A Confident Heart

A Confident Heart

Psalm 27:13-14 (NLT)

Yet I am confident I will see the Lord’s goodness while I am here in the land of the living. Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord.

 

I want a totally confident heart. I want to have a heart that trusts the word so completely that when God says it – I will wait as long as it takes to see it come to pass. I want to have the courage to believe that every single day in every single way God is working out every detail of my life no matter how small for His Glory. (Romans 8:28) Hope is supposed to be confident in the Word, Will and Way of God no matter what. Faith is not supposed to be a thrill ride but rather a journey to a certain destination like a flight to another city. If I choose to jump off the edge of a 10-story building and ask the Lord to save me when my feet hit the air – this is not faith but stupidity. But if I get in an elevator on the tenth floor, select the ground floor and wait for the doors to shut – the elevator will carry me to the bottom safely. This is the premise of hope. God will make a way, show you that way and work out every single step from here to there. We must become so confident in the hope we have in Jesus to wait for this to become evident in our life. Faith is the thing that allows us to step on the elevator and trust it to carry us safely.

Faith does not exist in the presence of fear. Confidence is confirmed by trust and obedience. We have tried to give these two things urban definitions which work for the society in which we live. A confident heart is filled to capacity with the Word of God (Truth) and is led by His Spirit. I want to be confident today that I WILL see the Lord’s Goodness while I am here in the land of the living. I want to see it as it exists in Heaven pouring out unto the earth. I know that I have been blinded by fear for a long time. I want to see God’s Goodness with the eyes of my heart. God is good all of the time. However, I tend to only see His Goodness in the things that I need, want and desire rather than allowing His Plan to supersede my own feeble attempt at life.

James 1:17-18 (NLT)

Whatever is good and perfect is a gift coming down to us from God our Father, who created all the lights in the heavens. He never changes or casts a shifting shadow. He chose to give birth to us by giving us his true word. And we, out of all creation, became his prized possession.

 

Whatever is good and perfect is a Gift of God in our life. Every single good thing came directly from Him. He chose to give these things to us – we cannot earn them only accept them into our life. Fear that our sin was too great or our love too cold to ever have these things often keeps people from taking full advantage of God’s Goodness. Disbelief keeps us blinded to the reality that the Blessings of God are an inheritance for every child who steps out of the darkness into the Light of His Love. It is only a matter of moving out of sin and into grace. His Amazing Grace is beyond human comprehension so Jesus gave us His Spirit so we could see past the reality of our transgressions into the Abundance of His Love. We can only experience the Goodness of God in the fullest measure by learning to trust the Lord in all things. With every part of our life, leaving nothing out and without exception, choosing the Lord’s Way over our way. It means taking every request to the Lord no matter how small and insignificant and waiting for an answer. How will you know? When you develop communication with God through the Holy Spirit – you will always get an answer. It is up to us whether or not we accept it.

Genesis 28:12-15 (NLT)

As he slept, he dreamed of a stairway that reached from the earth up to heaven. And he saw the angels of God going up and down the stairway.  At the top of the stairway stood the Lord, and he said, “I am the Lord, the God of your grandfather Abraham, and the God of your father, Isaac. The ground you are lying on belongs to you. I am giving it to you and your descendants.  Your descendants will be as numerous as the dust of the earth! They will spread out in all directions—to the west and the east, to the north and the south. And all the families of the earth will be blessed through you and your descendants. What’s more, I am with you, and I will protect you wherever you go. One day I will bring you back to this land. I will not leave you until I have finished giving you everything I have promised you.”

 

To review, Jacob had stolen the birthright from his brother, Esau. Isaac sent Jacob away from home to a relative for safety. As he traveled one night, Jacob had a dream. He saw angels moving between Heaven and earth. God spoke to Jacob in that moment. Just because Jacob had sinned against his brother, God’s Plan for Jacob had not changed. God was with him. He loved him. He would bless him. He promised to protect Jacob. Then one day, I will bring you back home. The Lord told Jacob, “I will not leave you until I have finished giving you everything I have promised you.” God’s Grace was evident then and continues into today. His Faithfulness never changes but is constant. His Love for His People makes blessing continuous for those who develop confidence in God. You will never be perfect but you are still precious to God. Even when you stray and lose your way or fall and struggle to get back up, the Lord is right there with you. His Angels continuously moving between Heaven and earth with everything you need and want in this life. Daniel 9:23 says that when we pray, it releases a command in Heaven and dispatches an angel. Living a life in agreement and acknowledgement of God will increase the Heavenly activity on our behalf as God continues to send His Goodness to us. Lord show me all the ways you work on my behalf today. Open the eyes of my heart so I can see your angels surrounding my life.

Psalm 37:3-5 (NLT)

Trust in the Lord and do good. Then you will live safely in the land and prosper. Take delight in the Lord and he will give you your heart’s desires. Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him, and he will help you.

 

Our life must be based on faith alone to experience the salvation of God through Jesus Christ. You must have faith to please God. Faith in God makes all things possible. A confident heart allows us to wait on the Lord even when we have no idea what He is doing because we trust Him with our whole heart. Our heart will influence our mind. It gives us peace. Trust in the Lord enough to commit your life to doing good. Why? A life in agreement will live in the Presence of God experiencing the abundance of His Goodness reserved as our inheritance. We can do nothing to earn or increase the blessings that the Lord has in store for us – but simply clear our life of fear, stress and worry so it can make it to us unrestricted by doubt. It is so simple yet we make it so hard. Trust the Lord. Do good. THEN you will live safely in the land and what? Prosper. Delight in the Lord and He will GIVE you the desires of your heart. Blessing comes to those who have confidence on the Lord. Commit (invest) everything you do to the Lord and trust Him. This is my goal and aspiration today. Rather than settling for what I think I deserve, in all things waiting for God’s Very Best. I will never be dissatisfied or discontent in the Goodness of God reserved for my life because before time began He created my heart and knew everything I needed and all its deepest desires. He set a course of blessing that only faith will find and a confident heart will wait for until it is discovered.

 

Ephesians 3:19-21 (NLT)

May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God. Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen.

Each day I must stretch my faith a little farther. Putting one foot in front of the other to examine the parameters of God’s Great Love for me. I must have a confident heart to fully accept the abundant blessing that God has kept safe just for me. No one else can have it because it belongs to me. It is my inheritance as a Child of the Living God. I don’t want to compromise anymore but experience all the Goodness God has for me today. He wants to do more than I could even think to ask for. With faith and a confident heart I say, “Yes Lord, go for it. I want all that you are today!” It will take my whole life to discover the wide expanse of His Love for me. What a wonderful life we have when we live with a confident heart.

Ephesians 3:17-19 (NLT)

Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

Leave a Reply

