Down to the Wire

Down to the Wire

Matthew 27:50-52 (NLT)
Then Jesus shouted out again, and he released his spirit. At that moment the curtain in the sanctuary of the Temple was torn in two, from top to bottom. The earth shook, rocks split apart, and tombs opened. The bodies of many godly men and women who had died were raised from the dead.

 

This moment in time changed everything in the life of the believer. It was at this exact moment that life was released for all who would receive it. Jesus released His Spirit for all of us. The dead came back to life in that moment. I didn’t always see the significance in the death of Christ on the Cross. I know what the Bible said, but the sheer power that exists today was lost in my ignorance. Until the day, I watched the Power of Christ heal our son’s body of cancer that dared invade him not once or twice but five times relentlessly – I did not truly understand the Power given that day. In that moment, every outcome in my life became subject to change. Many times I do not want change. Change is uncomfortable. It is different. Lacking the familiarity that humanity embraces it means going against the grain, believing the impossible and often feeling like a fool until that moment when every is revealed. When I hear this story it brings my spirit back to life, worship songs that tell about it gives me goosebumps, and every care that I have seems to melt when I am reminded that in that moment everything changed for the better for those who believe.

Psalm 139:13-16 (NLT)
You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb.
Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it. You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb. You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.

 

God is not ignorant but omniscient. He has always been a know-it-all and well within His Right. When God created me in my mother’s womb, He knew everything about me before I was even born. He documented every single moment of every single day of my existence before I was born. In doing so, He provided all the grace and mercy that I would need to remain in right standing all the days of my life. When Jesus died on the Cross, He released this gift in my life before my parents, grandparents, great grandparents and so on ever were around. His Grace is sufficient and well thought out so that there is nothing that can separate me from God’s Love for me. (Romans 8:38-39) This is why His Love for me is unfailing, never-ending, and relentless. God knew what it would take to love me and live with me forever and provided it by giving His Son so that I could have it. God did not less for you, too! We are created to live supernaturally, to experience a miraculous life, and to be prosperous simply in His Love.

Job 7:17-18 (NLT)

“What are people that you should make so much of us that you should think of us so often? For you examine us every morning and test us every moment.”

 

Why must God test us? Why does He examine us each morning and test us every moment? It is not a defect or problem with His Love for us – that was completely defined before our existence. It is our own inability to believe, trust and love Him back that causes us an issue. God does not examine us for defect but is looking to fulfill us. To look for sin would mean that He was not fully aware of our flaws before we got here which is not true for there was a measure of grace to be predetermined. God provides for us in advance so our life was heavily scrutinized before it began. God wants to see our faith. He wants to be aware of our trust to release more of His Kingdom and Glory in our life. It only becomes a problem if Jesus is not what we want. Job wasn’t tested because he was inept. Job was considered because of his faithfulness. God didn’t set out to harm Job but to bless him. Every day God gives us mercy so He can come closer, inspect our life and find a way to let His Glory make its way to us. The test in each moment is our willingness to surrender this broken and dysfunctional life to the new life that we have been promised. Will we be patient enough to wait in confident hope? Will our faith indicate a desire for God? Will we listen for His Voice to lead us to His Glory? Those who trust that God is always good and working for us not against us will.

Genesis 22:10-12 (NLT)

 And Abraham picked up the knife to kill his son as a sacrifice. At that moment the angel of the Lord called to him from heaven, “Abraham! Abraham!” “Yes,” Abraham replied. “Here I am!”  “Don’t lay a hand on the boy!” the angel said. “Do not hurt him in any way, for now I know that you truly fear God. You have not withheld from me even your son, your only son.”

I am no Abraham. But I can totally relate to him when it comes to trusting God with your child’s life. I did that and many times thought of Abraham traveling up that mountain and every thought circling in his head. I know that this man had to have really considered his faith in God with each step. He had to examine his own heart and evaluate his faith. I believe that we all have moments like this in our life that change us forever. Abraham believed God. He didn’t know how He would do it or when but just knew that God would do it – he was right God did. In the moment the angel cried out, I believe Abraham was waiting on the edge of obedience. There was no hesitation just anticipation. Abraham believed in the God who brings the dead back to life and creates new things from nothing. He hoped when there was no reason to hope believing the Promise of God for his life was real. (Romans 416-7) God is looking for those who have faith that the Promise of God is true enough to do what He says. It is a love thing. God never ever wants to hurt us, punish us or end our lives.

2 Kings 8:4-6 (NLT)

As she came in, the king was talking with Gehazi, the servant of the man of God. The king had just said, “Tell me some stories about the great things Elisha has done.” And Gehazi was telling the king about the time Elisha had brought a boy back to life. At that very moment, the mother of the boy walked in to make her appeal to the king about her house and land. “Look, my lord the king!” Gehazi exclaimed. “Here is the woman now, and this is her son—the very one Elisha brought back to life!” “Is this true?” the king asked her. And she told him the story. So he directed one of his officials to see that everything she had lost was restored to her, including the value of any crops that had been harvested during her absence.

Elisha had told the woman she would have a child. She did. The child died. The woman protested and the prophet of God raised him up. She was then warned of the famine that was coming and left to protect her family. She is returning to the land to reclaim her property and goes to see the king who just so happens to be talking to Gehazi who was Elisha’s servant. Holy coincidence – just kidding – not really. When the king qualifies this farfetched tale with the woman who confirms it – he gives her everything she lost in the famine back to her. Timing is everything with God. Your temporary problem may be over but the Glory of God attached is still coming. God did not forget you in the famine while you sowed seeds of righteousness. He is preparing your harvest grown in the midst of hardship and despair. When all else failed, but your faith remained in Him. God noticed. He did not forget. He is always right on time. Just ask Abraham, God is known for taking it down to the wire.

Matthew 6:27 (NLT) Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?

Chronologically the answer is no. Spiritually that answer is absolutely not. Those moments not filled with faith actually rob us of the good things God is doing in us and through us. Every moment lacking faith is wasted in worry. I am appalled to consider all the time that I waste worrying about dumb stuff when the God of the Universe has predestined me to be blessed every single day of my life. I know better but still must daily fight the good fight to maintain my faith. Confident hope is the realm of miracles. I can trust God with the life of my child so why not every other need, want and desire in my life? Good question. I am still trying to figure it all out. Lord, remind me that this life is temporary. Show me the miracles hidden in each moment that I wrap in faith and claim by trusting you with confident hope. I know that you will take me down the wire like a tightrope walker who cannot fear but must take another step in faith to make it through. You are my provider, deliverer, healer but most of all you are my friend. You know me and still love me. Fill me with new faith and belief today so I will see your glory in my life moment by moment and breath by breath!

I Peter 1:17-20 (NLT)

And remember that the heavenly Father to whom you pray has no favorites. He will judge or reward you according to what you do. So you must live in reverent fear of him during your time here as “temporary residents.” For you know that God paid a ransom to save you from the empty life you inherited from your ancestors. And it was not paid with mere gold or silver, which lose their value. It was the precious blood of Christ, the sinless, spotless Lamb of God. God chose him as your ransom long before the world began, but now in these last days he has been revealed for your sake.

Leave a Reply

