Grace Full

Grace Full

Titus 2:11-14 (NLT)

 For the grace of God has been revealed, bringing salvation to all people. And we are instructed to turn from godless living and sinful pleasures. We should live in this evil world with wisdom, righteousness, and devotion to God, while we look forward with hope to that wonderful day when the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ, will be revealed. He gave his life to free us from every kind of sin, to cleanse us, and to make us his very own people, totally committed to doing good deeds.

 

God’s Grace and unmerited favor belongs to us as believers. We are instructed to turn from godless living and sinful pleasures to live with wisdom, righteousness and devotion to God. Sounds easy enough. The acceptance of God’s Grace in our life is not nearly as tough as applying it to our life. There is an obvious difference that becomes clear when we seek God’s Forgiveness but then are compelled to forgive another. Grace begins with forgiveness. An unconditional pardon that cannot be earned but must be offered. We are to live in the Grace of God which means not only the acceptance of God’s Grace but offering it in our life, too. The sufficiency of God’s Grace in our life goes beyond our own strength and is evident in our total demise. The end of our own power gives way to God’s Strength overtaking us completely. When I become weak, then I am strong. Who wants to be humiliated? I surely am not raising my own hand but it seems that the deeper I dive into discovering the vast potential of God’s Love for me, I am challenged by love and grace around me. How far am I willing to go to have all of His Love and Favor for my life? What will it take for me to become totally committed to doing good deeds in the Name of God’s Love, Grace and Mercy?

I am undeserving of God’s Grace. Completely. There is nothing good inside of me no matter how bad I want there to be one redeeming quality, sin ruined me from the beginning. I do not deserve God’s Love but I have it. I do not deserve His Grace but He gives it to me each day. Now it becomes my obligation as a Child of God to love others the same way and give them the same kind of grace. Lord help me to be grace-full in all things.

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 (NLT)

Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

I am not a very graceful person by nature. I do not have a natural inclination toward grace physically or emotionally. I am more of a right or wrong girl with no line in the middle. God has not called me to compromise on my principles but to extend love beyond those hard boundaries that I set in life. If the son sets us free, we are free indeed. There have been many times that situations arise that I do not want to be grace full, loving and compassionate. But I am learning that in my weakness that love always prevails. If I can extend love to the unlovable, I am set free all over again. In those times that I cannot, God’s Love which is His Power is the key that unlocks the door of my closed heart. My inability to be perfect and worthy of God’s Love presses me to extend the love and grace that I have been given to others. Sometimes I think it is my own hard headedness that sends me crashing down in life. It is the one who tries to make everything right not willing to wait on God to finish His Work that causes my destruction every single time. I am not nothing outside of the work being completed in me by Jesus Christ.

Psalm 103:8-11 (NLT)

The Lord is compassionate and merciful, slow to get angry and filled with unfailing love. He will not constantly accuse us, nor remain angry forever. He does not punish us for all our sins; he does not deal harshly with us, as we deserve. For his unfailing love toward those who fear him is as great as the height of the heavens above the earth.

 

I am trying hard to remember the character of God today as I get ready to face the day. The Lord is compassionate and full of mercy. He is slow to get angry. He is filled with Unfailing Love. He will not constantly accuse us. He doesn’t remain angry. He does not punish us. He does not deal harshly with us. He does not give us what we deserve. His Unfailing Love covers a multitude of sins and surely is enough for me to use in extending His Grace to others.

I Corinthians 15:10 (NLT)

But whatever I am now, it is all because God poured out his special favor on me—and not without results. For I have worked harder than any of the other apostles; yet it was not I but God who was working through me by his grace.

 

I must also remember that whatever I am today is a direct result of God’s Grace applied to my life. I change the world when I learn to effectively do the same for others.

Galatians 2:20-21 (NLT)

My old self has been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I do not treat the grace of God as meaningless. For if keeping the law could make us right with God, then there was no need for Christ to die.

 

I must decide today if God’s Grace for me will be meaningful or if I will treat it as meaningless. Grace sets us free. We can love without condition because we need nothing from anyone else because the Lord has satisfied every longing in our life. We are now free to love no longer ruled by our sinful nature. We live because Christ lives in us. There are some days when we do not understand the what, why, or how of grace but choose to live in it anyway. (2 Corinthians 1:12) The Grace of God that we allow to overtake us has the ability to crush satan in our life. (Romans 16:20) God gives us enough grace to extend to others without measure. (Psalm 81:11) We have no excuse but to be grace full in our life and every reason to do so.

Ephesians 2:8-10 (NLT)

God saved you by his grace when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God. Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it. For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

 

Grace is the changing Power of God in our life. Once we accept the Grace of God by faith, we are empowered. God takes our ordinary life and makes it a Masterpiece. I recently attended one of those new painting party places for a friend who was getting married. Her future mother-in-law is a very talented artist so naturally we were all a little intimidated when she said that she would come. She brought her own apron and an assortment of brushes. When the class began, she decided to prove her talent and ability so she began to paint on her own. My goal was for something that at least didn’t look like a kindergartener hijacked my canvas. However as the artist continued something happened and her picture turned out awful. I wonder if she was trying too hard to prove what she could do rather than allowing her God-Given talent to shine through. We can do nothing to earn or even promote grace in our life. We can do nothing more than choose to release it in our life. The work is all part of God’s Plan. He is the only one who can take our mess of a life and make it a masterpiece. We give Him room to work by operating in His Grace. Grace is the limitless and unending love of God. The more that we apply it to our own life the more we can give it to others unafraid that it will ever run out. Lord, teach me to be grace full today. If when others suck the life right out of me, help me to remember that You are the Life Giver.

Hebrews 4:15-16 (NLT)

This High Priest of ours understands our weaknesses, for he faced all of the same testings we do, yet he did not sin. So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.

Leave a Reply

