Cover Me – A Devotion

Cover Me

Psalm 91:1-4 (NLT)

Those who live in the shelter of the Most High will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty. This I declare about the Lord: He alone is my refuge, my place of safety; He is my God, and I trust him. For He will rescue you from every trap and protect you from deadly disease. He will cover you with his feathers. He will shelter you with his wings. His faithful promises are your armor and protection.

 

Being born and raised in Florida, as well as living here the majority of my life, I do not fare well in the cold. I hate being cold. So last night when the forecast warned of a dip in the temperature in the thirties, it was a call for radical action. Of course the heater was on throughout the house maintaining a comfortable setting in the low seventies. However, drastic times called for drastic measures so I pulled out the fleece pajama pants and long sleeve t-shirt for bed donning socks so every inch was covered and insulted from my neck down. But this may not be enough as the cold crept through the windows around our bed so I pulled out a massive fleece blanket handmade for our son during his treatment. Our kid is hot-natured and doesn’t even believe in wearing long pants unless made to by his overbearing mother. So during his chemotherapy treatments a sheet and light blanket did the trick and he re-gifted this enormous treasure to me. My aunt made it for our son. This might seem like no big deal but in our family this represented an offering of sorts. We have not been close in my lifetime separated by dumb things. When she sent this to him it spoke volumes. Her thoughtfulness and kindness made me forget about the insignificant differences that had separated us. But that is another story for another time. The layers of fleece make this blanket massive. It is both heavy and warm. As I spread it across the bed, then climbed beneath it the weight pressed me into my soft bed. The heat generated by it was delightful. I slept through the night completely untouched by the unseasonably cold night air. I was covered.

When I opened my eyes, I could sense the Presence of the Lord around me. One might say that it was Heaven on earth. But it is only the Holy Spirit who meets me in the morning to talk about things and show me more promises that the Lord has for me. Trust me only the Lord could pull me from such comfort two hours before I needed to be up. The good night sleep and comfortable position made me think of the nights in the hospital with our son. As I ran my fingers along the fringe of the thoughtful gift sent by our loved one, I remembered all the nights that I used it on the hard fold out couch just a few feet from our son. It’s crazy to imagine that even in that place with all the beeping and interruptions that kept me from a good night’s sleep yet still I would awake feeling rested. My covering in this life may be a blanket, my spouse, my family or even my house. But the reality that I have discovered is that the real covering over my life is the Presence of God. By choosing to step in each morning, and live there throughout the day, I am protected from the things that produce fear, anxiety and worry to live in the peace and joy of God in the midst of any storm or volatile shaking. I used to worry that people might not understand my newfound connection with Jesus through this journey called life. I trust the Lord. He is my refuge. His Faithful Promises are that which protect and deliver me in this life to live in the everlasting where He is. Not just forever, but beginning with today.

Psalm 37:5-6 (NLT)

Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him, and he will help you. He will make your innocence radiate like the dawn, and the justice of your cause will shine like the noonday sun.

The Lord will not make us accept this covering. He will not force His Love or Promises into our life but waits for us to accept them. We do this when we trust Him. Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust Him. He will help you. He will make your innocence radiate like the dawn. Stop right there for a moment. If I go and pull a blanket out of the closet, it will be cold material. A blanket becomes warm as it radiates body heat. So when we cover up in it, our natural body temperature is reflected by the covering. When we decide to live in the cover of God’s Presence, the intensity and passion that we have for Jesus begins to radiate in our life. It is in this place that we discover the potential of our faith and fulfillment of our confident hope that we have in the Lord. As we begin to live committed to Christ, our purpose connects with God’s Power and we now experience the Promise of Psalm 91 for those who live in the Shelter of the Most High God!

2 Corinthians 3:17-18 (NLT)

For the Lord is the Spirit, and wherever the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord. And the Lord—who is the Spirit—makes us more and more like him as we are changed into his glorious image.

My husband asked me this morning as I remained cocooned in our bed, “Are you getting up today?” I laughed as I wondered what my coworkers would think if I came to work wrapped in this blanket or what would my boss say if I called in because I was being held hostage by my bed. Removing the covers met me instantly with the coldness of the morning. It is important to spend time in the Presence of the Lord each day. I cannot begin to tell you the blessing and benefit found in Bible study, reflection, meditation and prayer each day. It is up to you to experience for yourself. If I tried to survive on worship twice a week in services, I would have died inside a long time ago. But when I get up from that place, I must do into the world. However, what I have discovered that as I seek the Lord each morning. I get to know Him more. As I go through my day, it becomes evident that He did not send me on my way but lives in me. His Presence goes with me each step in every minute of the day.

The Spirit of God lives inside of us. We have potential to live in the covering of God’s Love and Protection each day. Have you ever woke up at night and realized that you kicked off the covers and now you are freezing? What do you do? Well, a sensible person is going to pull the covers back up and get warm. You didn’t mean to do it. It just happened while you were sleeping or unaware. Let that marinate for a minute. Each day as a believer we are given the opportunity to live in God’s Power and His Presence. It is not a long journey or hard to find. It just takes a little effort. The kind of effort that turns off the television, gets offline, or wakes up a little earlier to reconnect with the Lord. It took all of five minutes to position the huge fleece blanket over a bed but it gave us a full night of comfort and warmth.

Ephesians 5:13-20 (NLT)

But their evil intentions will be exposed when the light shines on them, for the light makes everything visible. This is why it is said, “Awake, O sleeper, rise up from the dead, and Christ will give you light.” So be careful how you live. Don’t live like fools, but like those who are wise. Make the most of every opportunity in these evil days.  Don’t act thoughtlessly, but understand what the Lord wants you to do. Don’t be drunk with wine, because that will ruin your life. Instead, be filled with the Holy Spirit, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs among yourselves, and making music to the Lord in your hearts. And give thanks for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

 

The Lord invites you to step out of the cold and into His Presence today. Wake up sleeper. You didn’t intentionally leave His Covering because those who have truly experienced such intimacy with the Lord understand that there is nothing like the joy and peace found trusting God. Perhaps God is just calling you back from the cold hard reality of this life to remind you that there are better days ahead no matter how things look from where you are standing. The Light of His Loves reveals the futility of the enemy’s advances against your life as he cannot touch you when you trust the Lord. This is not a call to change your ways or really do anything at all but bask in the Light of His Love, Mercy and Grace. God’s Love is so overwhelming it will change you so you don’t have to do a thing but dive deeper and deeper into intimacy with God. His Spirit does the work inside our life and we reflect that change to the world. His Spirit fills every area of our life that we are willing to surrender to the Lord. Give Him your time – He will make the most of it. Give Him your family and He will knit them tightly together. Give Him your job – you will prosper. We can thank God for every good thing that comes into our life. We can thank Him that He is making good out of every detail of our life. God is good! He wants to be good to you. His Primary Purpose in each moment is to reveal His Glory and Grace in our life. All we must do is be available. Live in the Presence of the Most High today. He is closer than you think. The Lord wants to wrap us in HIs Love today so we will walk in it everywhere we go. Are you available?

Psalm 61:10 (NLT)

I am overwhelmed with joy in the Lord my God! For he has dressed me with the clothing of salvation and draped me in a robe of righteousness. I am like a bridegroom dressed for his wedding or a bride with her jewels.

Leave a Reply

