Oh My Goodness

Psalm 27:13-14 (NLT)

Yet I am confident I will see the Lord’s goodness while I am here in the land of the living. Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord.

 

What a crazy weekend! Our house has been filled pre-adolescent and teenage girls since Friday. In and out of the house, the pool and the pantry, they all seem to be having a blast together. Although chaotic, I have thoroughly enjoyed having a full house again. I have definitely mellowed with age I think as the slamming door, crumbs on the floor, and cluttered pool deck don’t bother me like they used to. A dull roar is fine as long as the neighbors are not annoyed. What has changed in me that makes things that would once drive me crazy seem okay? As we mature in life, our perspective changes I am convinced. As a young mother, I tried to create the perfect life for those little people and failed. When I became a single mother, I tried to hold them all together – we made it. When my husband and I married, it was wonderful to have a partner in the parenting process yet I still struggled to be the “perfect” mom. Now with three out of the house, I hear quite often that I am different with the younger two. That I am not as strict on them as I was the first three and maybe that’s true or maybe as the years passed by I have gained a new perspective on life as a whole from the day we are born until we step into eternity. I have rearranged my priorities and it is still an evolving process. What I have discovered over the last several years is that if I will just wait a little while and stop trying to “be” perfect and “do” all the right things but look for His Goodness in each moment – I will find it!

Oh my His Goodness to me is inexpressible. I could try to show you all the wonderful things God has done in my life but you would probably call it something like coincidence, randomness, or even modern medicine. It is unlikely that you would see it for what it is because few people really do understand that every good thing in our life comes from the Father. He just keeps sending down His Unfailing Love hoping to bless His Children every step along the way. We must change our perspective to see His Goodness in everything He does rather than calling goodness what we want Him to do.

Are you confident that God is good? Do you think that He really loves you unconditionally? These are the primary statements that will dictate how you see the Lord and what you believe He can and will do in your life. Life can be hard. It is filled with struggle and heartbreak. But it is also filled with many good things and good days that are easily taken for granted. When the sun comes up – we go about our day but when there is a chance of rain or clouds roll in or even raindrops are already falling that is when we take notice. When we are inconvenienced, uncomfortable or discontent – we question the Goodness of God and His Amazing Love. I want to live each day confident that I will see His Goodness in the land I am living, this life, right here and right now. I want to be sure enough to wait for it. Believe it so much that I will not move from this place until it happens.

Psalm 23:6 (NLT)

Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever.

 

Several years ago, I was walking with our youngest child to get her sister from school. We took our dog along with the foster dog we were caring for with us. All was quiet as we crossed the road in our neighborhood heading for the crosswalk meeting up with another neighbor. As we were walking something inside me said, “Turn around.” It was a clear voice and directive that could not be ignored so I did. Just in time to see a silent stalker coming right at us in the form of a large German shepherd stealthily approaching out of nowhere heading straight for my daughter and dogs. It didn’t make a sound but something told me to look just in time to snatch my daughter and one of the dogs to safety. I was able to wrestle it off the other little dog as my neighbor pulled the others to safety. I believe that was the Holy Spirit who goes with me. He saw the danger that I did not see. Who knows what would have happened had the dog decided on my child rather than smaller dog? God is good. In every situation and every day, He prepares everything we need to make it through the day safely and successfully. Could it be that when we hear His Voice that we do not take notice and miss out on what He is doing in us and through us? I think this is exactly what happens.

His Goodness and Unfailing Love are pursing us all the days of our life. To pursue is to follow with intent to overtake. God strives to get His Goodness and Love to us every day, but note that He must “pursue” us which implies that we are the one’s going in the wrong direction. We can have all that God offers under the label of His Goodness. It is right there chasing after us. We just have to turnaround. Change our perspective. Mature enough to wait for it rather than running off in another direction. To live in the Presence of God allows us to experience His Goodness and Love every day we live on the earth. It is a promise.

Psalm 145:7 (NLT)

Everyone will share the story of your wonderful goodness; they will sing with joy about your righteousness.

 

God’s Goodness is for all of His Children. You have been given the opportunity to share the story of His Wonderful Goodness. When I read this verse in Psalm 145, I couldn’t stop right here but kept going on and one.

Psalm 145:8-12 (NLT)

The Lord is merciful and compassionate, slow to get angry and filled with unfailing love. The Lord is good to everyone. He showers compassion on all his creation. All of your works will thank you, Lord, and your faithful followers will praise you. They will speak of the glory of your kingdom; they will give examples of your power. They will tell about your mighty deeds and about the majesty and glory of your reign.

 

God’s Goodness is not reliant on faith or confident hope. Our salvation requires such a thing. We must have these qualities to please God. But God’s Goodness is solely reliant on His Grace. Grace is an expression of the merciful and compassionate nature that God has. He loves His Children even in our mess and does good things for us constantly without fail. Stop for a minute and let that soak in. No matter whether you know God or not. No matter if you have accepted Jesus as your Savior or not. No matter if you are doing everything the Bible tells us to do and the church adds to it, it doesn’t influence God’s Goodness. His Goodness is 100% released by His Grace. (Sigh) Oh my His Goodness is overwhelming as the thought occurs to me that God decided to be good to me and has been doing it ever since in spite of me! The ones who brag about it are those who follow the Lord only because they are more aware of His Goodness and choose to walk in it intentionally. What if the only thing keeping you from more of His Goodness is simple stubbornness? Could it be our pride? If the local ice cream stores are giving away free cones to everyone just for stopping by, why are we complaining that we want ice cream but refuse to go stand in line to get some? Just stop right there, don’t try to rationalize or justify such behavior because now I am quite convinced we all do this every single day when we choose to do things our way rather than chasing after God like the ice cream truck.

Psalm 145:13 (NLT)

For your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom. You rule throughout all generations. The Lord always keeps his promises; He is gracious in all he does.

 

If your mind is not blown by His Grace, how about the fact that His Kingdom is forever. His Goodness for your life is predetermined and measured out. Here goes – you get all of it. He keeps every single promise whether we do what we are supposed to our not. I have a child who accepts our invitation to join us for dinner. So I plan and prepare a meal for this person to enjoy with us and time after time they do not show up. The food is there. The place is set, but they do not arrive or show up much later than dinner time. (Yes, it aggravates me.) I am still mom and will continue to invite, prepare and wait for them. God feels the same way about us. He invites us to walk in His Way and experience His Goodness on every level. We decide whether or not to accept or show up. The Lord always keeps His Promises. He is Gracious (full of grace) in all He does!

Psalm 145:16-19 (NLT)

When you open your hand, you satisfy the hunger and thirst of every living thing. The Lord is righteous in everything he does; He is filled with kindness. The Lord is close to all who call on him, yes, to all who call on him in truth. He grants the desires of those who fear him; He hears their cries for help and rescues them.

 

The Goodness of god is for every living thing. It is not only for those who are believers or call themselves Christians. It is for everyone. God is constantly pouring out His Love, Grace and Mercy in the form of goodness in everyone’s life. As believers, we just know the source of such things. I have seen the Glorious Goodness of God. It is not only in the clearly evident miracles and blessings that we have experienced but in the quiet moment sitting by my child’s bedside as they peacefully sleep and I watch them breathe. It is in the sun that is shining through the window brightening my day. It is in every bill that is paid. It is in the laughter of all the young people taking over my house yet safe from the danger of bad choices their generation engages in. God’s Goodness isn’t just for me. But it is my job to say Oh the Goodness of God to everyone I meet. It is up to me to identify it so I can show others. What better way to introduce them to the one who can satisfy every hunger and thirst, meet every need and do more than we could ever think to ask. God is good! I know it. His Goodness fills my life to overflowing. I need to tell others where my help comes from but I cannot share what I have not experienced effectively. What if the only thing keeping you from His Goodness is you maybe you should move? Turn around? Take a few steps back and reevaluate. Or perhaps just for a moment, just stop and look around. Stop doing. Stop trying to be. Stop chasing other things or just trying to help God out. What will you find? His Goodness will overtake you. It will overwhelm you. Amaze you. Start thanking God for every good thing in your life no matter how small and seemingly insignificant. It will change your life. His Goodness belongs to us today! It is up to us just to take it all in! Our voice declares the Glory of God in thankfulness for His Goodness. It is the message that others want to hear!

Psalm 31:19 (NLT)

How great is the goodness you have stored up for those who fear you. You lavish it on those who come to you for protection, blessing them before the watching world.

Leave a Reply

