Take It to Heart – A Devotion

Take It to Heart

Psalm 27:8 (NLT)

My heart has heard you say, “Come and talk with me.” And my heart responds, “Lord, I am coming.”

 

There are times when I feel as though the Lord drops “public service” announcements in my spirit. “We interrupt this program to bring you…” It is so easy to get caught up in work, routines, schedules, doing and life. People stay busy. Everyone is trying to “do” something. There is a time for everything according to the Word of God. (Ecclesiastes 3:1) The very thing that we are after that have not achieved is what makes time seem so limited. The greatest potential in our life is to discover the “eternity” that God has placed in our heart. (Ecclesiastes 3:11) I am a doer. I like tasks that come with instructions. I want things done right so much so that I am willing to do it all myself to make that happen. This becomes a problem when I become so involved in doing that I forget my primary purpose which is love. I will not bore with you the details of the journey that broke my heart so that I discovered His Unfailing Love but suffice it to say that when our son was diagnosed with cancer the insufficiencies of my faith and trust in the Love of God where exposed, challenged and put to the test. What I discovered did not only save me but it changed me forever. I believe in the Lord before that awful time. I trusted Him in many things all the way up to the day I heard the news. I tried to love Him back then but loved a lot of other things, too. In the moment of complete brokenness and the days that followed, I heard a voice say, “Come and talk with me.” For the first time in a long time, I said, “Lord I am coming!” Not with my mouth but my heart instead.

 

Ephesians 3:17-21 (NLT)

Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God. Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen.

 

And my heart responds… To know the Word of God for our life is power. To read, study and mediate on His Word is bread to our body and water to our soul giving us basic nourishment to grow, develop and mature in our walk with Christ. Without it, our spirit will fail to thrive. However, to read the Bible with our head and never experience with our heart is the greatest tragedy of all. I would like to be a Biblical scholar one day. I want to know everything that is offered in this wonderful book of knowledge given by divine inspiration of God. But if I know all there is to know and never accept the Love of God, I have nothing. It is a waste of time. There is a plethora of good information in the Bible. If we use it expressly as a self-help, it has the ability to change our life. However the true potential of God’s Word is to discover the eternity that He placed in our life. It is the discovery of life that can only be achieved through His Unfailing Love. It is all about exploring just how “wide, long, high and deep” that His Love for us really is. Our humanity will never completely understand the true capacity of God’s Love and Acceptance but our heart can. It is the place that His Spirit dwells. It is the place that God takes our head knowledge mixes it all up with His Love to make a beautiful love story out of our life. His Love completes us. It satisfies us. It makes us content. Joy fills all those voids left behind when we chose to make Him our only lover. God is able to do a mighty work in our life when we commit our heart to His Word not just our head. When we allow His Mighty Power to change our life with His Love rather than just trying to do all the “right” things, it is in the total surrender of our heart to Jesus Christ that we find Him doing more than we could ever think to ask for.

 

I John 2:12-14 (NLT)

I am writing to you who are God’s children because your sins have been forgiven through Jesus. I am writing to you who are mature in the faith because you know Christ, who existed from the beginning. I am writing to you who are young in the faith because you have won your battle with the evil one. I have written to you who are God’s children because you know the Father. I have written to you who are mature in the faith because you know Christ, who existed from the beginning. I have written to you who are young in the faith because you are strong. God’s word lives in your hearts, and you have won your battle with the evil one.

Without the Love of God breathing life in His Word, it is just another set of rules and standards that human beings cannot live up to. Our sinful nature always rebels and wants its own way. We all know those rule breakers and line crossers in life. I know that in my own five children there are some of each. My girls tend to follow the rules and remain conscious of boundaries. It is not because they agree with all of them. In our house, mom and dad are the authorities. They desire to remain in close fellowship with us and please us so they do what we say because of love. Their love dictates their actions. It affects their attitude (most of time). We are all Children of the Living God. If we do not approach our life with Christ in love, forget about it. We must strive above all things to know the Love of God and keep it alive in our heart. It will change our mind for us as His Goodness, Love and Mercy become our standard of living. We will know that God is good and desire to remain in right standing with Him. Life with Christ is not as challenging when His Love is our greatest desire. It is easily achievable when we are confident in His Love for us. In all things, we must seek the Lord with all our heart.

Matthew 6:19-21 (NLT)

“Don’t store up treasures here on earth, where moths eat them and rust destroys them, and where thieves break in and steal. Store your treasures in heaven, where moths and rust cannot destroy, and thieves do not break in and steal. Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be.”

 

Value and worth in life is decided by the heart. What we treasure is by human definition and not an appraiser. I have things that I own of absolutely no worth and maybe even considered garbage by others, but to me they are treasured. I have letters written by my grandparents that are priceless to me now that they reside in Heaven. I have letters sent home by our son when he was serving this country in the Middle East. Priceless. I have cards and pictures from my husband and children that may seem like worthless art but are priceless masterpieces. I can replace all the other things that I have if we lost it all. I have insurance for that but all these reminders of my family’s love for me are irreplaceable. God’s Word should supersede all that in my life. I must know that it is real. It must become the greatest treasure that I have. I must own it. Believe it. Pursue it. Crave it. Desiring His Love above all things to truly experience the life that He has planned for me. But if I only read His Word and do what it says to make this life better, what’s the point? Without the Love of God as my greatest treasure, I have nothing that will not be taken from me one day. His Love is the greatest treasure that I will ever know. Have I taken His Love to heart today? Am I lost in the doing of routine, schedule even Christianity? Is the Love of God my deepest desire and sincere longing? Is He calling to me today, “Come”? Is my heart responding, “Lord, I am coming”?

Psalm 37:3-4 (NLT)

Trust in the Lord (YES!) and do good. (ABSOLUTELY!) Then you will live safely in the land and prosper. (AMEN!) Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you your heart’s desires. (YES, LORD!) – I want to delight in you today Jesus!

Leave a Reply

