Fill Us Up – A Devotion

Fill Us Up

Romans 15:13 (NLT)

I pray that God, the source of hope, will fill you completely with joy and peace because you trust in him. Then you will overflow with confident hope through the power of the Holy Spirit.

 

Our daughter first heard the strange noise when she took the dogs outside one last time for the night though we didn’t think much of it at the time. But while brushing my teeth the loud sound could not be denied and it was coming from the pool pump next to the house, so my husband went to investigate further. He had cleaned the filter earlier but as he was putting it all back together the sky fell through leaving him in a torrential downpour. Seeking shelter inside it was not evident there was a problem until the automatic timer switched on the pump hours later. The valve on top of the filter was not secure so it became spraying water out rather than recycling it through. The water level in the pool began to drop to a dangerously low level which thankfully my husband caught right in the nick of time. Isn’t that how the Lord works in our life as His Beloved? I can think of so many times that something inside us moved or time aligned perfectly to avoid complete disaster and make every work out for our good just as the Word of God says! I believe that this is a direct result of biblical obedience as tithers but that is another message for another day.

 

The pool pump draws water from the pool filters it sending it back into the pool. It is a simple filtration system. The only thing it needs is water. However, without water it would cause the pump to overheat and burn out. There are only two options here. No, this is not about our pool or how it works or how much work owning one can be – this is about when we forget to shut off the valve and allow our water to run dry. It is about us. See the Lord speaks to us any way possible. He is all things and in all things if we will just open our spiritual eyes rather than looking at everything naturally. This world is a rotten, stinking place filled with horrible news, unfavorable endings, devastation, perversion and no love. We are in this world but do not have to be of this world. When we begin to feel dry and thirsty despite doing what we know to do as believers, it is time to investigate further as my husband did last night. He found the problem and fixed it. But that’s not enough either, today he drug the hose around the house (God bless him) and stuck it in the pool to fill it up again. It is not enough to fix ourselves but we gotta let the Lord fill us back up! We were not created to operate in lacks and deficits but overflowing abundance.

 

Psalm 107:6-9 (NLT)

Lord, help!” they cried in their trouble and he rescued them from their distress. He led them straight to safety, to a city where they could live. Let them praise the Lord for his great love and for the wonderful things he has done for them. For he satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things.”

 

What if I can’t find my problem or fix it? You don’t have to. Can you say “Lord, help!” These two words can change your entire life. To be completely honest, the pool is my husband’s business. I don’t do much to care for it other than occasionally go to the pool store to pick up supplies or have the water tested. He does all the maintenance for it. I didn’t have a clue what the problem was or how to fix it. So when I heard it making a horrible noise I said, “Honey, help!” He heard it and came to my rescue. This is all we need to do to get the help we need to overcome whatever is keeping us from being filled to overflowing with all the wonderful fruits of God’s Spirit including love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, gentleness, faithfulness, goodness, and self-control. Who better to find and fix us than our Creator? The Lord wants to satisfy our thirst and fill our hunger with good things. At no point in time do we ever outgrow or mature past our need for Jesus as Savior and Lord so stop beating yourself up when you make a mistake, do not feel happy all the time or make a bad choice. It is all working together for those who love Him. (Romans 8:28)

 

Romans 7:21-25 (NLT)

I have discovered this principle of life—that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. I love God’s law with all my heart. But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death? Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord. So you see how it is: In my mind I really want to obey God’s law, but because of my sinful nature I am a slave to sin.

 

The struggle is real. Let me say that again – the struggle is real. I don’t care how put together the person sitting next to you in church looks or how much they proclaim their faith on Facebook. They are having the same struggles in life that you are. The only difference is that they may be handling it differently. Rather than trying to fix it themselves or pretend everything is alright, they may actually be consulting the professional people fixer – Jesus Christ. There are only two kinds of Christians in this world – faithful ones or fake ones. The only way that the Power of God is possible in our life is by faith. So you decide who you want to be. Being real does not mean telling everyone your struggles or living on full display all the time, it means that you live transparently, candidly and intimately with God the Father through Jesus Christ. It is a willingness to live by His Spirit and constantly battle your own flesh. No one has this thing all figured out but Jesus. He is the ONLY ONE who can complete the good work begun by faith. The Lord knows you want Him and need Him. He hears you crying out to Him. He is not made at you because you may have blown it…again. His Grace is more than enough. His Blood covered it ALL. He will never leave you or forsake you. Now that you are at the end of yourself and feel empty and exposed, ask Jesus to fill you up again. Yes, you have that right to go back for more continually and on a daily basis. Why else would His Mercy be knew each day? (Lamentations 3:22-23) The Word of God makes provisions when “me” wins over “Thee”. He knows that I am not perfect. He knows that my flesh is constantly trying to trip me up. The Spirit of God is constantly flowing – we just need to be a willing and open vessel.

 

John 17:12-15 (NLT)

During my time here, I protected them by the power of the name you gave me. I guarded them so that not one was lost, except the one headed for destruction, as the Scriptures foretold. Now I am coming to you. I told them many things while I was with them in this world so they would be filled with my joy. I have given them your word. And the world hates them because they do not belong to the world, just as I do not belong to the world. I’m not asking you to take them out of the world, but to keep them safe from the evil one.

 

Jesus knew before He even went to the Cross that there would be days like this. Days when we forget to “tighten the value” on our heart and allow some of His Power to leak out. He knew that we would need His Spirit to constantly refill us and revive us again. He gave this to us willingly and unselfishly. The only way that things do not work out for the best and our good is if we allow the dryness to become deadness. You don’t have to live like that. Just keep pumping God’s Word into your life. It feeds your soul. Just keep praying in the Spirit, He will water your soul. Just do good and trust the Lord. Not to sound cliché but “let go and let God today!” We work so hard trying to fix us that we burn out. We try so hard to be someone who we are not that we forget that He knows us best. We are in this world not of it. The more of our life invested in Christ the less the things around us make sense. We cannot survive as Children of God without a constant connection to the Kingdom of God. Check your connection today. Make sure that every facet of your life is surrendered to Jesus Christ. Jesus is constantly interceding before God for us. He is working with us. He is always helping us even when we try to help ourselves. Be filled with God’s Love today. Don’t do anything just let Him fill you with water that never runs dry. He loves you. He died for you. The Lord will help you even when you cannot help yourself!

 

Ephesians 1:22-23 (NLT)

God has put all things under the authority of Christ and has made him head over all things for the benefit of the church. And the church is his body; it is made full and complete by Christ, who fills all things everywhere with himself.

Leave a Reply

