Coasting – A Devotion

Coasting

Psalm 107:30-31 (NLT)

What a blessing was that stillness as he brought them safely into harbor! Let them praise the Lord for his great love and for the wonderful things he has done for them.

 

The picture in my head is vivid. I am pedaling, pedaling and pedaling some more. I cannot see the destination but I know that I must get there. All I see are my feet circling the pedals with my head down as the road passes beneath me. I do not look to the right or the left. In fact, sometimes I even close my eyes trying to escape the circumstances of this day to see the place where He is. That secret place and quiet place that offers the peace and joy that I am after. My legs are tired beginning to shake. My arms ache and palms sweat from gripping the handlebars just trying to hang on. It is not clear if I am being chased or pursing something myself. All I know is that I have to stop pedaling quite certain my legs are about to fall off. I will myself to keep going. It works most of the time. At the end of my humanity and on the verge of a meltdown, it happens. I stop exerting any energy at all. But something happens, as I lift up my head and dare to look around. The wind blows the sweat and tears from my face and I am still moving. I haven’t stopped at all. I am coasting along and it’s okay. I didn’t fall over but just kept going. My acquired momentum called faith is caring me through those times that the human being is completely give out. What a blessing to know that when I am out of strength, the will to keep going and about to give up that God sees me in this place of brokenness and weariness in well-doing taking hold of me by His Grace, Mercy and Love that I had rejected to do things myself and He still chooses to bring me into the stillness of His Presence and safely into harbor once more.

Philippians 4:6-8 (NLT)

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.

 

How can I not worry about anything? Surely the Lord knows the details of my life. How is it possible not to worry sometimes? Don’t worry about anything is a clear cut directive that cuts straight to the heart. But I cannot see as far as God does. I do not always know His Plan or His Will. I know what His Word says yet I find something new each day when I dare to take another look. This life is not long enough nor is my brain big enough to ever comprehend all that the Lord doing from beginning to end. I am only human. Pray about everything. Everything? Surely the God of the Universe has more important things to do than listen to me whine and complain about my life 24/7. Tell God what I need – I thought that He already knows. Thank the Lord for all He’s done – but what if I can’t see the results yet? I am beginning to see more and more in my own life that God is more interested in my undoing than what I am doing.

The less I know the more I want to know Him. The less I can do the more I need Him. I had to come to the end of myself to discover my total and absolute need for Jesus Christ. It has taken a lot to get me here. I don’t even like this place most days. But I am discovering a treasure that I cannot live without. I am slowly but surely discovering a peace that passes all understanding not dependent on anything I can do but everything that I cannot do. It is this peace that will guard my heart and mind as I live for Christ so that I don’t have to “do” everything and can allow the Lord to “do” new things in me. I must fix my thoughts. This begins by taking every worry and care investing it in my prayers. How do I do it? Where do I begin? Do it now. Begin today. Simply take every thought contrary to God’s Word, Will and Way for your life and wrap it up in a request to the Lord rather than releasing it as a gripe or complaint. This turns excuses into expectation.

Matthew 6:31-33 (NLT)

 So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.

 

Worry cannot add a single moment to our life actually stealing precious time better spent on other things. (Matthew 6:27) Constant worry and anxiety tells your problem that it has more power than God at least in our heart and mind. It destroys peace. It represents an absence of faith. (Matthew 6:30) God has demonstrated throughout the earth and in the sacrifice of His Son, Jesus that He is more than willing and able to care for His Children. Yet we choose to believe that at some point God the Father lacks in His Ability. This is human error corrected only by the acquisition of faith. Faith gives our spirit momentum while it secures our heart and mind peacefully in our salvation. It is by grace that we are saved and nothing that we can or will ever do. (Ephesians 2:8) One of the biggest lies that the enemy ever has told is that there is something we can do that leads to right standing with God. The only thing that I can do to secure my salvation is to believe. This is the hardest task ever set before a human being. We are not trusting creatures. Suspect of everything thanks to the world that we grow up in. The Lord says that worry and anxiety dominate the thoughts of unbelievers. I don’t want to be an unbeliever. I want to believe. As the father pleaded with the Lord, “Help my unbelief”. This changes our if God can or if it’s His Will to God is able and yes, He is willing to do all that He promised if I will only believe.

Seek first the Kingdom of God. Live righteously. He will give you everything you need. How do we go a place we cannot see? The Lord will lead you there. How do I live righteously without doing anything? By His Grace and Mercy that is new every single day. (Lamentations 3:22-23) He will give me everything that I need when I turn my life over to the Lord day by day, minute by minute and breath by breath allowing Him to work my faith through my life to produce more hope which anchors my soul as He leads me to that place called safe harbor. All I have to do is believe and coast while He works every detail of my life for good. This is hard when all I want to do is keep pedaling.

Hebrews 6:17-19 (NLT)

God also bound himself with an oath, so that those who received the promise could be perfectly sure that he would never change his mind. So God has given both his promise and his oath. These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie. Therefore, we who have fled to him for refuge can have great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us. This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls. It leads us through the curtain into God’s inner sanctuary.

 

I have a tattoo on my right wrist. I am not sure what led to such an endeavor but on the first anniversary of our son’s diagnosis with cancer it felt like the right thing for me to do. It really didn’t matter to me what other people thought especially other so-called Christians because at that moment all I knew was that no matter what at the end of the journey I wanted to have my faith intact. A friend had recently lost her child to cancer and many family members had a ribbon memorial tattooed on their skin. I made up my mind that no matter what happened in this fight that I would hang on to my faith. I found a design called an ambigram. When you look at it from one direction it looks like one thing but when viewed from another perspective it is something else. When I look at the tattoo on my wrist it reads “faith” but when I show you it reads “hope”. My earnest and heartfelt desire through it all was to retain my faith and give hope to others. I share this to say that after getting inked that there were many more challenges to come. There would be days that I would stand in the shower rubbing the mark on my wrist persistently hoping that I could rub it off in frustration and devastation with tears streaming down my face. I do not regret this reminder that I have at all. All that I am sharing with you today is that some days having faith is hard. Hope is difficult to hold on to because it represents everything we cannot see that God is doing in us and through us. God knows us. He made us. On those days when I forget and begin to worry, His Grace is sufficient for me. In that moment when anxiety overtakes me and I cannot breathe, His Unfailing Love surrounds me. His Peace is constantly pursing me along with His Goodness. He wants me to live in the peace and stillness of His Presence so when I need to coast it is the momentum of my faith and hope that allow me to do so without missing out on what God has promised. Why? It is not about me but rather the fact that God has promised me some things. He doesn’t lie and has not changed His Mind. Why would He? He gave His Son Jesus so that I can have every single one in my weak human state. Coasting is allowed. On those days when doing is not working, just pray. Pray about everything. The good things in your life. The not-so-good things that are merely mediocre along with all the bad things that are subject to change. Remind me today Lord that my salvation is completely your doing so there is nothing pressing on my schedule but to believe. You are the one who I have faith in not myself. You hold not only my hope but you hold me while you draw me closer to it. You are the only refuge that I need to survive this life and step into Eternity. Let me embrace my undoing as I learn to do less and be who you called me to be more and more each day.

Psalm 46:10 (NLT)

“Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world.”

Leave a Reply

