To Live Again – A Devotion

To Live Again

Proverbs 16:24 (NIV)

Gracious words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.

 

Our family went to lunch yesterday to celebrate Father’s Day. As we finished our lunch, some old friends who we only see occasionally happened to come in and stopped by to say, “Hello!” These are the kind of people who even though you only see each other once in a while it is always a joyous moment. This particular woman has given me wisdom and insight that has molded my life. Her deep connection to Jesus Christ allows her to speak life to others and it take effect. Not always in that moment, as when our relationship first began I did not always appreciate the things she felt led to share but now as the Holy Spirit has written them on my heart confirmed by God’s Word and woven this wisdom in my life – I have seen the dramatic results and blessing come forth from them. Sometimes true wisdom and understanding takes time, we hear the words expecting immediate results not knowing it will take time for our heart and soul to agree on the matter convincing our mind to follow suit.

Gracious words or grace filled ones are like a honeycomb. They are sweet. They bring healing. But sometimes they can sting at first and seem to be unworthy of the sacrifice we make to say them. The Grace of God seems simple and it is but the sheer vastness of it is overwhelming and I am still discovering its parameters after more than a decade of pursuit. I need God’s Grace. Every single day I need it more and more. The more I know Him the more I need Him and the more grace and mercy I need to get there.

Proverbs 18:20-21 (NIV)

From the fruit of their mouth a person’s stomach is filled; with the harvest of their lips they are satisfied. The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.

We are created by God speaking. He breathed life into the entire human race. Every single person is the same from the inside out even though we are uniquely diverse. When Jesus died on the Cross, He released His Spirit. The Living Essence of God now available to you and I. So I why should we be surprised that the tongue has the power of life and death. We will possess the fruit of our tongue. When we speak the words with our own breath, we will reap the harvest produced by our own ability and human nature. But when we begin to speak God’s Word over our life, His Spirit makes it a reality as we now agree that we are Children of God. It is a choice. Our words empower us or debilitate us in each moment by each breath.

Ezekiel 37:1-10 (NIV)

The hand of the Lord was on me, and he brought me out by the Spirit of the Lord and set me in the middle of a valley; it was full of bones. He led me back and forth among them, and I saw a great many bones on the floor of the valley, bones that were very dry. He asked me, “Son of man, can these bones live?” I said, “Sovereign Lord, you alone know.” Then he said to me, “Prophesy to these bones and say to them, ‘Dry bones, hear the word of the Lord! This is what the Sovereign Lord says to these bones: I will make breath enter you, and you will come to life.  I will attach tendons to you and make flesh come upon you and cover you with skin; I will put breath in you, and you will come to life. Then you will know that I am the Lord.’” So I prophesied as I was commanded. And as I was prophesying, there was a noise, a rattling sound, and the bones came together, bone to bone. I looked, and tendons and flesh appeared on them and skin covered them, but there was no breath in them. Then he said to me, “Prophesy to the breath; prophesy, son of man, and say to it, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: Come, breath, from the four winds and breathe into these slain, that they may live.’”  So I prophesied as he commanded me, and breath entered them; they came to life and stood up on their feet—a vast army.

 

As I look at my life right now as I see it, there are many “dry bones”. I want them to come to life. I want to see God moving in all areas again. The Lord has been closing and opening many doors recently leaving me not sure if I am coming or going. Everything feels different. As I spoke with my sweet friend yesterday, she immediately tuned in to this and encouraged me. It does feel strange moving from season to season. Even when it is good and it definitely is God, we are challenged to remain joyful and peaceful during such times especially when life seemed so good before. There are things in my life feel all dried up. Things that I believe God wants alive in my life.

As I prayed this morning, God’s Hand carried me to the valley of dry bones. He reminded me of a few tidbits of wisdom. There is power in our words as we live our life with God’s Spirit. When we speak we have the power to bind and loose heavenly things. (Matthew 16:19) This begins the moment that we believe. I wish belief was like a light switch that could easily be turned on and left on but it’s not. It is a fight to believe some days even for those who are deeply devoted and in love with Jesus Christ. We simply cannot see him. We cannot sit down and have a conversation like a good friend over a good meal at least physically speaking. We must believe that God is real, His Word is true, and that He loves us. (Proverbs 8:6-11) Without an ongoing relationship with Jesus Christ, new life is just not possible. Dead things will remain dead. The past will not be productive. We must believe in Jesus. (I Corinthians 2:12-14)

We must know what to say to the dead things in our life. We must know the words that will bring dry bones back to life. Not everything is meant to live again, God’s Wisdom allows us to know what to say and when to say it. This is not an overnight process. I have been in the Word of God daily for about six years now. I read it before that but did not commit much time to it. But for years now, I have had a daily encounter with the Lord every single day and sometimes multiple times in that day. It was when I decided I wanted Him more. I wanted it all. I didn’t want to miss a thing. I have to know what God says about my situation to know what to pray and seek for revival and restoration in my life. (Proverbs 2:6-8) We want God but don’t know Him very well. We want His Plan and Purpose in our life but have no idea where it starts. We want to pick and choose the good parts and easy stuff but avoid the rest of it. God shows us the way to success. We get there from where we are. His Wisdom is vital to our success in having all that He planned and purposed for our life.

The resurrection power of God is still available today when we combine our breath with the Holy Spirit in our life and speak to the dry and dead areas of our life. We have the power of change in us if we believe. It does not come easy. Not many people are willing to put themselves out there, but then desperate times call for desperate measures.

Luke 6:45 (NIV)

A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.

I know that I believe. My belief in the Lord has been tried and found to be true. Yet, I still need more of Him today. I need Him to continue to fill my heart with His Goodness, Mercy and Love until every single word that I speak is filled with life and spoken in total agreement with His Word. I still complain sometimes. I still say negative things. I still lash out. I still get mad. I still get upset. I still gossip. Who doesn’t? But I don’t want to! I want the words that I speak to bring life to others but also every dead and dry thing in my own life today. Because the more I see His Power, the more I can share with others the Greatness of My God. Until my heart is so full that it ONLY overflows in living words, I will continue to press for more of Him.

I Peter 3:10-11 (NIV)

For, “Whoever would love life and see good days must keep their tongue from evil and their lips from deceitful speech. They must turn from evil and do good; they must seek peace and pursue it.”

 

We must seek peace with God in all areas of our life until our words always agree with His Word. We must evaluate every word we speak as if our life depends on it because it does. If we want all that God has for us – we must live in complete agreement with Him. Our mouth reveals our true belief and trust in Him. We decide the context and content of every word that we utter. Blessing and cursing cannot come out of the same mouth just as fresh and saltwater do not flow together. For those who seek to live to the Glory of God experiencing the blessing of His Children, we must evaluate our speech and work to refine it. (James 3:7-12) You decide the level of blessing you live in with the words of your mouth each day. I believe that this may be the number one deterrent in most people’s lives and until we convince ourselves otherwise we will always be limited.

Proverbs 30:5 (NIV) Every word of God is flawless; He is a shield to those who take refuge in him.

God doesn’t need my assistance today. He just needs my agreement. God’s Plan for my life is flawless. It is perfect. I just need to believe it. I need to believe Him. I will trust the One I believe. I will depend on Him. He will make a way where there is no way if only I will work with His Plan and not try to make up my own. Today, I will evaluate my words before I speak them. I want all that God has for me. As I look at those dry things today, I see the sunrise in the distance and know that I just might be on to something and it feels really good!

Psalm 19:14 (NIV)
May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight,

Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.

 

Leave a Reply

