Love and Let Live

Love and Let Live

John 1:14 (NLT)

So the Word became human and made his home among us. He was full of unfailing love and faithfulness. And we have seen his glory, the glory of the Father’s one and only Son.

 

There has been a great deal of hoopla surrounding the Supreme Court’s ruling on marriage yesterday. Social media is blowing up about the subject. Pastors posting their public opinion. People voicing their perspective of the case. I did not post anything about it. I will not other than this quiet meditation between the Lord and me this morning. I have mixed feelings in this whole debate. I am married and have been for many years. Before we were married legally, I felt a heart connection and soul tie with my husband shortly after our first date. I knew in my heart that this was the person that God created for me. I do not feel that the government has anything to do with our union other than I have a paper tucked away in a file that acknowledges it legally. However if the courts decided to end marriage altogether it would not change the love and commitment that I have for my husband and the promise that we made before God on July 17, 1999. This is the entirety of my opinion on the “case” and “matter”.

I do believe that the enemy uses hot topics such as these things to incite the church rather than igniting compassion in the heart of Christians. I am a Christian. They can take the Bible out of schools, prisons, hotels and even my home one day if they want to – I have it written on my heart. We can fight about every precept in the Bible if we want to and become like Pharisees/Defenders of the Law and miss the point entirely. The Word of God became human. He made His Home among us. His Name is Jesus. He is full of unfailing love and faithfulness. We have seen His Glory will we reflect it to the world. I can be right even if no one else thinks that I am. I have not been instructed to change the minds of people but rather introduce them to the One who can change their heart. To live and let live is not a concept of accepting the world and all its sin but loving everyone anyway!

Psalm 119:5-7 (NLT)

Oh, that my actions would consistently reflect your decrees! Then I will not be ashamed when I compare my life with your commands. As I learn your righteous regulations, I will thank you by living as I should!

 

My actions are my responsibility. My words are also my responsibility. I will never live a sinless life. It is way too late for that. I will more likely sin before lunch today and most definitely in the future as well. I need the Grace of God given to humanity by Jesus Christ. Friend, I have to have it to make it to Eternity. Salvation was an act of repentance. It was a turnaround but did not completely fix my sin problem. I refuse to point a finger at any other person including you to say it’s the same for you, too. That’s what most of the world is doing today – it is wrong. It is not godly or God-Like. God is Sovereign and Constant. Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever. He is sinless. He doesn’t change. He came to show us God’s Glory expressed in a Grace so abundant in love that it could overcome every sin that we can or will ever commit. His Grace was enough. We cannot help it, enhance it or modify it. It is complete.

Now that all my doing is completely undone by this revelation of grace and back to my job in all this – it is to share this all-consuming love with a lost and dying world. If my actions are to consistently reflect God’s Decrees, I should probably know what they are. When I think about the Lord what I believe to be true is that in all things and in every season – His Unfailing Love and Goodness pursues me so much so that it should overflow into the lives of others. Where is the love in these arguments about perpetuated sin? What happened to the one who is without sin may throw the first stone? We live in glass houses when it comes to the Lord. He sees right through us. He is looking for love. His Love in us magnified to the world even when it is wrong contradicting His Love and His Law. We are called to love one another. How are we doing? When I compare my life to His Commands, the very first comparison should be to His Love. Most of the time, I must stop right there and work more to live and let live.

Psalm 139:23-24 (NLT)

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life.

 

Security in salvation is totally based on faith. It is impossible to please the Lord without it. Our hope is completely founded on the faith that we have in God’s Love for us. I think as Christians we forget that sometimes. Search ME, O God. Know MY heart. Test ME. Know MY anxious thoughts. Point out anything in ME that offends you. Lead ME along the path of everlasting life. Christians are not supposed to be offensive but rather confident in their relationship with Jesus Christ enough to love others no matter what they do. To forgive the unforgivable. To turn the stinging cheek. When finished with the process of perfection in ourselves, we are free to fix others.

Romans 8:37-39 (NLT)

No, despite all these things, overwhelming victory is ours through Christ, who loved us. And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.

I have overwhelming victory simply because Jesus loves me. I choose to accept His Love and live in it. I am convinced by faith that nothing can ever separate me from God’s Love. If I truly believe that, I have given up my rights of condemnation because I have accepted His Unfailing and Unconditional Love as my own. For God so loved the world (and everyone in it) that He gave His Only Son that we may be saved not punished and condemned. Jesus did not bring condemnation into this world so how can Christians? (John 3:16-18) There is absolutely no condemnation in Christ or it would be contradictory to grace and mercy. (Romans 8:1-2) His Unfailing Love is better than life. (Psalm 63:1-3) As we seek to bask in it, live in it, breathe it in and spread it all around, we must focus on the people and not all the sin. Every one sins and falls short of the Glory of God. No one is worthy of God’s Love. We are all sinners saved by grace. We are all brothers and sisters in Christ. He loves us all the same. I should live in that love every day becoming more mindful of the fact that Jesus came to give life. Love gives life. It covers a multitude of sin. (I Peter 4:8) Court rulings don’t change the world. Lawmakers can pass rules and regulations until their hearts are content. It doesn’t impact forever. Christians can have church, schedule revival and even stand on street corners yelling, “Jesus saves!” but until we learn to love each other for life – we are nothing more than “noisy gong or clanging symbol”. (I Corinthians 13)

Only three things last forever – faith, hope and love. God has decreed the greatest of these to be love. As a reminder – “Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged.  It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out.  Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.” How’s your love life today? Yeah, I am still working on mine.

Psalm 119:37-38 (NLT)

Turn my eyes from worthless things and give me life through your word. Reassure me of your promise made to those who fear you.

 

Politics and religion can be used by the enemy and he does every day to put people at odds. I do not discuss either with many people. My relationship with Jesus Christ prohibits it as it usually produces adversity and opposition between people. The basis of my life is faith in the Love of God given to me by the Lord when He died for me. My opinions are not relevant any longer. The enemy will use these two platforms to produce contention between believers and those who desperately need an introduction to Jesus Christ. My righteousness or rightness is solely based on the character and grace of Jesus – it is not my own. I do not need to defend it but live a life of love so others want it. Love does not condone but it also doesn’t condemn. Love does not accept the unacceptable but it also does not create adversity. Love doesn’t compromise but it isn’t supposed to be critical. I think to live and let live we must first master love and go from there. In the meantime, we should turn our eyes from worthless things including worthless arguments (Proverbs 13:3) and opinions that really do more harm than good for the Kingdom of God. The world needs our love. All of it. We need God’s Love – all of it. But then again…this is nothing more than my opinion.

Proverbs 4:23 (NLT) Guard your heart above all else for it determines the course of your life.

 

Ephesians 5:1-2 (NLT)

Imitate God, therefore, in everything you do, because you are his dear children. Live a life filled with love, following the example of Christ. He loved us and offered himself as a sacrifice for us, a pleasing aroma to God.

Leave a Reply

