Whatever It Takes – A Devotion

Whatever It Takes

Psalm 37:3-5 (NLT)

Trust in the Lord and do good. Then you will live safely in the land and prosper. Take delight in the Lord the will give you your heart’s desires. Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him, and he will help you.

How much is enough? What portion of our life is required to have all the Promises of God? Are you willing to do whatever it takes? Whatever it takes to meet your goals? Whatever it takes to change your life for the better? Whatever it takes to make better choices? Whatever it takes to prosper? Whatever it takes to be successful in everything you do? Are you willing to do whatever it takes? I am not grilling you today just revealing my thoughts this cold January morning. Fighting a bit of a cold and fatigue from returning to work after weeks of blissful rest over the holidays, I am challenged in my spirit this morning even though my body is not cooperating. Coughing, tossing and turning through the night usually produces a very grumpy wife and mom in the morning but today I woke up optimistic. Hopeful in my spirit and determined that I want to do whatever it takes to have God’s Will for my life. Whatever that is. See if you are like me, we don’t really have a full concept of what the Lord is doing but a sense of longing for it that inclines to come closer. Trust the Lord. Do good. Again. Trust the Lord. Do good. One more time, trust the Lord. Do good. This is the simplicity of obedience. It is a repetitious cycle of hearing, believing and doing that is lost on God’s People today who choose to hear, believe and do their own thing. It seems foolish to build a racecar and be made its not a speedboat. It would be dumb to buy an apple but bite into it thinking it will taste like a tomato. We want God’s Will but don’t do it God’s Way. Not to mention that we then have the audacity to get mad, complain and deny that God is doing His Part. What does it take to have God’s Very Best? What will it take to prosper? Where will I find success in everything that I do? Ready! Trust the Lord. Do good. Commit everything you do to the Lord. Done! You will be safe. You will prosper. You will have the desires of your heart. He will help you. If we can overcome the limitation of self fully abandoning our heart and mind to radical obedience, we will have everything we dreamed of, do all that we set forth to do, and far exceedingly abundantly more than we can even think or ask. (Ephesians 3:20) Are you willing to do whatever it takes?

Psalm 111:2-4 (NLT)

How amazing are the deeds of the Lord! All who delight in him should ponder them. Everything he does reveals his glory and majesty. His righteousness never fails. He causes us to remember his wonderful works. How gracious and merciful is our Lord!

 

Everything that the Lord does reveals His Glory and Majesty. God is always good. Even when things do not seem to be going as expected and bad things happen to God’s People, He is still working every detail for our good. (Romans 8:28) The problem is perception. We do not know God so we attribute every crisis and consequence to Him when all along He promised if we will just do things His Way – we will prosper. Sin is rampant in this world. We must live apart from sin to have the Goodness of God in every area of our life. When we decide to allow bits and pieces of our existence to associate with things not of God – we invite disaster. It is not because God punishes us – He is gracious and merciful towards us thanks to Jesus Christ. Perhaps it may be better understood like this, when I drive to work this morning I will get in my automobile and head off. It is up to me if I obey the traffic laws. When I get on the interstate the speed limit is 70 miles per hour. If I choose to obey the law, I am good. If I choose to drive 80 miles an hour instead I am violating the law and may get a speeding ticket. I do not have an excuse as there are signs all along the way indicating the speed limit. Now if I go even farther as to choose to drive east in the westbound lane, I am inviting disaster as surely I am in danger of a head-on collision with oncoming traffic. What does this have to do with God and His Way? God’s Word is predetermined. It is etched in time and complete. Nothing added or taken away after His Initial Indication. Jesus Christ did not come and make it okay to disobey the Law of God but enabled us to keep trying despite our human weakness and moral decay. In order to prosper in this life, we must trust the Lord and do good. We cannot disobey God and live anyway that we choose and still expect to have God’s Promises. If I want all of God’s Best, I must choose to do whatever it takes to have it which means that I must do honor the Lord in everything that I do. Everything…

Micah 6:8 (NLT)

No, O people, the Lord has told you what is good, and this is what he requires of you: to do what is right, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.

 

I stumbled on this little gem of a verse a couple of years ago in a song. It resonates in my spirit and sometimes it shakes me to my core. I have decided how the Lord wants me to act sometimes and have missed the mark completely. I add and subtract from the Word of God according to my emotions, my feelings, my wants and desires. I have made a hierarchy of sins not indicated by God that made me as judgmental at times as the Pharisees who embraced religion. But as I have endured some trials and tests in this life, I find that I keep coming back to simple things like trust God and do good. Or in this case, do what is right, love mercy and walk humbly with my God. See following God’s Plan is not complicated but commitment. It is all about having a heart willing to do whatever it takes so that everything we do follows His Commands. To do good covers all Ten Commandments and Greatest Commandment to love one another. It rises above hatred, politics, religion, race and all social barriers. We would not see riots in the streets or injustice in our courtrooms if everyone lived in the realm of whatever it takes to have God’s Best. Prosperity and success come in doing the Will of God. His Will is set. His Law is complete. It all leads to His Goodness and Majesty. Jesus did not come to condemn us but complete us. What are we willing to do to be made whole?

Deuteronomy 28:8-9 (NLT)

“The Lord will guarantee a blessing on everything you do and will fill your storehouses with grain. The Lord your God will bless you in the land he is giving you. If you obey the commands of the Lord your God and walk in his ways, the Lord will establish you as his holy people as he swore he would do.”

 

If we choose to “walk” in His Ways, the Lord our God will guarantee a blessing on everything that we do. He will provide everything you need along the way. He will prosper you in the place you are going. He will establish you in holiness as His Child so when it is time to step into Eternity our place is secure. Who could ask for more than that? Who really wants anything else? He did not say “run” or “fight” just walk in His Ways. The struggle is real. It is inside of us. Paul said it best when he described wanting to do what is right but somehow ending up doing wrong. (Romans 7:21) We all fight the same battle. Faith comes by hearing the Word of God. The more that we immerse our life in the things of God the stronger we become in our opposition to sin and lesser things. We must allow the Holy Spirit to change the desire of our heart to surrender our life. I want what God wants for me. I know that He only wants good things for me. So I trust Him. But will I do good… What is good? Simply to walk His Way through life. When you do this, the Lord promises to make us successful in EVERYTHING that we do. (Deuteronomy 30:9-10)

Joshua 1:7-9 (NLT)

“Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the instructions Moses gave you. Do not deviate from them, turning either to the right or to the left. Then you will be successful in everything you do. Study this Book of Instruction continually. Meditate on it day and night so you will be sure to obey everything written in it. Only then will you prosper and succeed in all you do. This is my command—be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

 

The Old Testament focuses on the Law. People had to obey the Law to be found righteous. When Jesus came and died for our sins, He administered a dispensation of grace that allows us to benefit from the Law without the penalty for our transgressions against it. We have all the blessings but none of the curses when we live as born-again believers by faith in Christ. The road to success, pathway to prosperity and benefits of blessing all come from obedience. Obedience leads us to the Lord and all that He has promised us. It is that simple. So we can try to do everything our way and be “good” people, but until we are God’s People who choose His Way it will not come to pass. Today, I have decided that I will do whatever it takes to have everything that the Lord has promised me. I want it all. I understand that I must do whatever it takes according to His Will, Way and Word to have it. I must have faith that He is good and working on my behalf even when it doesn’t add up or make sense. I have to trust the Lord and do good in all things including every situation and regarding all people. This is my focus today. Whatever it takes to be blessed and prosperous in all that I do. How about you?

I Kings 8:58 (NLT)

May he give us the desire to do his will in everything and to obey all the commands, decrees, and regulations that he gave our ancestors.

 

Psalm 34:14-15 (NLT)

Turn away from evil and do good. Search for peace, and work to maintain it. The eyes of the Lord watch over those who do right; his ears are open to their cries for help.

 

Psalm 37:27-28 (NLT)

Turn from evil and do good, and you will live in the land forever. For the Lord loves justice, and he will never abandon the godly. He will keep them safe forever, but the children of the wicked will die.

 

Psalm 125:4 (NLT) O Lord, do good to those who are good, whose hearts are in tune with you.

 

Leave a Reply

