Moment by Moment – A Devotion

Moment by Moment

I Peter 1:15-16 (NLT)

But now you must be holy in everything you do, just as God who chose you is holy. For the Scriptures say, “You must be holy because I am holy.”

 

We were on our way to the home improvement store when I received a text message from our daughter. A picture of an incredibly cute Chihuahua accompanied by the words – “I want her.” Instantly I fell in love just like she had. We have a little dog that was given to us many years ago who has been a loved member of our household. As the conversation progressed, it was clear that her husband did not want the responsibility. Half joking I showed my husband the picture and said, “Can we get her?” He said, “Sure.” I was completely shocked. He is not a huge fan of the one that we have now but without reservation he agreed to add another. Through many exchanges, the owner told us that he had promised her to another and if that fell through than he would let us know. I was a little sad and disappointed but I said, “If the Lord wants us to have her, it will all work out.” About thirty minutes later, the young man contacted me explaining that he felt like we should have her. Within a few hours, Izzy was home. What does this have to do with holiness? Does the Lord really care about ordinary details of life? In a moment, things can change in our life. In every moment, destiny can be done if we are willing to surrender each one to the Lord.

You must be holy because I am holy. When the average person thinks about holiness, it some unattainable and incomprehensible goal that we every Christian believer may strive for but few truly embrace. The common misconception is that God expects more than we can give or even want to give Him of our life. God’s Plan for our life includes every single moment that we live. He wants us to surrender every single one to Him. It is not about what we can and will do for the Lord but what He wants to do in us and for us that makes this such a worthwhile endeavor.

Psalm 139:16-17 (NLT)
You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed. How precious are your thoughts about me, O God. They cannot be numbered!

 

When God created every single human being – He had a plan in mind. It was not just an overall goal or aspiration but our Father predetermined every moment of our life in great detail. Every moment was laid out before a single day was lived. Every day of my life was prerecorded. He made sure that everything I needed was supplied to live a rich, satisfying life just as Jesus promised. So why am I dissatisfied? Discontent? Still searching? Because I am not living the life that I was designed to live! When my life falls in line with God’s Will for it, I will be complete lacking no good thing? Holiness is to live set apart for God’s Purpose. It is not so much what I can do but more what I allow the Lord to do in and through me. It is a willingness to live my life God’s Way.

Hebrews 12:16-17 (NLT)
Make sure that no one is immoral or godless like Esau, who traded his birthright as the firstborn son for a single meal. You know that afterward, when he wanted his father’s blessing, he was rejected. It was too late for repentance, even though he begged with bitter tears.

 

Esau gave up his birthright as firstborn for a single meal. Believers do this every day. Tired of waiting for what the Lord has for them, they decide to partake of worldly offerings, careless counterfeits and sorry substitutions for their own birthright. The brother of the prodigal son suffered in this area. He did all the right things but was bitter as his younger brother squandered his inheritance but still was allowed to come back to his father’s house. He was jealous of the celebration at the lost who found his way home. God has a wonderful plan for us and it is our birthright in Jesus Christ. Why do we give up on His Glory so easily? It obviously is worth having because Jesus died to give it to us. Are you living as a Child of God?

Romans 8:29-30 (NLT)
For God knew his people in advance, and he chose them to become like his Son, so that his Son would be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters. And having chosen them, he called them to come to him. And having called them, he gave them right standing with himself. And having given them right standing, he gave them his glory.

 

If God’s Plan is so good and He is so great then why don’t more people tap into their God-given birthright? We have been chosen to be sons and daughters of God yet choose to live as illegitimate children bound by random fate. This is not the case as clearly stated by the Word of God. Some don’t know the Word of God and all of its promises. Others have heard but choose something far less than God intended for them. God gave Jesus His Glory. Jesus is offering it to you and I.

Jeremiah 29:11-13 (NLT)

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen.  If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.

To be predestined means that something is destined in advance, for ordained, or predetermined. Destine means to be set apart for particular use or purpose, by design or intended for use. We are predestined by God which means we come pre-constructed for a purpose that we will not be satisfied without. We come into this world searching. The Lord says, “I have a plan for you. It is a good one with a future and hope.” Do you want it? It really all boils down to one thing – do I want the plan of God enough to sink my heart and invest my life into having it – all of it. Those who do will find satisfaction in life. Those who do not will continue seeking their whole life never filling the void of emptiness left behind by our sins now forgiven. Once sin is removed through repentance, the Kingdom of God is available to us once again as God’s Children. His thoughts about us too numerous to count. He examines us each morning and tests us each moment. (Job 7:17-18) He is trying desperately to release His Purpose and Power in the lives of those who choose to love and trust Him enough to commit moment by moment to His Care. Lord, remind me today how brief this life is and just how much you are trying to get to me in each moment. (Psalm 39:4-5)

Philippians 4:18-19 (NLT)

At the moment I have all I need—and more! I am generously supplied with the gifts you sent me with Epaphroditus. They are a sweet-smelling sacrifice that is acceptable and pleasing to God. And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.

 

What if everything we needed, we already have? What if everything that we need to be filled with joy and peace was already in our life but we just couldn’t see it? I believe that it is. My God has supplied all my needs from His Glorious Riches which has been given to me by Jesus Christ. Each moment that I surrender to the Lord without hesitation allows His Glory to make its way to us that always leads in blessing, purpose, joy and peaceful satisfaction. When I told my husband that if the Lord wants us to have the puppy, it will happen. I let it go. Actually, we moved on to the project we had originally set out to accomplish. This is not about acquiring a pet but an example of surrendering a moment. Every moment that we surrender to the Lord and say, “Lord, if it your Will it will happen,” and move on trusting Him – His Will will come to pass in our life without further ado. It may happen in the next moment, day, hour or week but it’s going to happen if we continue to follow His Way, Will and Word. When we begin to turn over moment by moment to Jesus, we sow His Will in our life and will reap a harvest if we do not get weary and give up. He supplies everything we need for a harvest – we must only live to plant it in our life.

Finally, why? How can I trust the Lord with my life? Glad you asked. Remember I told you that my husband agreed to get another dog even though He wasn’t fond of the first one. Everyone who knows us was shocked to find out that he was so willing to do it. Our daughters were playing with our new fur baby on the floor and cuddling with her on the couch. They have taken nonstop pictures of her and laughed at her every move. He looked at me and said, “That is why I did it, and it makes it worth it all!” That’s exactly how Father God feels about us. He wants to fill us with joy and peace. The Lord died to bring us contentment. He wants to give us pleasure. My children are not perfect but our love for them exceeds any mistake that they make. We love to bless them. That’s why you can trust the Lord without reservation! Giving Him every moment of our life doesn’t benefit Him but blesses us!

I Peter 1:2 (NLT)

God the Father knew you and chose you long ago, and his Spirit has made you holy. As a result, you have obeyed him and have been cleansed by the blood of Jesus Christ. May God give you more and more grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

