Reveal Yourself to Me – A Devotion

Reveal Yourself to Me

Psalm 111:2-4 (NLT)

How amazing are the deeds of the Lord! All who delight in him should ponder them.
Everything he does reveals his glory and majesty. His righteousness never fails. He causes us to remember his wonderful works. How gracious and merciful is our Lord!

 

How could I be so forgetful? Could it be that discontentment and dissatisfaction are bred in this world capturing my thoughts? Perhaps changing my mind? Or is a simple absentmindedness that simply overlooks the obvious Goodness of God in my life to constantly cry out for more? It is a common denominator in the world we live in. The Lord delights in me. He loves to love me. His Unfailing Love and Grace were earmarked just for me. God created me intentionally with a purpose and plan. I am not living a random existence but a life of destiny. I forget that sometimes. Honestly, there are days that I completely overlook such a marvelous revelation. I need to remember. I need to see. The Lord truly does amazing things in my life. He promises me that every single detail of my life will turn out for my good. God collects every single tear I shed and sorrow that pierces my heart. As a believer, one who delights in the Lord, I should ponder, think about or meditate on these things. Everything God is doing in and through me is to reveal His Glory. He never fails. I only do when I fail to see the amazing things that He is doing in my life by faith and hold tight to them by confidently hoping and believing the day will come when I see it all clearly. Today, I ask you Lord to reveal yourself to me.

Judges 6:36-38 (NLT)

Then Gideon said to God, “If you are truly going to use me to rescue Israel as you promised, prove it to me in this way. I will put a wool fleece on the threshing floor tonight. If the fleece is wet with dew in the morning but the ground is dry, then I will know that you are going to help me rescue Israel as you promised.” And that is just what happened. When Gideon got up early the next morning, he squeezed the fleece and wrung out a whole bowlful of water.

 

If I had a dime for every time someone told me in the last three years that God only gives the toughest battles to His Strongest Warriors, I would be sending this from an exotic location somewhere living off bananas and coconuts. It seems to be the first thing people tell you when they don’t understand what you are going through or how you are making it through alive. When going through difficult times, I regret to inform you that this is not a source of comfort and there are many days that I want to yell back, “I don’t want to be the strong one.” The reality is that I am not the strong one. The Lord is my strength. He is the One who holds me up as I endure the heartache and trauma that has been inflicted through these tough times. If you are going through a battle in your life and facing hardship, you are not supposed to be the strongest warrior. Greater is He living inside of you than he that is in the world. You have to find your source of strength.

The angel of the Lord came to Gideon who was simply doing his daily chore in the threshing room. The man was minding his own business. He didn’t set out to be an Old Testament hero to encourage others for generations to trust and serve the Lord. The angel of the Lord told Gideon that he was in fact God’s Warrior for this battle in Israel. But when Gideon got up that morning, he put on his pants (or tunic) just like every other guy headed off to work. He probably kissed his wife, fussed at his children and patted the dog on the head on his way out the door. Maybe he grumbled a little making his way to the threshing floor, God thank you for your provision but there has to be more to my life than this. In his commentary, he was looking for a little something extra but God planned for this man to be extraordinary. So when his mission became too unbelievable, Gideon asked God for a sign. Actually, more than one time if you read all of Judges 6. It is okay to ask God to reveal Himself to you. In fact, I believe that He encourages us to do so when He says taste and see or test me. God is not afraid of your inspection of His Character, Integrity or Goodness. It will always meet or exceed your expectation of Him. While I thank others for their encouragement and support in tough times, it doesn’t matter how they see me or what they tell me. The most important detail that I must know is that God is with me. Did Gideon have to do what the Lord told him to do? Of course not, we have a free will. But Gideon loved God and was committed to Him in a way long since lost on the church of today – He was compelled to follow the Lord no matter what. He just had to overcome his doubt to do it.

Matthew 16:15-19 (NLT)

Then he asked them, “But who do you say I am?” Simon Peter answered, “You are the Messiah, the Son of the living God.” Jesus replied, “You are blessed, Simon son of John, because my Father in heaven has revealed this to you. You did not learn this from any human being. Now I say to you that you are Peter (which means ‘rock’), and upon this rock I will build my church, and all the powers of hell will not conquer it. And I will give you the keys of the Kingdom of Heaven. Whatever you forbid on earth will be forbidden in heaven, and whatever you permit on earth will be permitted in heaven.”

Who do you say that I am? This is the most pressing question in the life of any believer. God wants to know who YOU think He is. Do you know? Do you believe? Knowing is believing. I can tell those who truly believe by what they know to be true. I can tell what people know by what they believe. Simon Peter knew that Jesus was the Son of God or the Messiah. He knew it. He believed it. But notice that in this deep revelation, Jesus said, “Upon this rock, I will build my church.” Why? Why didn’t the Lord say something like “you are my church”? Faith is a building process. We cannot grab hold of the enormity of the revelation of Jesus Christ in one captivating minute. He is revealed from glory to glory in our life because the truth is that we cannot handle the full truth about the Lord.

I love the song by Chris Tomlin called “Lay Me Down.” I was listening to it last night at the gym. My soul cried out to the Lord in worship. Then my brain kicked in as I began to think about when I first gave my heart and life to Jesus Christ, I believed I would do anything to lay my life down. But would I have been that zealous if I could see far into the future when our son went to fight for his country wrapping my heart around the world or what about when our younger son was diagnosed with cancer or when he was diagnosed four more times even after rejoicing in his first healing. Would I still give the Lord my life if I could see all the battles that would be fought to keep my faith and confident hope alive? The only way that we survive such encounters is to know for ourselves who Jesus Christ is and believe with our heart. We must begin before the battle to be carried through it. There is comfort in knowing that the Lord sees our process. He knows that the laying down of our life will not only require some life lessons but a whole lot of grace while we explore the character, faithfulness and perfection of our Lord and Savior. The benefit always outweighs the risk because those who discover Him will have the keys to the Kingdom of Heaven and all His Power that goes with them.

Romans 8:16-19 (NLT)

For his Spirit joins with our spirit to affirm that we are God’s children. And since we are his children, we are his heirs. In fact, together with Christ we are heirs of God’s glory. But if we are to share his glory, we must also share his suffering. Yet what we suffer now is nothing compared to the glory he will reveal to us later. For all creation is waiting eagerly for that future day when God will reveal who his children really are. 

 

Recently, my daughter and I filmed a commercial for a local car dealership. The team who were working on it are friends from church. Our church does its announcements via a pre-recorded message. So when my friend asked me to do it, I assumed it would be for use during those announcements to tell about our business partner. I thought it would be used in the announcements and it was only after I got there discovered it was for television. The commercial began airing about two weeks ago and I must say I am amazed. I had no idea so many people watched local television anymore. As an HGTV and Discovery Channel girl, I was caught completely off guard. How do I know this? It seems like everyone and their uncle have seen spot. It’s crazy.

People are watching you. If they know that you are a believer, they are watching even more closely to see if they are missing out on anything. God will shine a spotlight on your life to reflect His Son in you. As a Child of God, you signed up to be part of the Light of the world. Let that sink in. Jesus said, “If I be lifted up, I will draw all men to me.” There will be times in our life when we go through hardship and suffering just like Jesus. These times will evoke a sacrifice of thanksgiving and aroma of praise over our life that is irrefutable as the Power and Presence of God seep out the fragile clay jars of broken hearts. We are heirs with Christ of God’s Glory. God’s Intentions for our life are perfect! They are good. They will always prosper us and promote His Blessing. This doesn’t mean that we will always be comfortable and we must never grow complacent in our Knowledge of Jesus Christ and the Character of God. We must know Him more to have all He promised. God’s Spirit affirms that we are His Children. His Spirit helps us in our weakness. The Lord is our strength. Maybe, like me, you have lost sight of that in the midst of the trial you are facing or the aftermath of suffering? Ask the Lord to reveal His Glory in your life today. He will reaffirm you. He will sustain you. He will strengthen you. The Lord is faithful. He is all we need. Lord, today reveal yourself to me.

I Corinthians 2:9-11 (NLT)

That is what the Scriptures mean when they say, “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love him.”  But it was to us that God revealed these things by his Spirit. For his Spirit searches out everything and shows us God’s deep secrets. No one can know a person’s thoughts except that person’s own spirit, and no one can know God’s thoughts except God’s own Spirit.

 

Leave a Reply

