In His Hands – A Devotion

In His Hands

Psalm 37:23-24 (NLT)

The Lord directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives. Though they stumble, they will never fall for the Lord holds them by the hand.

 

When our oldest three children were little, they were positioned like steps. All three were born within three years. As anyone with a household of small children can attest, it is challenging to achieve simple tasks such as grocery shopping or running errands with so many little people who require constant supervision. No shopping cart was made for three little bodies so one had to learn to improvise. When traversing a parking lot, everyone was required to hold hands. Once we made it to the car safely, the oldest children would put their hands on the car while I loaded their siblings. The rules concerning such things did not allow any grace at all. A mistake in this realm of danger could be fatal. Children do not always understand the possible threats around them and of course, there were some occasions when I would have to correct their indiscretion if you catch my drift. It would be swift and absolute correction without the usual grace. Once safely inside the vehicle, I would explain to them all the imminent danger. I was responsible for their lives. My love for them made me pay particularly close attention to their behavior as not to allow any harm to come to them. If only we could see God as our Father and loving parent who leads, guides and corrects us by His Great Love, perhaps we would not be so resistant to holding His Hand or allowing Him to hold us.

It’s funny how our daughters love to hold hands. All three of them would gladly and willingly slip their little fingers into mine. But those rambunctious little boys wanted no such inhibition. They wanted their freedom to run and explore. They preferred to have it their own way. One of our son’s loves to challenge the rule and test boundaries – it is his human nature. The other more of a quiet young man who is more passive in his pursuit. Once he has decided the truth – it is impossible to change his mind. There were many conflicts in parking lots with these two. One insisted racing to the car just to prove that he could “beat” us all throwing caution to the wind. The other refused to place his hands on the car arguing that it was unnecessary because he was not moving. The rebellion and resistance of these two made our journey unpleasant at times. “The Lord directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their life.” That is you and I, my friend. Just like our children, the Lord directs our steps and delights in doing so because His Plan for our life leads to life, goodness and eternity. “Though they stumble, they will never fall for the Lord holds them by the hand.” Just like our parents, it is God’s Express desire to hold us by the Hand as we learn to position our life in His Hand. Righteousness allows us to put our entire existence in the Hand of God. Faith makes us keep it there. Trust allows Him to lead, guide and direct us to the Glorious Destiny that He has planned for us. Hope keeps us in the wait time knowing that His Goodness is coming. “You will show me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore. (Psalm 16:11)

 

Isaiah 43:12-13 (NLT)

“First I predicted your rescue, then I saved you and proclaimed it to the world. No foreign god has ever done this. You are witnesses that I am the only God,” says the Lord. From eternity to eternity I am God. No one can snatch anyone out of my hand. No one can undo what I have done.”

 

No one can snatch anyone out of my hand. No one can undo what I have done. It is the creative power of God’s Hand motivated by His Word that set forth the world in which we live. It is all by His Hand. We are the product of His Hand as well. The only difference is that God gave us a free will to choose the course of our life. Three of my five children are adults. I carried them while they developed for nine months. I gave birth to them. I am molding and shaping them as they grow and develop. I am trying to teach them to be good people and more importantly godly men and women. But our oldest are now adults and it is up to them to decide who they will be. I cannot tell them what to do or not to do merely offer my opinion and advice. Because I am their mother, I know those who are inclined to take it and follow it. While some will kindly listen with respect, but do their own thing anyway. If I am well aware of this in my humanity, imagine how much more the Lord understands it in His Divinity.

We have the potential to live in the Hand of God. There is a place for us there. He has written our names on the palm of His Hand. (Isaiah 49:15) It is with His Right Hand that all creation came to be. (Isaiah 48:13) Our new life begins with the submission of our life into His Hand. Jesus sits at the Right Hand of God interceding for us and giving us grace to overcome sin. God promises that He will hold us up with His Hand. (Isaiah 41:10) God’s Hand is here to help us never to hurt us. (Isaiah 41:13) We must learn to leave our life in the Hand of God. (Isaiah 49:3-4) He invites us to. God the Father longs for us to give Him control over our life so that He can make it into the wonderful and perfect plan that He designed for us so long ago. He wants only the very best for us.

Psalm 73:22-24 (NLT)

I was so foolish and ignorant—I must have seemed like a senseless animal to you. Yet I still belong to you; you hold my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, leading me to a glorious destiny.

 

Is the Hand of God in our earthly, everyday life real or imagined? Perhaps, you are thinking this works figuratively but what about literally. Can God’s Hand really intervene in my life today? The answer is “yes”. In I Chronicles 28:19-20, David confides that “every part of the plan” to build the Lord’s Temple was “given to me in writing by the Lord.” How is this possible? The Lord is a spirit who lives inside of us. Why not? Why wouldn’t the Holy Spirt motivate our mind, body and soul? Let’s go one step further. If we agree that all scripture is given by the Holy Spirit, which I think we do, then who wrote it? Men wrote what the Lord told them forming one giant collection that is seamless in translation. (2 Timothy 3:16) When we decide to follow Christ, we need help. It is not our nature. In fact, our nature is hostile to such discipline and guidance. God’s Hand is always upon us as we are His Children. The blessings in His Hand belong to us. We must learn to be sensitive and aware of His Hand upon us. Wisdom allows us to experience the benefits of God’s Intervention in our life and submit to the Lord as our helper.

Proverbs 3:5-6 (NLT)

Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding.  Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.

 

Proverbs 3:11-18 (NLT)

My child, don’t reject the Lord’s discipline and don’t be upset when he corrects you. For the Lord corrects those he loves, just as a father corrects a child in whom he delights. Joyful is the person who finds wisdom, the one who gains understanding. For wisdom is more profitable than silver, and her wages are better than gold. Wisdom is more precious than rubies; nothing you desire can compare with her. She offers you long life in her right hand and riches and honor in her left. She will guide you down delightful paths; all her ways are satisfying. Wisdom is a tree of life to those who embrace her; happy are those who hold her tightly.

 

The Lord will never force His Hand in our natural life. He will not make us submit to His Power and Authority but waits patiently for us to grow to accept it. Over the course of my life, I have sensed the Hand of God in many, many ways. I cannot explain it but I know when it is there. My small children did not know the inherent dangers of running through a lot of parked cars. They did not understand the hidden threats to their well-being. They lacked wisdom. All they knew is that they were children who wanted to play. God’s Hand is filled with His Goodness, Mercy and Love. It also contains His Wisdom. When I position my life in His Hand, I am equipped to make better choices because I can rely on His Wisdom and Insight for the future. He is the only One who knows the best direction for my life. He knows where blessing is hidden. He knows all the steps to my promise. God loves me like a Father. He always has my best interest in mind. In the beginning, it was simple urgings in my spirit that led me to do something. Now I can even feel Him holding me back to wait for something. Do I always like what I discover in His Hand? No. Human nature is contradictory to God in most cases. What I have found by positioning my life in His Hand is a peace that is unheard of? Even when I do not understand all the details or whys or waits, I know that He is God. He is my Father. His Love is His Motivation. He will allow nothing to snatch me from His Hand. His Goodness, Mercy and Love cover me in His Hand. As I grow accustomed to living in right standing with God firmly fixed in the palm of His Hand, wisdom guides me from everlasting to everlasting. Who wouldn’t want that? It is natural to rebel and resist such a restriction but those who choose to repent and return willingly to live in the Hand of God accepting willingly His Love, Guidance and yes, even discipline will never be disappointed. He will never let the righteous fall!

Psalm138:7 (NLT)

Though I am surrounded by troubles, you will protect me from the anger of my enemies. You reach out your hand, and the power of your right hand saves me.

 

Gently Held (Bethel)

I’m gently held by the hand that could crush me, but I won’t be afraid cause I know how you love me… I’ll stay here, cause I’m safe here…

Leave a Reply

