Persuade Me – A Devotion

Persuade Me

Romans 8:37-39 (NKJV)

Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

 

What’s the point? You know the feeling. The fight has been long. We grow weary in our stand of faith because it seems hope may never find us. Our sword arm is tired of holding up God’s Word like a lamp that seems to never reach the end of the darkness. Am I the only one? The only one who ever gets lost in the good fight of faith? I don’t think so. I see the Facebook posts of the fallen. I scan through the pictures on Instagram crying out for someone to reach in and help someone up. I know what it feels like to feel isolated in a room full of family, friends and the fellowship of the church. It is not your fault. I am not to blame. I am standing. Waiting on the Lord to complete all that He has promised. I am to be more than a conqueror but right now I don’t feel all that strong. I have been given the victory over every single adversary that may ever come against me in this life. But there are days that I don’t feel the power that consumes me only the crashing of the battle all around me. I speak for those who will not speak for themselves afraid that the fruit in their field may wither at the thought of weakness in the one who shared the seed that brought them back to life. Sometimes we need others to share their struggles so we know that even “more than conquerors” feel fatigue, get overwhelmed and need a hand up.

“In ALL things, we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.” I study many translations of God’s Word so that I do not grow too familiar with the facts. Presented different ways with many explanations seems to peak my interest and keep me digging in the Word of God. One of the translations that I use is called the New Spirit Filled Life Bible in the New King James Version (what a mouthful). There are several commentaries within its text referencing good teaching and using Strong’s Concordance to further explain certain words and their meaning. Maybe you are thinking who has time for all that information, surely the Spirit will explain the Word and reinforce its meaning. Let me put it like this, I am desperate to know Him more. Not too long ago, we were gathered at my husband’s uncle’s house. He was about to meet the Lord and the family had gathered to comfort him in his journey. At a table surrounded by many of his family members, they began to share stories and family history all about that side of the family. Although married for more than a decade, there were many things that I did not know about his father or his paternal side of the family because his father had passed when he was a teenager. Time sped by just getting to know more and more about them. They are family. I want to know everything that there is to know. Why would my relationship with God the Father or Jesus the Son be any different? One of the commentaries broke down this very popular verse even further to say that as believers in Christ, we are capable of over and above super victories. More than conquerors is not a get by mentality but a complete takeover of every situation in our life. It is a battle that we do not have to fight on the outside but is completely reliant on what we believe inside.

“For I am persuaded” (understand, believe and convinced) that NOTHING can ever separate me from the Love of God found in Jesus Christ. Though I know that I will eventually overcome in every situation in my life, I must increase my understanding, enabling more belief until I am completely convinced that nothing in this world or beyond can or will ever separate me from His Love. I want to be over and above super victorious in my life. I want to overcome every single thing that is coming against me, but first I must overcome my own misunderstanding, disbelief, and become completely convinced as well.

Psalm 53:2 (NKJV))

God looks down from heaven upon the children of men, to see if there are any who understand, who seek God.

 

Psalm 107:43 (NKJV)

Whoever is wise will observe these things, and they will understand the loving kindness of the Lord.

 

Proverbs 3:5-6 (NKJV)

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.

 

You can never know enough about the Love of God. It is too high, deep, and wide for us to ever completely understand its parameters. It is more powerful than we can ever experience in this life. It would completely consume us if we encounter Him face-to-face. When we begin to feel overwhelmed with the circumstances and situations of life, it is imperative to dig deeper into the Word of God which is the explanation of benefits of faith. It tells us what we want, need and desire and how to get it. It defines our inheritance increasing our ability to believe that it belongs to us. Why not me? Why not now? Knowledge and wisdom can be found in many teachers but we must never forsake the pursuit of the Lord for ourselves allowing His Spirit to define the parameters of our faith and footsteps in our journey. Everyone is different. Our life plans individualized by the Lord. No two people will follow the same way just as long as we are headed in the right direction. His Name is Jesus Christ. His Spirit is alive and well inside of us. We need to feed our Spirit the Word of God so it will empower our mind with supernatural wisdom that allows us to expect more than what we see in the natural and obtain the supernatural. It is the only way that we will believe.

Psalm 27:13-14 (NKJV)

I would have lost heart, unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait on the Lord; be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the Lord!

 

Mark 9:23-24 (NKJV)

Jesus said to him, “If you can believe, all things are possible to him who believes.” Immediately the father of the child cried out and said with tears, “Lord, I believe; help my unbelief!”

We must believe that the Word of God is true. We must believe that God’s Love is the prevailing force in our life. Why? We fight against the unseen world not the real world. People are not our problem. (Ephesians 6:12-13) Our battle is against principalities and rulers of darkness. You cannot see them but they are definitely aware of those who choose to believe. The Armor of God are all the attributes of His Love for us. We will not use the armor if we have no confidence to keep us safe and protected in battle. However, when we see that His Love is not just our best defense but the only one that consistently leads to over and above super victories – no one will leave home without it. We must live by faith not by sight because you cannot see the enemy of your soul but he can see you and chooses to attack you more and more the closer you get to overcoming. Why? Your testimony plants seeds of righteousness that grow into a harvest of souls credited to the Kingdom. As others see what God is doing in our life and the joy that comes from just knowing the Lord, the lie of the enemy is silenced and they will seek God, too. It is our belief in God that certifies our faith and allows us to live in the realm of confident hope. Sometimes while standing, we forget what we are standing for. It is perfectly okay to ask the Lord to help our unbelief. We will never see the fullness of God promised until we believe beyond a shadow of a doubt that we WILL see the Goodness of God in this lifetime. We must be convinced.

Philippians 1:6 (NKJV)

Being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ…

 

Romans 4:20-22(NKJV)

He did not waver at the promise of God through unbelief, but was strengthened in faith, giving glory to God, and being fully convinced that what He had promised He was also able to perform.  And therefore “it was accounted to him for righteousness.”

 

Weariness is not a weakness but shows that we are enduring. Wavering is the problem that we must overcome. The things we go through in life test our faith for validity. Our faith in the Lord must be genuine. Faith in God is our undoing. It shatters every preconceived nothing that we can do anything worthwhile in and of ourselves. We are born dying and achieve life through Jesus Christ. Yes, of course, the enemy is attacking your life because you want all that God has for you. So does he…his purpose is to steal, kill and destroy. But those who choose to understand, believe and be fully convinced of the Power of God’s Love will be over and above super victorious in this life. Are you tired of standing? Do you want to move on? The Lord is perfecting that which concerns you so hang on tight. He has a Plan with a future and hope worth having in the land of the living according to His Great Goodness. Plant those feet a little deeper in His Word today. Sow those tears. The Lord collects them for redemption…they are worth something to Him. Strengthen your faith by doing what you know and not responding to the world. This world has nothing – I repeat nothing for you that will ever compare to the Glory God has prepared for His Children. Do you want it? Stand up and take it. It’s coming! Don’t give up. To live in God’s Love disarms the enemy. (Colossians 2:13-15) But you must be consistent and committed by faith because the power of the enemy is only bound from those who live in Christ. Otherwise, you are fair game. There are very real adversaries in this world that we cannot see overcome only by the Love of God which is our resting place.

I John 5:1-5 (NKJV)

Whoever believes that Jesus is the Christ is born of God, and everyone who loves Him who begot also loves him who is begotten of Him. By this we know that we love the children of God, when we love God and keep His commandments. For this is the love of God, that we keep His commandments. And His commandments are not burdensome. For whatever is born of God overcomes the world. And this is the victory that has overcome the world—our faith. Who is he who overcomes the world, but he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God?

 

With this revelation of super victory today, I wonder if it has impacted you as it has me. I have the power to overcome every day and in every situation living in the Love of God. It is up to me to know, understand, believe and remain committed in my pursuit of His Presence and Power by simply learning to love Him more than I fear the things coming against me. It seems like it would be easy but friend we both know it’s not. It’s just worth it.

I Corinthians 15:57-58 (NLT)

But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.

 

Leave a Reply

