Hurry Up and Wait

Hurry Up and Wait

Psalm 27:13-14 (MSG)

I’m sure now I’ll see God’s goodness in the exuberant earth. Stay with God! Take heart. Don’t quit. I’ll say it again: Stay with God.

 

Waiting. Not my favorite thing in life. But absolutely necessary to teach me faith and endurance. I totally understand why waiting is essential…now. Patience is something needed to see the Will of God give way to every single promise that He made us. God doesn’t make me wait to punish me or to somehow shape me. I wait until my faith is big enough to take on the magnitude of what He has in store for us. Too many times we try to understand exactly what God is doing rather than just waiting as He does it. It is not my job to understand every step to breakthrough just allowing God the room to move in our complete confidence in Him. Waiting is not about stretching me but my faith to reach the capacities of God’s Goodness.

Everyone is waiting for something or someone. Eternity exists in every human heart producing the feeling that there is more to life than what we are living right now. Eternity is our ultimate goal. We cannot get to the Kingdom of God without faith so we take steps along the way. If we can learn to hurry up and wait on the Lord, I believe that we would get farther in our walk of faith and see the goodness of God today rather than tomorrow. Waiting is all about faith and confidence in the Lord. To wait and not move is clearly an act of trust, otherwise we would try to make things happen. But in those moments when we decide we want what God has more than the world is offering, there is a willingness to wait on the Lord like never before. I have never been disappointed when I decided to hope in the Lord. I have not wasted a minute waiting on God!

Psalm 5:1-3 (MSG)

Listen, God! Please, pay attention! Can you make sense of these ramblings, my groans and cries? King-God, I need your help. Every morning you’ll hear me at it again. Every morning I lay out the pieces of my life on your altar and watch for fire to descend.

 

By the third cancer diagnosis less than three years from the first discovery, it was clear that medicine was close to exhausting its efforts in saving our son. This was the point when the doctor’s declared us to be in the realm of hope. I remember when she made the declaration over us and the peace that flooded my heart and soul in that moment. Like finally, we are here. Now God can do something about this situation. We have done all that we can do now it’s time to stand. Whenever anyone uses words like “forever, never and impossible” around me, I get excited. It is like moving from there here and now into God’s Territory. My forever is with Him. Never is not in my vocabulary anymore. Nothing is impossible for God. When there three things come up, it is time for God to step up and do what He does which is pour out His Glory in my life. It happens over and over again.

Each day I come to the Lord and give Him my life. I shove my husband, children, family, friends, coworkers and every other person I come in contact with on the altar. I ask Him to take care of thing today like only He can and move me out of the way as much as possible. Every morning I sit down with God. I come whether I feel like it or not. I don’t do it as a religious rite. He is more necessary than coffee to me. I need the Lord. I have seen what happens to my life when I withhold the tiniest fragment from the Lord and want no part of it. I want His Power. His Glory. His Goodness for my life. I want all of Him so I hurry into His Presence and wait for Him to come. I have been getting up early to meet with the Lord every day for more than six years now. I have not missed a single day. It doesn’t matter where I am or what I am doing. This is essential to seeing God’s Will and Way come to pass in my life. There have been days that have proven to be more challenging than my humanity can take. Thankfully I hurried into His Presence early which prepared me to wait for Him now.

Psalm 62:1-2 (MSG)

God, the one and only—I’ll wait as long as he says. Everything I need comes from him, so why not? He’s solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul, an impregnable castle: I’m set for life.

 

I just left a position with the local school board which is a governmental agency with excellent benefits and a good retirement. Each position posted receives more than one hundred applications. Many state workers get a bad rap. They are known for what some call “making eight.” You make your eight hours and wait it out you get paid. When it is your turn you get a promotion. You just show up every day and you are good. It takes a lot to get fired after the initial 90-day probationary period. There are many people in different positions that believe if they just wait long enough they will be rewarded for faithful service. I do not disagree with their philosophy as long as you do the job that you were hired to do. Do your best. Work hard in the position, etc. Unfortunately, it has been my experience that there are many who expect to be rewarded for simply hanging around. It doesn’t work that way. God doesn’t work that way either. Waiting on God must be accompanied by faith. We must work on our faith. How do we do that? We believe. When you believe that everything you need comes from God, it changes how you interact with the world around you? Confidence in the Lord is evidenced by how we wait.

Isaiah 30:18 (MSG)

But God’s not finished. He’s waiting around to be gracious to you. He’s gathering strength to show mercy to you. God takes the time to do everything right—everything. Those who wait around for him are the lucky ones.

 

God is waiting on you today. The Lord is waiting for me. God has so many things that He wants to do in our life that require of faith and trust in Him… all of it. God is not finished. If He was, you wouldn’t be here anymore. You have a purpose not yet filled. A blessing not yet received. Goodness getting ready to spill over in your life. Are you willing to hurry up and wait for it today? Waiting on God is essential to every single thing that He is ready to do in our life. Waiting says I have faith in you God. It tells God that we want what He has more than anything else. It is a commitment to the Lord beyond what we can see, hear and feel. It is all about how we know Him. Waiting takes our expectation off of other people placing it solely on the Lord. He waits for us to come to Him. Everyday God the forever reigning Creator of the Universe waits for me. He has great things for my life that only require me coming closer to Him. Wow! Blows my mind every single time.

Isaiah 40:28-31 (MSG)

Don’t you know anything? Haven’t you been listening? God doesn’t come and go. God lasts. He’s Creator of all you can see or imagine. He doesn’t get tired out, doesn’t pause to catch his breath. And he knows everything, inside and out. He energizes those who get tired, gives fresh strength to dropouts. For even young people tire and drop out, young folk in their prime stumble and fall. But those who wait upon God get fresh strength. They spread their wings and soar like eagles, they run and don’t get tired, they walk and don’t lag behind.

 

To wait on God is our choice. It is a privilege to be able to surrender our life to God despite our once sinful condition that too often is overlooked and taken for granted. Our inability to accept the matchless grace that makes us flawless before God makes us sulk back in the shadows rather than coming boldly to His Throne. We have total access to all that God is and everything He has promised. We need to hurry up and wait on God letting our faith keep us confidently attached to what the Lord is doing rather than fixated on the world around us. Have you accepted Jesus Christ as your Savior and Lord? Do you believe that God raised Jesus from the dead after He paid for your sin with His Blood? Do you think that He is coming again to take you home? See if you believe these three things, then you my friend have something worth waiting for. God is definitely doing something in your life just because you believe. That is the only qualification for His Goodness every single day is to put our faith and trust in Him. He will do the rest! What are you waiting for today? In Jesus Name, I encourage you to wait on the Lord. I ask Him to fill you with new strength as you do!

Isaiah 35:3-4 (MSG)
Energize the limp hands, strengthen the rubbery knees.
Tell fearful souls, “Courage! Take heart! God is here, right here, on his way to put things right
and redress all wrongs. He’s on his way! He’ll save you!”

Leave a Reply

