Get Smart

Get Smart

Proverbs 24:13-14 (NLT)

My child, eat honey, for it is good, and the honeycomb is sweet to the taste. In the same way, wisdom is sweet to your soul. If you find it, you will have a bright future and your hopes will not be cut short.

 

Basking in the sun after days of rain, we walked silently down the street in the quiet of the evening. My wandering mind bouncing around from events of the day to the next thing back to the limbs scattering the road from the horrible storm yesterday. When I first heard their voices, I didn’t think much of it. But as we got closer to the house, it was clear that the two people were in a heated argument. It sounded like an angry parent and distressed teenager locked in battle. It was hard to make out what they were saying but the slap of a hand making contact resonated through the night air. Sobbing, crying and more yelling continued. I wanted to stop but kept going. Should I have stopped? What should I have done in that moment?

I began to pray as I walked for peace in that family clearly having some troubles. I asked for wisdom to take over and let the heat of the moment dissipate. I asked the Holy Spirit to take over. As I continued my heart was heavy. I remember those days when my first three were very young. Our oldest was a wild one. He challenged all boundaries and drove me right to the edge. It brought me back to the time as a single mother smothered in pressure and overwhelmed with responsibility when I would over react to his antics. It all seemed like too much. Well, there went my judgment for the parent locked in battle with their teen. What has changed? Why am I different from that person now? I got smart!

Wisdom is indeed sweet for the soul. When I met Jesus, He changed me from the inside out. Not in second, but over the last sixteen years my life has been a work in progress. I made a decision back then that I wanted to know the Lord. Not like the time I wandered down the aisle when I was eleven seeking a Savior. Or the time I gave my heart and life to Jesus as a teenager, even though that stuck for quite some time. It was after a broken marriage and devastated life that had not ended up at all as I had planned led to complete dissatisfaction and the need for a change. When I met my husband, one of first in depth conversations opened the door to this life that I have now. He said, “I know you can’t tell right now, but if I ever get married God will be the center of my life.” These words changed “my” life forever as I found my partner in the pursuit of Christ. Something in my heart knew that this was the foundation of wisdom that would change everything and it did. Now all these years later as I approach my 49th birthday, I finally am beginning to understand what this thing called wisdom is and just how valuable it has become.

Psalm 51:5-6 (NLT)

For I was born a sinner—yes, from the moment my mother conceived me. But you desire honesty from the womb, teaching me wisdom even there.

 

Wisdom in the womb? How can it be? When a baby is developing inside its mother, its brain is formed and it is the beginning of understanding. The infant is learning to breathe and suck – all those things necessary to live outside of its mother safe haven. God plants Eternity in the human heart so as it forms wisdom is put there that is yet to be discovered. We are born with certain emotions that can only point to knowledge and understanding. Babies are born learning to do knew things. This is why it is so important to not only teach our children certain things but we must live these concepts before them. We cannot shut off tiny brains. They glean more from what you do and say when you don’t think they notice than when we try to show them something directly.

What have you learned lately? I love to learn new things. I learned how to do new things with a table in Word using new buttons that I never tried this week. I cannot tell you the victory I felt in my newly acquired understanding. It allowed me to do some things I could not do before offering shortcuts to finish work more quickly and with an improved product. I like it. I like it a lot. I have a basic understanding of Word and Excel. I use them every single day – literally. One might think that with all my experience that I would know these products inside and out. But that is not the case. I could use the same basic functions over and over still getting the job done. Or I could pursue wisdom and understanding of the many functions that it performs and use them to my advantage. Learning is a lifelong process.

Psalm 90:12 (NLT) Teach us to realize the brevity of life, so that we may grow in wisdom.

 

If you knew today was your last day on earth, what would you do? What might you do differently? Called to my grandfather’s bedside 13 years ago, it was clear that Jesus was coming to take him home. As he laid in the bed out of consciousness, I was taken back by how small and frail this mighty man had become. I took hold of his hand in mind and studied it. I wanted to remember every single thing about it. How it felt in my hand? How it looked? Who he was? What it was like to be with him? I was desperate to make that moment count as it was all there would be until we were together again with Jesus one day. If we truly understood the brevity of life, would it make a difference in how we lived? Of course it would. I had two wonderful grandparents who made it a point to spend countless hours, days and weekends with my brother and I. I remember sitting through long stories that we had heard before thinking I need to be present in this conversation even though I had lost interest in the subject because in my heart I knew they would not be with me forever. We must begin to understand the true value of wisdom now before it is too late.

Proverbs 4:1-4 (NLT)

These are the proverbs of Solomon, David’s son, king of Israel. Their purpose is to teach people wisdom and discipline, to help them understand the insights of the wise. Their purpose is to teach people to live disciplined and successful lives, to help them do what is right, just, and fair. These proverbs will give insight to the simple, knowledge and discernment to the young.

 

Solomon could have asked God for anything and it would have been granted. He asked for wisdom. Isn’t that kind of like asking a genie for three more wishes? I mean if we all got smart about life – we wouldn’t make all the dumb mistakes we make right? Well, kind of. King Solomon was the smartest guy around but was he really the wisest? When it was all said and done, he was smart enough to accumulate vast amounts of wealth and influence but in the end was he happy and content in his life?

My life has changed dramatically since I married my husband. We have raised three children and have two left to go. We have a house that we never thought we could afford. The Lord has blessed us with constant employment and pays ever bill. He has brought us through some rough patches and carried us through our greatest storm. But I can tell you the difference between the wisdom we have and Solomon’s – He is Jesus. When the godly wisdom in the Word of God is coupled with a intimate relationship with Jesus Christ, it changes everything. Did you know that there 31 Proverbs? That’s enough for every single day. I have read the Bible often over the course of my lifetime. Most of the time, I didn’t understand much at all. But now that I am seeking God’s Face and a deeper relationship with His Son, Jesus – it is beginning to make sense as knowledge and understanding is turned into wisdom by the Lord.

Proverbs 3:18-26 (NLT)

Wisdom is a tree of life to those who embrace her; happy are those who hold her tightly. By wisdom the Lord founded the earth; by understanding he created the heavens. By his knowledge the deep fountains of the earth burst forth and the dew settles beneath the night sky. My child, don’t lose sight of common sense and discernment. Hang on to them, for they will refresh your soul. They are like jewels on a necklace. They keep you safe on your way and your feet will not stumble. You can go to bed without fear; you will lie down and sleep soundly. You need not be afraid of sudden disaster or the destruction that comes upon the wicked, for the Lord is your security. He will keep your foot from being caught in a trap.

Jesus Christ cannot be our afterthought but must become our constant choice to be wise. I have tried to make better choices with my life since I have been an adult on my own. Outside of my parents realm of influence, I found this freedom that allowed me to do anything even those things that were not beneficial. I paid the price. I gained experience. But as believers, we do not have to live by trial and error. We do not have to touch every stove to see if it is hot. We do not have to run into every wall before we find the open door. God grants wisdom simply for the asking to those who by faith (in Jesus) seek to understand. Godly discernment is seeing this life through the Eyes, Heart and Mind of Jesus Christ. Wisdom is taking such understanding and knowledge to follow Him.

My heart broke for the family in crisis last night. I have spoken words in haste and anger that can never be taken back. I have done things impulsively that will never go away. I cannot judge anyone for a rash moment or tirade, but I can pray for more wisdom. I can give more of my heart and mind to the Lord so He can fill it with understanding and knowledge that will bring me closer to Him. Faith in Jesus Christ and His Grace is not a Band-Aid but a cure. The Lord doesn’t want cover our sin but do away with it completely so we can live in the Glory of God forever. We just have to get smart! Thankfully, God is a much better parent than I am! Just ask for wisdom, He will deliver!

James 1:5 (NLT)

 If you need wisdom, ask our generous God, and he will give it to you. He will not rebuke you for asking.

Leave a Reply

