Breaking the Silence – A Devotion

Breaking the Silence

Psalm 37:5-7 (NLT)

Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him, and he will help you. He will make your innocence radiate like the dawn and the justice of your cause will shine like the noonday sun. Be still in the presence of the Lord and wait patiently for him to act. Don’t worry about evil people who prosper or fret about their wicked schemes.

Seasons of waiting are challenging for me. I personally have a difficult time being patient in the silence of waiting when God is moving and making things line up with His Plan but absolutely nothing seems to be moving and shaking in my own life. I must admit I am not a fan. The silence makes me uncomfortable. It makes my brain overthink. That is always a problem as I can literally cause a frenzy if only in my head. How do we maintain the stillness of faith and confidence in the Presence of the Lord as He perfects our way? We need answers and we are quite certain that we need them now. We need God to act and are becoming increasingly agitated in our holding pattern. What can we do when the silence of God seems like too much? We can make some noise.

When faced with a problem, trouble, circumstances or situations, they seem to consume us as if there is nothing else going on in our life. The squeaky wheel always gets the grease especially if it becomes uncomfortable. In our desperation, we come to the Lord expecting Him to do something for us. When His Response does not meet our timeline, we are placed in a holding pattern. I think we can agree that most of us are conditioned for immediate gratification and do not have a heart for waiting on anything at all much less that which is causes hurt, heartaches or headaches. However, sometimes waiting is a requirement of God for His Best.  Are you willing to wait on the Lord for His Best? Here are three things that we can do to ease the silence of His Stillness. First, we must understand and believe that just because God is not speaking directly to us at that time, and does not seem to be “doing” anything we can see or feel that it doesn’t mean that He is not working out all the details. Why would our requests cause a frenzy in the Presence of the Lord when He has been ready, willing and able to do what we require all along? Our moment is transcribed moment by moment. He knows everything we need already providing it. The Lord wants to give us the desires of our heart. Those who seek His Kingdom first and decide to remain faithful in the wait will have all God’s Promises. They will prosper. They will see His Goodness in the land of the living.

Habakkuk 2:1 (NLT)

I will climb up to my watchtower and stand at my guard post. There I will wait to see what the Lord says and how he will answer my complaint.

 

Have you decided to wait on the Lord for something? Has it been a while since you climbed the watchtower of waiting? Are you lonely? Having second thoughts? Wondering if He has forgotten you? The greatest test for me is when God seems to be silent. Those times when I climb up and decide to wait then nothing happens quickly. Time seems to drag on and on. I begin to think about things that cause me to consider climbing down. Thank God that I am too stubborn to give up and have stumbled on some miracles that reinforced my faith in waiting on Him. The best way to wait in the stillness is to break our silence until He decides to speak giving us proper instruction. He will not delay. (Habakkuk 2:2-3) The timing just needs to line up with His Plan and His Way needs to be complete lacking nothing. The best way to overcome the silence is to make some noise. But not just any noise – we must raise some praise, return some thanks and recall His Word. These three things can be just what is needed to wait a little more. When you are speaking into His Kingdom according to His Word, there is no time to grumble or complain. Your words are filled with life and productivity and cannot curse your harvest.

Lamentations 3:21-26 (NLT)

Yet I still dare to hope when I remember this: The faithful love of the Lord never end! His mercies never cease. Great is his faithfulness; His Mercies begin afresh each morning. I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance; therefore, I will hope in him!” The Lord is good to those who depend on him, to those who search for him. So it is good to wait quietly for salvation from the Lord.

 

Why have I chosen to wait on the Lord? We all must determine why we wait in order to give it any credibility. I wait on God because I believe that He loves me. I believe that God is always good. I believe that His Mercy for me is new each day. My inheritance, my future, and my hope is in the Lord alone. I choose to depend on the Lord. I am searching for Him. I want Him in my life even if that means that I have to slow down and wait for Him sometimes. I am not alone. Joel 3:14 says that there are many in the valley of indecision. Those who are trying to decide if a relationship with God through Jesus Christ is really worth having. Isn’t that what it all comes down to? I wait because I believe God hears my cry and chooses to do something about it. (Psalm 38:14-15) I have confidence that God is working His Goodness through my life now. (Romans 8:28) (Psalm 27:13-14) It is this confidence that keeps me glued right here, right now. What about you? Others may think that is foolish this life that we have chosen. Putting our faith and hope in an unseen and silent God but they don’t know Him like I do. “I choose to hear nothing and I make no reply. For I am waiting for you, O Lord. You must answer for me, O Lord my God.” (Psalm 38:14-15)

 

Psalm 146:1-5 (NLT)

Praise the Lord! Let all that I am praise the Lord. I will praise the Lord as long as I live. I will sing praises to my God with my dying breath. Don’t put your confidence in powerful people; there is no help for you there. When they breathe their last, they return to the earth, and all their plans die with them. But joyful are those who have the God of Israel as their helper, whose hope is in the Lord their God.

 

You do not have to live in silence waiting in the stillness of His Presence. Praise breaks through the barrier of isolation and reminds us of all that God has done for us. On those days when I feel depression looming overhead, darkness just around the corner, or the oppression of isolation threatening my stand – I praise the Lord. You must be the guardian of your eyes and ears. It is up to you to use self-control to turn off negativity and darkness from your life. Change the atmosphere of your life by praising God simply for who He is. Praise Him with all your heart holding nothing back. (Psalm 9:1) Praise Him with every bone in your body and fiber of your being. (Psalm 35:10) Praise Him publicly rather than grumbling and complaining. (Psalm 26:12) Continue to praise God in the midst of your circumstance or the heat of the fiery trial. (Psalm 22:25-26) Decide to praise God with all that you are inside and out. It will fill you with unspeakable joy that the world cannot understand. Praise becomes our shelter in the midst of every attack. (Psalm64:10) Fear, worry and doubt will not prevail when by faith and trust in our God and His Love we choose to break the silence with our praise.

I Thessalonians 5:16-18 (NLT)
Always be joyful.
 Never stop praying. Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.

 

When facing adversity, thanksgiving is a sacrifice but one well worth giving. It expresses our confidence in who God is when He hasn’t done what we are currently asking Him for. It comes from our faith in His Word, Will and Way before He ever acts. We are instructed to be thankful in all circumstances. This is definitely a challenge in our daily life. Sacrifices of thanksgiving honor God. (Psalm 50:23) He knows that we are hurting, struggling or even barely holding on so when in that moment we thank Him, I believe it moves the Father’s heart. It honors who He is just for who He is and nothing more. We gain closer access to God when thanksgiving is offered. (Psalm 100:3-5) I believe it is in that moment that He pulls us tight. It is a demonstration of faith under pressure that shows the Lord the contents of our heart. It means God if you don’t do another thing for me, I am thankful for all that you have already done. It is an expression of faith and confidence that opens the door to the inner sanctum of His Presence that true worshipers long for. I signifies our belief that He is the Sovereign God. (Psalm 107:1) Thanksgiving changes us. It gives us the joy of satisfaction and contentment. Sometimes, in the beginning, it may sound like a child-like prayer as we grasp to recognize all the good things that He has done for us but once you get going the Spirit of God takes over recalling all those things that then enemy is hoping you will forget. Suddenly, the silence of waiting is broken and you will decide to wait just a little more.

Isaiah 55:10-11 (NLT)

“The rain and snow come down from the heavens and stay on the ground to water the earth. They cause the grain to grow, producing seed for the farmer and bread for the hungry. It is the same with my word. I send it out, and it always produces fruit. It will accomplish all I want it to and it will prosper everywhere I send it.

 

Speak the Word of God. It is life. (Proverbs 18:21) If we can learn to speak the Word of God and what He has decreed over our situation, things will change. They have to according to Isaiah 55:11. When we release God’s Word, it is mandated by the Lord never to return until it accomplishes all it was set forth to do. Find out what the Lord says about your life and situation and say it. Speak it. Refute every lie of the enemy with it. His Word is healing to your broken heart that is struggling to stay together until the storm is over. (Psalm 107:20) It is alive and powerful exposing our innermost thoughts and desires so we can align our heart with His Heart. (Hebrews 4:12) Jesus is the Word of God who came to be wrapped in flesh. (John 1:1-4) And just a little side note for success – you cannot just speak God’s Word but we must also do what He says to be successful and prosper. (I John 2:5-6)

James 5:7-8 (NLT)

Dear brothers and sisters, be patient as you wait for the Lord’s return. Consider the farmers who patiently wait for the rains in the fall and in the spring. They eagerly look for the valuable harvest to ripen. You, too, must be patient. Take courage, for the coming of the Lord is near.

 

When our son-in-law and daughter were dating, he would spend a great deal of time at our house. When conversation would lag or everyone become engrossed in something else, he would begin to hum, then mumble, finally singing until it was so loud someone would shout at him to stop. His mom confided that he would do that on long car rides. His brothers would try to kill him at the loud intrusion. I wonder if the enemy feels that way. Desite his best efforts to discourage, delay or defeat us that we break the silence with praise. I hope it annoys him like that I really do! Today if you are waiting be encouraged. God is producing a harvest in your life that you cannot see. Each day you are willing to wait, your faith is working wonders in your life. I know that it is difficult to wait when God seems silent and still but trust me He is moving Kingdom and earth to bless, prosper and help His Children succeed. He is worth waiting for. So break the silence of your waiting with praise, thanksgiving and speak God’s Word over your life today. It will do wonders for you and put the enemy on the run as Your Father moves closer to comfort you and keep you while you wait for His Very Best!

Isaiah 40:28-31 (NLT)

Have you never heard? Have you never understood? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of all the earth. He never grows weak or weary. No one can measure the depths of his understanding. He gives power to the weak and strength to the powerless. Even youths will become weak and tired, and young men will fall in exhaustion. But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.

Leave a Reply

