The Impossible

The Impossible

Luke 1:37 (NLT) The Word of God will never fail.

 

One of my favorite worship songs of all time is called Healer. For those who have never heard it these are the lyrics:

You hold my every moment
You calm my raging seas
You walk with me through fire
And heal all my disease

I trust in You
I trust in You

I believe You’re my Healer
I believe You are all I need
I believe You’re my Portion
I believe You’re more than enough for me
Jesus You’re all I need

My Healer, You’re my Healer

Nothing is impossible for You
Nothing is impossible for You
Nothing is impossible for You
You hold my world in Your hands

Healer – Planetshakers

We sang this simple but powerful song yesterday in our morning worship service. As the praise team began to sing it, my heart swelled in my chest. But it was obvious that to many people around me it was just an old song that they had sung a thousand times before. Nothing is impossible for You. Nothing is impossible for God. Shaken by the reality of faith once more, I began to pray that the Lord by His Spirit would shake off the doubt that has so many people bound up and release new faith to me, as well as those who filled the seats today. The more we sang the words the deeper they penetrated my heart until the only voice I heard singing was my own combined with instant encouragement from the Holy Spirit. Do you believe? Am I that to you today? Do you trust me? I believe…the Lord is my healer. I have seen Him do miraculous things in our life when it comes to our health. I have no doubt that He is our healer. I believe Jesus is all I need. He has filled the void left by others who I once depended on for self-worth, affirmation and love. Now I have the Lord, so I can accept the love of others with al its limitations because He is all I need. I believe that the Lord is my portion. You are the source of all my wants, needs and desires – physically, mentally and spiritually. It has taken me a long time to understand that He has already provided all those things and it is up to me to find them by faith. I believe that God is all that I need. He is more than enough for me. Jesus is all that I need but like most of you – I forget it sometimes in the midst of overbearing and interfering life that demands my time and attention drawing me out of the Presence of God plunging me into the reality of the seen versus the unseen claimed by faith and confident hope. I must remember today as I make my way out of the peaceful quiet of our home into the busy, stressful world that nothing is impossible for you Lord. You hold my entire world in Your Hands. The majors, the minors and everything in between is not only in your hands but being worked together for my good. Your Word will never fail me.

Hebrews 6:17-19 (NLT)

God also bound himself with an oath, so that those who received the promise could be perfectly sure that he would never change his mind. So God has given both his promise and his oath. These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie. Therefore, we who have fled to him for refuge can have great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us. This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls. It leads us through the curtain into God’s inner sanctuary.

 

I have witnessed many times in my walk with Christ that when the world labels things with terminal consequences using words like impossible, forever or never that the Lord takes offense to interference in His Realm. The impossible all comes back to God’s Inability to lie or change His Mind. When the Lord makes a promise, it circulates in the Heavenlies until you and I are willing and ready to receive it. During our son’s third bout of cancer, it was by far the worst attack on his body. Cancerous nodes filled his body from his neck down to his abdomen. Around the third treatment, it was time to do a full scan to see if the treatment was effective. Now the doctor had already declared that our son was in the “realm of hope”, so I knew that God might be up to something at this point. She explained that during this scan they were simply looking to make sure that the cancer had not gotten any worse. If we saw any reduction at all, it would be a resounding victory. I asked her innocently but pointedly, “What if it is gone?” She assured me that it would not be gone and to remain optimistic. I kept pressing her, but what if it is completely gone? She finally after many attempts said, “It is impossible. If it happens, it would be a miracle.” One week later, the PET scan revealed that the cancer was completely gone. She laughed and cried when she told me. This hope that we have is strong and trustworthy but if we do not anchor our souls with it – it does us no good. Nothing is impossible when it comes to God’s Word if you can find it – it is strong enough to hold on to until He comes again. He is my healer. He is our son’s healer. He miraculously healed our youngest daughter of asthma instantly. We know that He is our healer. We can trust Him. Unless we forget…

Zechariah 8:6 (NLT)

This is what the Lord of Heaven’s Armies says: All this may seem impossible to you now, a small remnant of God’s people. But is it impossible for me? says the Lord of Heaven’s Armies.

 

God’s Word will never fail. Once it is released in the atmosphere, it will not return to Him void without effect. It is mandated by God to accomplish all that He released it to do. (Isaiah 55:11) I can only wonder how many promises are circulating in my life that are just waiting for me to trust and believe to receive. What I did not mention before that I will share with you now is that when our son was diagnosed the third time, it caught me completely off guard. There were no signs. There were no symptoms. We were rejoicing in the Goodness of God evident in remission. Even the health care professionals that care for him were absolutely devastated. Their hope took a huge hit. His prognosis plummeted in that third diagnosis in less than two years. But it was in that moment when impossible things began to happen, when we entered that realm called hope. All “this” may seem impossible to you now, BUT is it impossible for me? The Lord is asking us today – do you trust me? Do you believe? Are you willing to put your “whole world” in My Hands? You make the decision to trust the Lord by faith or continue to live life in your own strength. It usually occurs to me when I am worn out, exhausted, and overloaded that maybe just maybe I forget that nothing is impossible for My God.

Luke 18:27 (NLT) He replied, “What is impossible for people is possible with God.”

 

What is impossible for people is possible with God. Read it again. What is impossible for people is possible WITH God. Faith is living in agreement with God’s Word by trusting what we cannot see but know about Him. Nothing is impossible for God. Nothing is impossible for us when we live WITH God. There are many people who think they are living for God by doing what they think the Word is telling them to do, or by the advice of their pastor, or according to the doctrine of a church. But the vivid and stark reality is that until people begin to live in God with a strong connection of faith and trusting the Lord – the impossible will remain just that – impossible.

Genesis 11:5-6 (NLT)

But the Lord came down to look at the city and the tower the people were building. “Look!” he said. “The people are united, and they all speak the same language. After this, nothing they set out to do will be impossible for them!

 

There is a definite power shift in our life when we connect with God through Jesus Christ. It is not enough to live as a bystander of faith and wary of hope. We must grab hold of hope by faith and refuse to let go no matter what. When we don’t see the possibilities of God as a reality in our life, we claim them by faith until they come. Agreement is the secret to our success. The more we align our life with God’s Will, His Plan and His Purpose which are all clarified by His Word and defined in us by His Spirit suddenly the impossibilities become probabilities in our life. Nothing is impossible for the Lord. You can say that and remain hopeless. It is by faith that every impossible becomes possible in our life. When we choose to give our life to follow His Way – we are unto something far greater than we could ever even think or imagine let alone ask for. I have seen it happen with my own eyes.

Matthew 17:19-20 (NLT)

Afterward the disciples asked Jesus privately, “Why couldn’t we cast out that demon?” “You don’t have enough faith,” Jesus told them. “I tell you the truth, if you had faith even as small as a mustard seed, you could say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it would move. Nothing would be impossible.”

When the disciples could not cast out the demon, they went to Jesus. Something wasn’t working like He said and they wanted to know what it was. Jesus responded, “You don’t have enough faith.” Human nature has issues with trust. It is a battle to be fought day by day. When faced with uncertainty and impossibility it challenges our belief system. Our flesh is desperate to end our pursuit of Christ as it means the death of me. There is nothing beneficial to my flesh in my connection to Christ so it works to end it. When God’s Word is not working as it should be, it is never a God problem but a “me” issue. I have somehow disconnected from faith, hope and trust in the Lord. I must reestablish agreement and alignment with God’s Word, Will and Way which is always surrender. I am weak. I will never be strong enough to survive this life without Jesus. He is my everything – the One thing that I cannot do without. I know that but sometimes forget alone the way. Today I am reminded that God’s Word never fails me. I must remain connected by faith and confident hope which is how I believe. By believing, nothing is impossible for me anymore.

Hebrews 11:6 (NLT)

And it is impossible to please God without faith. Anyone who wants to come to him must believe that God exists and that he rewards those who sincerely seek him.

Leave a Reply

