My Consent

My Consent

Matthew 18:18 (NLT)

“I tell you the truth, whatever you forbid on earth will be forbidden in heaven, and whatever you permit on earth will be permitted in heaven.”

 

Today I filled out what I believe is my one-millionth permission form for a child in my lifetime. I remember when the older children were younger, a school trip would produce a consent form of no more than a few lines describing the event and you would check yes or no then sign your name. The new “standard” form is ridiculous. I wonder if they read these things before they print them. Working for the school system, I realize that this is a document that has been produced for all campus events and not one specific thing. It is school board approved which means that each institution in the district is required to use it. The legal department has reviewed it and deemed it appropriate coverage in the event of liability. I am almost convinced that they will soon require it for a child to go the restroom during the course of the day. Yes, I give her permission to attend the field trip. (After all I just paid three times the admission price for her to go!) No, I will not hold the school liable in the event of an accident. (Unless gross negligence is the problem, then we will have to have further discussion). Of course, I want you to take her to the nearest physician if she is injured while away. No, I will not give you all my personal health insurance information as it contains my husband’s social security number but obviously since the facility will have something more precious to me than life I will be there to provide the information post haste. I have the right to deny my child to attend any school event by simply withholding my consent. She is not allowed to go without my permission. But if she were to sneak off and go anyway, what then? Besides the obvious ramifications at home, she would become a liability to the school.

“Whatever you forbid on earth will be forbidden in Heaven, and whatever you permit on earth will be permitted in Heaven.” We have been given power and authority over our life. Jesus died to set us free from sin and that freedom wraps itself around our entire life including ever single decision that we make. We choose life or death in each moment, every decision, and breath by breath. Why so dramatic? I don’t know that we are choosing well. I am beginning to believe that rather than evaluating each moment and deciding that what I will forbid or permit in my life – some days I just swing the door wide open. We must choose well to have God’s Very Best in our life. To experience His Glory and Power in the natural – we must first understand how the supernatural works.

Matthew 16:18-19 (NLT)

“Now I say to you that you are Peter (which means ‘rock’), and upon this rock I will build my church, and all the powers of hell will not conquer it.  And I will give you the keys of the Kingdom of Heaven. Whatever you forbid on earth will be forbidden in heaven, and whatever you permit on earth will be permitted in heaven.”

 

The moment that Peter decided who Jesus Christ was in his heart – he was handed the keys to the Kingdom of God. In that moment, that second, without doing a single thing other than confessing with his mouth that which his heart already knew. He had the Power of God placed in human hands. The moment of freedom is huge. It is a monumental step that is not so easy to take. What did you do when Jesus set you free? Did you decide to chase after Him? Or do you use that freedom to do the same things expecting different results? Freedom is a choice. Many who are set free and handed total power over their life are clueless to the value of what they have been given or the vast potential in such a revelation. You are the gatekeeper of your life. You decide what comes in, what goes out and what is allowed to stay. The enemy just wants us to think we do not have any authority in life especially when it comes to him and his assault on our very existence. But when Jesus died and rose again, He took back the keys of life and said, “Here you go! Now do something with them…” What are you giving permission to wreak havoc in your life today? If you are a believer, who truly follows Christ then you have the power and authority to decide what comes and goes from your life! You have it. Now what are you doing with it?

I Corinthians 10:23 (NLT)

You say, “I am allowed to do anything”—but not everything is good for you. You say, “I am allowed to do anything”—but not everything is beneficial.

 

Could it be that some of things lingering in our life even though we have prayed, fasted, repented, and done everything we can think to do remain because we have allowed it? We are allowed to do anything under the measure of mercy and provision of grace that we have been given that includes allowing sin to remain in our life, accepting sickness in our body and relying on weakness as an excuse instead of claiming the Power of God and His Strength working in us. Not everything that I do is good for me. This can be on the outside or the inside. Although I am allowed to do anything, not everything I do is beneficial to my life. When I decide to stop consenting to everything that is not beneficial in my life, things will begin to change. But that requires putting a stop to compromise that offers immediate gratification and ending the substitutions that are taking the place of God’s Best. These means we must persevere, wait and endure until what is best makes it way to us as we release those things clearly not beneficial.

Romans 7:21-25 (NLT)

I have discovered this principle of life—that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. I love God’s law with all my heart. But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death? Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord. So you see how it is: In my mind I really want to obey God’s law, but because of my sinful nature I am a slave to sin.

 

My grandfather and grandmother were two of the greatest people I have ever known who gave themselves unselfishly to my brother and I when we needed them the most. I know that they were just two ordinary people but the impact that they had on others was extraordinary. I remember at my grandmother’s funeral all the wonderful, kind things that the people told me about her. Each one exemplified the Christ in her. She was not always a Christian. In fact, I am quite sure like everyone else she had some dark times and less than stellar moments but by the end of her life the Power of God clearly evident in her life. I want to be like that. If it takes my whole life to win the war against me, I will gladly fight it for others to see Jesus Christ in my life.

People don’t tell new believers watch out you are in for a fight. I guess we think they will just figure it out as we slug our own way through. The struggle is real. It is the toughest battle to overcome. Full acceptance of God’s Power and Authority in our life is reliant on our ability to overcome the power of sin and accept the Grace of God given to us. Jesus is and always will be the right answer. There is no need to add or subtract from His Work on the Cross just merely accept it.

I Corinthians 4:20 (NLT) For the Kingdom of God is not just a lot of talk; it is living by God’s power.

 

If there are things lingering in your life that are clearly not part of God’s Plan, like sickness, disease, poverty, or lack – stop talking about it and do something about it.

Luke 24:49 (NLT)

“And now I will send the Holy Spirit, just as my Father promised. But stay here in the city until the Holy Spirit comes and fills you with power from heaven.”

 

The Holy Spirit is God’s Power in us. Plain and simple. You cannot have the Power of God active in your life unless you acknowledge His Spirit inside of you and work in total cooperation with Him.

Romans 1:16-17 (NLT)

For I am not ashamed of this Good News about Christ. It is the power of God at work, saving everyone who believes—the Jew first and also the Gentile. This Good News tells us how God makes us right in his sight. This is accomplished from start to finish by faith. As the Scriptures say, “It is through faith that a righteous person has life.”

 

True worshippers live in Spirit and in Truth. The Holy Spirit and the Word of God work together in the life of the believer. Both are vitally important to the successful gatekeeping of our life. You must not be ashamed of the Good News about Christ. If you are shy, it is because you have not fully accepted His Power and Authority given by His Spirit and Word to every believer. When you know the Word, you can speak it. Not just to others but over every situation in your life commanding it to line up with God’s Word! The Word of God builds confident hearts by faith. Faith is where we find life. Free life. Our life.

Luke 10:18-20 (NLT)

“Yes,” he told them, “I saw Satan fall from heaven like lightning! Look, I have given you authority over all the power of the enemy, and you can walk among snakes and scorpions and crush them. Nothing will injure you. But don’t rejoice because evil spirits obey you; rejoice because your names are registered in heaven.

 

The word “consent” means to allow to do something; to allow to be done; to tolerate; or to grant permission. I wonder what things we give our consent to every day that we do not want or need in our life but merely accept because we do not understand that Jesus has given us Kingdom Authority over our life. How many times do we try to use and manipulate God’s Power to fulfill our will? These are the times that we ask for something specifically rather than allowing the Will of God to takeover. Then when we are not satisfied – it’s God’s Fault. God wants only the very best for His Children. (That’s you and me!) But He will give us what we ask for in the Name of Freedom. Lord, teach me to choose well today. Show me the things that I should permit in my life and those that should be rejected for good! I want only your best for my life! Help me to choose well and give my consent to live life abundantly in the Power of Your Name!

Psalm 55:22 (NLT)

Give your burdens to the Lord, and he will take care of you. He will not permit the godly to slip and fall.

Leave a Reply

