Just to Know – A Devotion

Young man reading small Bible

Psalm 46:10-11 (NLT)

“Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world. The Lord of Heaven’s Armies is here among us; the God of Israel is our fortress.”

 

Just to know that He is God is more important and relevant than I could ever explain to another human being. Just to know enough about the God we serve and His Son who saves is more than enough to see us through any and every situation presented with in this world. God is not only God above us but He is God among us. Yesterday will go down in history as one of the hardest days of my entire life. There have been more than a few of them over the past years and they are definitely taking a toll on my humanity. As we finished loading the moving truck, it hit me hard that my beautiful daughter was moving far, far away. Segments of our life would now have to be shared long distance via text, phone calls, and video chat. I would have to make it on the visits that we can manage back and forth with her new home more than 20 hours from us. I didn’t want to break down in front of her or the rest of our family. I couldn’t help it and even now the next morning know that I could cry instantly if not mustering every ounce of self-control. Why is this so hard? I have no idea. They are off to pursue Jesus and tell others about Christ – their mission clearly from God. They have a good marriage blessed to be best friends. Yet as they put the final few items in the truck slamming down the door, the latch was like a dagger through my heart. The pain not like physical injury but I could feel the emotional devastation. She was leaving. This seems to be more than I can bear. As I pray for God’s Peace and Joy the fruit of His Spirit that lives in me, I am comforted by one thing today. I know God. I know the Lord. I have a foundation of wisdom and knowledge that produces an understanding when my physical being cannot fathom the sense of all these details called life. I just know.

Isaiah 11:2 (NLT)
And the Spirit of the
 Lord will rest on him—the Spirit of wisdom and  understanding, the Spirit of counsel and might, the Spirit of knowledge and the fear of the Lord.

 

When Isaiah was prophesying about Jesus, he said that “the Spirit of the Lord would rest on him” along with the Spirit of Wisdom, Understanding, Counsel, Might, and Knowledge. All of these would be considered the “mind of Christ”. Why would they “rest” on Him? When Jesus came to this earth, He was wrapped in flesh (humanity). He was a real man. So this Sprit would be His Helper through the struggles of life and enable Him to live apart from sin. The Spirit of God is a powerful force that enables us to live a godly and holy life despite our innate sinful condition. Ignorant Christianity leads nowhere but back into the same pattern of sin and darkness. You cannot fly blind by faith. Your human psyche will not allow it. At some point, you will begin to have questions at least if you are after authentic and genuine faith because the things of this world and God’s Kingdom do not line up. We have all the Spirit of the Lord to renew our mind day by day. You have been given this same spirit.

Joel 2:28-29 (NLT)

“Then, after doing all those things, I will pour out my Spirit upon all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy. Your old men will dream dreams, and your young men will see visions. In those days I will pour out my Spirit even on servants—men and women alike.”

 

After doing all those things, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. This includes everyone who wants God in them and accepts Christ as Lord and Savior of their life. His Spirit is not a silent partner but the very avenue that leads to “Wisdom, Understanding, Counsel, Might, and Knowledge.” There are many benefits to having God’s Spirit alive and well in us. He is cultivating the fruit that will satisfy our soul. He also is giving us insight to Heaven that is impossible apart from Him. He speaks to us in dreams and visions. He comforts our heart in prayer. He gives us understanding that this world cannot provide. We need this divine impartation to make it through the hardships of this life that don’t make sense or break our heart. Just to know that God is in us help us keep going until the fruit of His Spirit is harvested in our life.

John 8:26-27 (NLT)

But when the Father sends the Advocate as my representative—that is, the Holy Spirit—he will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you. I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid. 

 

I don’t really know why God decided to send my daughter and son-in-love all the way to snowy New Hampshire from sunny Florida. I have no clue what His Plan is for the future. I cannot tell you if and when they are coming back home. There are so many things that I do not understand all the “whys” about. Jesus promised when He went to be with God the Father that He would send me His Spirit. His Spirit is the Gift that offers me peace of mind and heart. He reminds me of everything that the Lord has promised me and all the things He told me would help me obtain these blessings and prosper from my soul to every aspect of my life. Although it feels as though the hits keep on coming, deep down past my emotions and beyond my broken heart – just to know that He has a plan with a future and hope that takes every detail of my life working it together for my good makes a difference. It is the anchor of hope that I hold on to by faith. With so much invested, I dare not let go. I must strive only to know!

Philippians 4:6-7 (NLT)

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

It is really hard to share with someone else peace that exceeds my understanding. I wish I could crack open my heart and mind just to show you what I mean. Only the Lord can express such things to us, understanding is an impartation of intimacy of God. You know as the mom in this family I know that there are times when my children are uncertain and look at me for guidance. When my son was diagnosed with cancer, they would ask if he would be okay. I could only tell them what the Lord told me, “He will live and not die.” They would press and ask but how do you know that he will live. My only response was because God said it. But if I had told them that but my attitude did not relay the same message along with my actions they would not believe me. So when I told them that I had to believe it enough to live like it. If I was constantly crying and complaining with words of fear and doubt, they would have panicked and followed suit. I share this to say that the knowledge of God and understanding that He gives must be consistent with our attitude and actions to make a difference in this world. When you know, you know. Do I worry? Yes, but I do not allow myself to get lost in that place. These are the times that we press in and pray. When I am unsure of what the Lord says about the outcome, I dive deeper in the Word to confirm it in my heart and empower my spirit man in the death of my flesh. You have to know the Lord. Intimacy is required. Conversations a must. Spending time in His Word to know His Identity and Integrity will change your heart and mind as trust unfolds into obedience. Peace is the guard of the heart fully determined to trust the Lord in every situation of life.

John 14:23-27 (NLT)

Jesus replied, “All who love me will do what I say. My Father will love them, and we will come and make our home with each of them. Anyone who doesn’t love me will not obey me. And remember, my words are not my own. What I am telling you is from the Father who sent me. I am telling you these things now while I am still with you. But when the Father sends the Advocate as my representative—that is, the Holy Spirit—he will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you. I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.”

Just to know Him today is enough to soothe my aching heart. I love the Lord. I know that He loves me and is working His Goodness through every detail of my life even those hard things that pose a challenge to my flesh. Things are changing for the better not because I see it all around me but because I know what He has said. My heart is holding tight to the Promises of God while His Spirit cultivates these things in my life. Yes, I am sad. Yes, I am devastated. Yes, I miss them already. Yes, I will probably cry a few more times to get it out of my system. Yes, I will trust the Lord. Yes, I will believe that every detail is for our own good and the good that is coming. Yes, I have peace. Yes, it will turn to joy. The Lord is with me today catching every tear in a bottle and recording the sorrow that I feel. His Purpose is to turn them into a blessing too big for my life to contain. I know that. So today, just to know Him will be enough to get me to tomorrow.

John 14:1 (NLT) “Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in

Psalm 46:10-11 (NLT)

“Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world. The Lord of Heaven’s Armies is here among us; the God of Israel is our fortress.”

 

Just to know that He is God is more important and relevant than I could ever explain to another human being. Just to know enough about the God we serve and His Son who saves is more than enough to see us through any and every situation presented with in this world. God is not only God above us but He is God among us. Yesterday will go down in history as one of the hardest days of my entire life. There have been more than a few of them over the past years and they are definitely taking a toll on my humanity. As we finished loading the moving truck, it hit me hard that my beautiful daughter was moving far, far away. Segments of our life would now have to be shared long distance via text, phone calls, and video chat. I would have to make it on the visits that we can manage back and forth with her new home more than 20 hours from us. I didn’t want to break down in front of her or the rest of our family. I couldn’t help it and even now the next morning know that I could cry instantly if not mustering every ounce of self-control. Why is this so hard? I have no idea. They are off to pursue Jesus and tell others about Christ – their mission clearly from God. They have a good marriage blessed to be best friends. Yet as they put the final few items in the truck slamming down the door, the latch was like a dagger through my heart. The pain not like physical injury but I could feel the emotional devastation. She was leaving. This seems to be more than I can bear. As I pray for God’s Peace and Joy the fruit of His Spirit that lives in me, I am comforted by one thing today. I know God. I know the Lord. I have a foundation of wisdom and knowledge that produces an understanding when my physical being cannot fathom the sense of all these details called life. I just know.

Isaiah 11:2 (NLT)
And the Spirit of the
 Lord will rest on him—the Spirit of wisdom and  understanding, the Spirit of counsel and might, the Spirit of knowledge and the fear of the Lord.

 

When Isaiah was prophesying about Jesus, he said that “the Spirit of the Lord would rest on him” along with the Spirit of Wisdom, Understanding, Counsel, Might, and Knowledge. All of these would be considered the “mind of Christ”. Why would they “rest” on Him? When Jesus came to this earth, He was wrapped in flesh (humanity). He was a real man. So this Sprit would be His Helper through the struggles of life and enable Him to live apart from sin. The Spirit of God is a powerful force that enables us to live a godly and holy life despite our innate sinful condition. Ignorant Christianity leads nowhere but back into the same pattern of sin and darkness. You cannot fly blind by faith. Your human psyche will not allow it. At some point, you will begin to have questions at least if you are after authentic and genuine faith because the things of this world and God’s Kingdom do not line up. We have all the Spirit of the Lord to renew our mind day by day. You have been given this same spirit.

Joel 2:28-29 (NLT)

“Then, after doing all those things, I will pour out my Spirit upon all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy. Your old men will dream dreams, and your young men will see visions. In those days I will pour out my Spirit even on servants—men and women alike.”

 

After doing all those things, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. This includes everyone who wants God in them and accepts Christ as Lord and Savior of their life. His Spirit is not a silent partner but the very avenue that leads to “Wisdom, Understanding, Counsel, Might, and Knowledge.” There are many benefits to having God’s Spirit alive and well in us. He is cultivating the fruit that will satisfy our soul. He also is giving us insight to Heaven that is impossible apart from Him. He speaks to us in dreams and visions. He comforts our heart in prayer. He gives us understanding that this world cannot provide. We need this divine impartation to make it through the hardships of this life that don’t make sense or break our heart. Just to know that God is in us help us keep going until the fruit of His Spirit is harvested in our life.

John 8:26-27 (NLT)

But when the Father sends the Advocate as my representative—that is, the Holy Spirit—he will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you. I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid. 

 

I don’t really know why God decided to send my daughter and son-in-love all the way to snowy New Hampshire from sunny Florida. I have no clue what His Plan is for the future. I cannot tell you if and when they are coming back home. There are so many things that I do not understand all the “whys” about. Jesus promised when He went to be with God the Father that He would send me His Spirit. His Spirit is the Gift that offers me peace of mind and heart. He reminds me of everything that the Lord has promised me and all the things He told me would help me obtain these blessings and prosper from my soul to every aspect of my life. Although it feels as though the hits keep on coming, deep down past my emotions and beyond my broken heart – just to know that He has a plan with a future and hope that takes every detail of my life working it together for my good makes a difference. It is the anchor of hope that I hold on to by faith. With so much invested, I dare not let go. I must strive only to know!

Philippians 4:6-7 (NLT)

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

It is really hard to share with someone else peace that exceeds my understanding. I wish I could crack open my heart and mind just to show you what I mean. Only the Lord can express such things to us, understanding is an impartation of intimacy of God. You know as the mom in this family I know that there are times when my children are uncertain and look at me for guidance. When my son was diagnosed with cancer, they would ask if he would be okay. I could only tell them what the Lord told me, “He will live and not die.” They would press and ask but how do you know that he will live. My only response was because God said it. But if I had told them that but my attitude did not relay the same message along with my actions they would not believe me. So when I told them that I had to believe it enough to live like it. If I was constantly crying and complaining with words of fear and doubt, they would have panicked and followed suit. I share this to say that the knowledge of God and understanding that He gives must be consistent with our attitude and actions to make a difference in this world. When you know, you know. Do I worry? Yes, but I do not allow myself to get lost in that place. These are the times that we press in and pray. When I am unsure of what the Lord says about the outcome, I dive deeper in the Word to confirm it in my heart and empower my spirit man in the death of my flesh. You have to know the Lord. Intimacy is required. Conversations a must. Spending time in His Word to know His Identity and Integrity will change your heart and mind as trust unfolds into obedience. Peace is the guard of the heart fully determined to trust the Lord in every situation of life.

John 14:23-27 (NLT)

Jesus replied, “All who love me will do what I say. My Father will love them, and we will come and make our home with each of them. Anyone who doesn’t love me will not obey me. And remember, my words are not my own. What I am telling you is from the Father who sent me. I am telling you these things now while I am still with you. But when the Father sends the Advocate as my representative—that is, the Holy Spirit—he will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you. I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.”

Just to know Him today is enough to soothe my aching heart. I love the Lord. I know that He loves me and is working His Goodness through every detail of my life even those hard things that pose a challenge to my flesh. Things are changing for the better not because I see it all around me but because I know what He has said. My heart is holding tight to the Promises of God while His Spirit cultivates these things in my life. Yes, I am sad. Yes, I am devastated. Yes, I miss them already. Yes, I will probably cry a few more times to get it out of my system. Yes, I will trust the Lord. Yes, I will believe that every detail is for our own good and the good that is coming. Yes, I have peace. Yes, it will turn to joy. The Lord is with me today catching every tear in a bottle and recording the sorrow that I feel. His Purpose is to turn them into a blessing too big for my life to contain. I know that. So today, just to know Him will be enough to get me to tomorrow.

John 14:1 (NLT) “Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in

Leave a Reply

