Please, Show Me Your Glory

Please Show Me Your Glory

2 Corinthians 5:17 (NKJV)

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.

 

All things have become new. Old things have passed away. I did not remember this verse being quite so definitive but as I read it here – there is no ifs, ands or buts included. All things HAVE become new. Old things HAVE passed away. So why do I feel trapped in the same old same old rut of life rather than experiencing new and exciting things the Lord has promised. Maybe the Lord has given you a glimpse of what He has for you and it simply terrifies you to leave this season and start again. What if you fail? Oh, but what if you fly?

If anyone (that means you and me) is IN Christ, He (or she) IS a new creation. When you acknowledge Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord, you are exchanging your old broken dead life for something brand new. It is like any other gift received. You must use it to appreciate it. All things become new in that moment, but if I don’t rip off the paper, open the box, pull out the parts and actually use what the Lord has blessed me with – it sits uselessly inside of me. A box came for me in the mail yesterday. It has an office desk chair inside. I am doing a great deal of typing and spending longer hours in my home office, so I ordered a more suitable ergonomic chair to replace the hard wooden dining room chair that I have been using. I looked at the box thinking I will put it together tomorrow and chose to spend almost three hours typing the old way. My back is wondering why I didn’t take the time to put the chair together rather than sliding back into the old chair. My heart wants to know why so many times I choose the old way rather than allowing the Lord to do his thing that new thing in my life. Me too, Lord, me too. The moment that I said “Yes!” to Jesus – God released my purpose back to me that sin withheld from me. Now God is doing things behind the scenes even when I am clueless to the process I am in. His Purpose – to get His Glorious Goodness working in my life.

Galatians 6:14-15 (NLT)

As for me, may I never boast about anything except the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ. Because of that cross, my interest in this world has been crucified, and the world’s interest in me has also died. It doesn’t matter whether we have been circumcised or not. What counts is whether we have been transformed into a new creation.

 

The new creation inside of us is often taken for granted but instead we grab hold of God attempting to pull Him into our mess rather than stepping out of our mess into the Glory of God. We want life our way not God’s Way. Like insolent children refusing to move from what could potentially harm us into that which will bless us – we challenge God in the name of faith to change our situation rather than allowing Him to change us. Too many times, we come to the Cross in the best interest of this life rather than surrendering this life for something better. We want God to bless our compromise. We want Him to accept our substitutions. A lack of faith and trust will not allow us to take hold of what the Lord is offering and letting go of the lesser things that fill our hands and time.

2 Corinthians 3:16-18 (NLT)

But whenever someone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away. For the Lord is the Spirit, and wherever the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord. And the Lord—who is the Spirit—makes us more and more like him as we are changed into his glorious image.

 

Let me ask you a question that I had to ask myself recently, “Do you feel free?” Are you free to enjoy your life? Are you experiencing the Glory of God? Do you fell Him in the midst of what you are doing? Where the Spirit of the Lord is there is freedom. Always. When we get bogged down with stress, worry, and anxiety, it is time to look for our freedom again. We may experience pressure. We may have some hardship and even heartbreak but that doesn’t mean we must live bound to these things by tying in emotionally. Faith dissolves into fear that things are never going to change. You begin to shake under the burden and stress of all the pressure in your life. We are to reflect the Glory of God producing the Fruit of His Spirit which are love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, gentleness, faithfulness, and self-control. None of these exhibit fear or worry just confidence in the Lord and all His Ways.

Isaiah 43:6-7 (NLT)

“I will say to the north and south, ‘Bring my sons and daughters back to Israel from the distant corners of the earth. Bring all who claim me as their God, for I have made them for my glory. It was I who created them.’”

 

God created you for His Glory. If you believe in God and call Him Your God, then you will receive His Glory it is part of your creation. He is our Grace and Glory and withholds no good thing from us. (Psalm 84:11) Godliness leads us straight into His Glory which resonates from our life. (Isaiah 58:8) So where is the Glory of God in my life? Why am I not living like a new creation?

Psalm 8:3-8 (NLT)

When I look at the night sky and see the work of your fingers—the moon and the stars you set in place—what are mere mortals that you should think about them, human beings that you should care for them? Yet you made them only a little lower than God   and crowned them with glory and honor. You gave them charge of everything you made, putting all things under their authority—the flocks and the herds and all the wild animals, the birds in the sky, the fish in the sea, and everything that swims the ocean currents. O Lord, our Lord, your majestic name fills the earth!

 

Sometimes we have to stop right where we are and decide who we are! I am a Child of God. If my life doesn’t not resemble it, then it is up to me to adjust my life because the seeds of life are already in me. The Holy Spirit is ready to catapult me into freedom if I am willing to go. If you are not happy, unproductive, depressed, overwhelmed or just plain stuck in a rut – it is up to you (and I) to ask God to show us His Glory in our life again. We are the ones who moved away not Him. He wants to reveal His Goodness and Glory in every facet of our life. It may be time to make a change. Are you willing to do that? You cannot continue to do things the same way but expect different results. That is called insanity. As a new creation, we are constantly changing and developing our new life in Christ. We are a new creation, but it is totally up to us if we live as one. Will I be that new thing? Will I do that new thing? Will I walk in the Glory of God today or settle for something far less? We make this choice in how we live out each day. God created us and gave us dominion over this world. When Christ died, He handed us the keys to His Kingdom and now all of His Power is available to us. To live like it reflects God’s Glory!

Exodus 33:18 (NKJV) And he said, “Please, show me Your glory.”

 

God has big plans for you today. Plans that you cannot even think to ask for. They are good with a future and hope designed with you in mind. Will you experience God’s Glory by living out His Plan for your life… that is completely up to you! Moses asked God to “please, show me Your Glory!” God did just that and passed right before His Servant on the mountain that day. God will pass through your life too if you will only ask. If we spend all our time complaining about our current situation but do nothing to change it – we are not living in His Glory. When we accept that life will never get any better than this – we have stepped out of His Glory and now live according to the world. Faith is essential in allowing God’s Glory to overtake our life. Confident hope keeps us pressing in deeper wanting more of Him. He is faithful and true to always deliver to those who come to Him. A simple prayer releases a command in Heaven on our behalf. For those who want to move from glory to glory in Christ, constant change is inevitable. Don’t run from it but embrace it wholeheartedly. Ask the Lord today. Please, show me Your Glory!” He will…it will be better than you ever imagined.

Isaiah 60:19 (NKJV)

“The sun shall no longer be your light by day, nor for brightness shall the moon give light to you; but the Lord will be to you an everlasting light, and your God your glory.

Leave a Reply

