I Need More – A Devotion

I Need More

Matthew 6:25-27 (NLT)

“That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?”

 

Are you aware of the Presence and Power of God active in your life today? I am not asking you this question but rather relaying the resonating thoughts of my own. Do you know how much God loves you? Are you certain that in every situation that you have overcome and have the victory? Do you know for a fact that you have everything you need with more than enough to share with others? Do you worry about the cares of life? Bills, employment, retirement, and budgets? Today, tomorrow, next week, coming years? Your spouse, kids, family, friends, coworkers? What is it that has consumed your thinking and overtaken the knowledge that God loves you more than any other created being and is committed to doing exceedingly abundantly more than you could even think to ask for? What a wakeup call, Lord! I worry. I stress. I become anxious. I get consumed thinking about life. Planning, preparing, and pursing lesser things when God has planned so much more for my life. Do you do the same thing? Trying to trust the Lord, but paying special detail to all the “things” that take the place of faith and hope in the Lord, it is human nature to have a backup plan. We must learn to thrive and quit merely surviving.

Mark 8:14-21 (NLT)

But the disciples had forgotten to bring any food. They had only one loaf of bread with them in the boat. As they were crossing the lake, Jesus warned them, “Watch out! Beware of the yeast of the Pharisees and of Herod.” At this they began to argue with each other because they hadn’t brought any bread. Jesus knew what they were saying, so he said, “Why are you arguing about having no bread? Don’t you know or understand even yet? Are your hearts too hard to take it in? ‘You have eyes—can’t you see? You have ears—can’t you hear? Don’t you remember anything at all? When I fed the 5,000 with five loaves of bread, how many baskets of leftovers did you pick up afterward?” “Twelve,” they said. “And when I fed the 4,000 with seven loaves, how many large baskets of leftovers did you pick up?” “Seven,” they said. “Don’t you understand yet?” he asked them.

 

You would think as much as church folk like to eat that at some point the disciples would catch a clue and start bringing some groceries with them when Jesus began teaching. Each week, I plan a menu for our family. It is not something that I strictly adhere to but rather is more of a guide for my weekly grocery list. When I go to the store, I make sure to check off each item that I will need for the meals of the upcoming week. Each day I can pick a meal knowing that I have all that I need to prepare it. It helps with our budget and to ease the grind of the work week. During the holidays, I was blessed to have about two weeks not working. I found that I would begin meals earlier in the day and leisurely work on them throughout the day. I enjoy cooking. I really like watching my family enjoy the meals that I give them. However, all good things must come to an end or at least that’s what they say so yesterday I returned to work. It was exceptionally busy. Usually, I would arrive home around five and begin preparing the evening meal. Last night, it was after seven before I donned the doors to circling hungry people. I was sad because our daughter and her husband had come over for a visit and to share a meal. So I decided to throw the budget and menu out the window and we went to a restaurant close by. Nothing fancy. We ate, talked and enjoyed each other. In the back of my mind, I began to berate myself about not going ahead and preparing the meal as planned. But then, I could sense the Holy Spirit nudging me. What are you so worried about?

The disciples were arguing about who forgot the bread? Welcome to the real world. Pointing fingers and finding fault when Jesus had enough He pointed out what should have been obvious to them. “Hey, I fed 5,000 people with five loaves of bread and 4,000 people with seven loaves of bread, what’s your problem?” He also mentioned the fact that when He did these miracles not only did the Lord meet their immediate need but there was an abundance leftover. Don’t you understand? Is your heart too hard and stubborn to take it in? Why can’t you see? What is so difficult to comprehend? Don’t you remember anything at all? Apparently not, because like the disciples provision is a constant source of worry for most people. We cry out for more and more stuff rather than more and more of God. He is everything that we need. Jesus was telling His Disciples this on that boat and His Spirit is telling us today that I am still more than enough. I have all that you need. You must have faith that I have it and will give it to you. You must have discernment to see that it is me. You must be willing to ask me for it believing that I will do it enough to do what I have called you to do until it comes.

John 10:10 (NLT)

The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.

 

Jesus told us that He came to give us a rich and satisfying life. When the Lord said, “It is finished” on the Cross releasing His Spirit. He walked into the pit of hell took back the keys to our inheritance as Children of God and constantly tries to thrust them back into our hands. The problem is we get so caught up in the thief’s purpose to steal, kill and destroy that we are bound by his lies into desperation. We forget that like Peter, Jesus has given us the power and provision of Heaven on the earth. (Matthew 16:18-19) We have the keys to God’s Kingdom but never use them trying to do it all by ourselves.

Ephesians 3:14-21(NLT)

 When I think of all this, I fall to my knees and pray to the Father, the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth. I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit. Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God. Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen.

 

Total reliance on God and faith in Jesus Christ produce a satisfying life. This is Truth. There is no distinction between you and I. We both have the potential and promise to have all that we can think to ask for and infinitely more according to His Word. All we have to do is ask. Why are we not asking? Why are we not waiting? Why are we wearing ourselves out trying to do what God already promised that He is doing? We do not fully comprehend the Love of God. We do not believe that He is always good. We do not trust Him. We can only come to know the Lord in such a way by trusting and believing. It has to begin somewhere. Asking Jesus for a loaf of bread was embarrassing to the disciples because they assumed the Lord would think them irresponsibly. God no longer holds us responsible for our life. He knows that we do not have what it takes to remain righteous, do all the “right” things or be the “right” people so He gave us Jesus Christ. Nowhere can I find it in the word to work out my own problems or provide for myself but rather by faith to accept the Way and Will of God which contains all these things. I must only have faith. With faith, all things are possible. Humility teaches us to come to Jesus for everything we need and stop limiting our life because we are too proud to ask. He does not expect us to hold it all together or fix everything. It is His Promise to perfect our way and make good of every detail. We must shift full and sole responsibility of our life back to the Father through His Son, Jesus Christ.

What happens next will be nothing short of miraculous as the Lord pours out the contents of Heaven in our life! His Spirit will empower us with the unlimited resources allowing our standard of living to raise to His Glorious Standard set forth at the beginning of time. God lives in abundance. He operates in overflowing. There is no limit to the potential of God in our life, it is stretched only as far as our ability and willingness to trust the Lord. As we allow to let Christ make His Home in our heart learning to love and trust Him more. His Love expands the parameters of our life and increases our borders. It may look like we have one loaf but really we have baskets left over. It may look like there is only enough oil for one last meal but really it is a supply limited only by the amount of jars we procure. We were chosen to have a life filled with God’s Power, Provision and Promises. It seems dumb to think we don’t have it simply because we are too proud to ask.

Matthew 7:7-8 (NLT)

“Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened.”

Could it be so simple? Yes. Why aren’t we doing it? We lack faith. Faith is the commodity of Heaven that allows us to have everything that God promised. Asking is an act of humility. We hate to ask for things like handouts or help. It is that prideful, sinful nature. Most of the time, people don’t want to depend on other people so we choose to do it ourselves. How many times do we claim to be believing God but worry, stress, fret over our problems? Don’t be so hard on yourself I do the same thing. Many times, I try to find a solution before I give the Lord time to work His Plan. I jump on relief rather than resolution. God says just keep asking. Persistence is a sign of faith. Keep on seeking. Patience is a fruit of God’s Spirit. My kids will not stop asking until they get an answer. God wants me to be the same way. Trust promotes expectancy. Faith lives in the realm of hope. God invites you to this place of joy and peace. That “thing” you think you need, “person” who you decide to allow into your life, or “solution” you have chosen is not necessarily God’s Best for your life. How will you know until you ask Him? God operates in abundance in every aspect of our life. Every good thing in our life is from God. (James 1:16-18) He invites us to the place called more than enough. Even in hard times, we can overflow in God’s Abundance. (Psalm 65:10-12) Swallowing our pride, we must learn to come to the Lord in every situation. We must ask Him for everything first. Faith requires waiting sometimes. It is not always a place of immediate gratification. We must be willing to wait for the Lord to answer us. Open the door. Give us what He promised. With patience and persistence, you will have everything God has promised you by faith.

Psalm 37:18-19 (NLT)

Day by day the Lord takes care of the innocent, and they will receive an inheritance that lasts forever. They will not be disgraced in hard times; even in famine they will have more than enough.

Faith in the Lord is lived in more than enough. We will have all that we need and want when we trust God with all of our life. We receive that which we are willing to give. (Luke 6:38) We must be willing to humbly surrender our life to God and wait for His Answer. This will take practice. It will take time. We are a work in progress learning to love and trust the Lord day by day. The Lord takes care of the innocent. We must only remain righteous to see the Goodness of God in this lifetime. He gives us an abundance of mercy and grace to do so. We will receive the inheritance that lasts forever, too. We are not going to wait on Heaven but rather by faith bring Heaven to earth by deepening our commitment and connection to Jesus by faith. We will never be disgraced. In hard times, even famine, we will have more than enough. I have all I need today. I must open my eyes to see it which means taking them off the world and what everyone else has. I must open my ears to the Voice of God and stop listening to everyone else tell me what I need. I must discern between the good things and God things in my life. This is facilitated by His Spirit. I am after the exceeding abundance of love, peace and joy found in Christ. I want a satisfied life. I choose contentment today by faith. I want to remember all that He has done so I will decide to trust Him for all that I desire in the future. God is more than enough. I have all that I need. Lord, teach me to live in your abundance today. Make room in my heart for all that you have chosen to be mine. I want your surplus today in the Name of Jesus!

2 Corinthians 9:7-8 (NLT)

You must each decide in your heart how much to give. And don’t give reluctantly or in response to pressure. For God loves a person who gives cheerfully. And God will generously provide all you need. Then you will always have everything you need and plenty left over to share with others.

Leave a Reply

