a God who is full of compassion and mercy to meet us in our weakness and give us His Strength. He is desperate for us to have it in our life.

Hebrews 13:8 (NLT) Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.

 

The only One who you can count on in this life is Jesus Christ. Your spouse will let you down. Your children will leave you behind one day. Your parents may not be perfect. Your friends, acquaintances and coworkers all have imperfection hidden within. But Jesus… He is the same yesterday, today and forever. To place Him in the center of our life is like the sun aligning the planets. Everything in our life must come to order when submitted to the power and authority of Jesus Christ. He eliminates our need for perfection in others because we are no longer dependent on other people because we have a Dependable God. He is recurrent and continual in His Love and Care for us. He is always paying attention to the details making them work out for our good. (Romans 8:28) The Lord perfects all that concerns us. (Psalm 138:8)

John 15:12-13 (NLT)

This is my commandment: Love each other in the same way I have loved you. There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.

 

There is no greater love. Jesus Christ laid down His Life for me. He has proven to be the One who has “unswerving love and devotion” for me. I cannot boast the same for Him. I give Him my life and take it back. Give it over and slide a few details to the side for my flesh to control. My goal in life is to give it all to Jesus. He has proven over and over that He is up to the task. The Lord is motivated in all things by love. Not just any kind of love but unfailing and unconditional love that it will take a lifetime to understand and begin to fully comprehend. I know He loves me. Most days, I am convinced that I am His Favorite. It just gets better and better.

Psalm 34:1-8 (NLT)

I will praise the Lord at all times. I will constantly speak his praises. I will boast only in the Lord; let all who are helpless take heart. Come, let us tell of the Lord’s greatness; let us exalt his name together. I prayed to the Lord, and he answered me. He freed me from all my fears. Those who look to him for help will be radiant with joy; no shadow of shame will darken their faces. In my desperation I prayed, and the Lord listened; he saved me from all my troubles. For the angel of the Lord is a guard; He surrounds and defends all who fear him. Taste and see that the Lord is good. Oh, the joys of those who take refuge in him!

There were days through our struggle that all I had was a word from God and just enough energy to put one foot in front of the other. Thankfully our son’s healing was not dependent on my ability but on God’s Faithfulness. He carried us through the years, He held my son through every treatment and covered him in every assault on his body. When the transplant came and the doctors drained the life from his body, God was there keeping him safe surrounding our kid with angels we were unaware of. If I had no other reason to praise His Name continually for the rest of my life, this whole ordeal would be enough. Our son had a 2% chance of survival instead he is thriving today. Doctors were cautious with their words but my God deliberate in His Statement – He told me from the beginning that our son would live and not die. He did not mix words. But first before that – the Lord asked me, “Do you trust me?” All I could do through anguish and desperation was whisper, “Yes, of course I do…” Little did I know just how far that weak profession of faith would have to carry me…but it did! All the way to one year of remission and still counting.

God is constant. His Love and Goodness are in ongoing pursuit of us. Sin introduced some pretty awful things into this world. Things like sickness, disease, depravity, tragedy and more. The only hope that we have of overcoming such things is Jesus Christ. He is the constant variable in our life that if placed in the center of it all will right our world and steady our course. I am not saying that life will be easy just that with faith in God it will ALWAYS be worth it. Nothing will be wasted and blessing will find you. It just takes a mustard seed of faith just a tiny speck of hope that says, “I believe you God enough to trust you!” The only thing we can do is to hang on for the ride. Refusing to give up is the acceptance of all things God has promised to us. Faith does not let go but holds tight with trust. Obedience is nothing more than a commitment to the cause. The Lord will do the rest. His Unfailing Love will capture you and you will never be the same. I am blown away today. Looking back, it was an awful time. But looking ahead, it was a growing time because now I know now even more than before that His Love never fails and I can do all things through Christ!

Proverbs 21:21 (NLT)

Whoever pursues righteousness and unfailing love will find life, righteousness, and honor.

Leave a Reply

