Still Waiting – A Devotion

Still Waiting

Psalm 62:1-5 (NLT)

Let all that I am wait quietly before God, for my hope is in him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress where I will not be shaken. My victory and honor come from God alone. He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me. O my people, trust in him at all times. Pour out your heart to him, for God is our refuge. 

 

I still hate to wait. I am a very impatient person. Over the last three years of my life, I have had to wait a lot. More than I ever thought possible without me losing it completely. Doctor’s appointments and endless consultations for our son have made waiting inevitable. Those are just the day-to-day waits meshed together with the line at the grocery store, slow teller at the bank, and the traffic just to get home every day. It is not uncommon for an outburst of hysterical laughter to blurt out when I encounter yet another delay in my timeline. I have come to expect it. There is a fine line between waiting on God and standing in a rut. Waiting on God requires expectancy. It is an act of faith and trust in the Lord that keeps us bound to His Presence in complete confidence that He will deliver just as He promised. If I let go of my hope and expectation that God will finish the good work begun in my life, than I am in a religious rut of saying all the right things, doing what everyone thinks I should and becoming weary in my well doing. For those of you (including myself) who are still waiting, God is sending out His Word to us to today. Like the receptionist, who tells us, “You’re the next one on the list!” The Holy Spirit whispers to our spirit and soul, “You are not alone. He’s coming. You are next!”

“Let all that I am wait quietly before God for my hope is in Him.” Our faith in God is bound by confident hope that He will do exactly what He says that He will do. God intends to do more than we can think to ask for. (Ephesians 3:20) His Way is perfect. He tells us that He will perfect that which concerns us. (Psalm 138:8) I must decide do I want God’s Perfect Plan or my comfort zone. God also says that He will make goodness come from every detail of our life. (Romans 8:28) He promises to complete the “good” work that He has begun in each of us. (Philippians 1:6) Why all the scripture references? The Word of God is my guarantee that I can have what He promised. If I hold tight to the Word of God, wrap it up in my faith, make it my confident hope, AND wait expectantly – I will have it in the land of the living.

Psalm 27:13-14 (NLT)

Yet I am confident I will see the Lord’s goodness while I am here in the land of the living. Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord.

Why me? Why now? Why wait? Sometimes when the wait is extending in frustration, I get the inclination to leave. I was waiting with my oldest doctor at a walk-in clinic. She had a sinus infection and needed an antibiotic. It was nothing life threatening. I have been in that situation countless times over the last few years. They were busy that day and we were a walk-in so we were being worked in. As people came in after us but were seen before us, I watched my daughter become more agitated by the minute. She fidgeted and fussed in the chair. She was sick and tired of being sick which also applied to her wait. I offered to take her to another center down the road in an effort to be seen more quickly. Finally, I asked the nurse how much longer as we wavered between waiting and leaving. She smiled and said, “You’re next!” Within minutes, they called her name and about fifteen minutes later we were on our way. Now, I knew that they would see my daughter. I was confident that they had exactly what she needed. Leaving would have only prolonged the process… The only way that we will have all that God has promised is to wait expectantly and patiently until He completes the work that He has begun. Are you confident of God’s Love for you today? That is really what it all comes down to. How sure are you that God is for you? How much do you believe that He is working every detail for your good? If you believe that you will see God’s Goodness now in this lifetime, you will wait patiently for Him. It will take bravery because the world will work hard to convince you that God is not real, He is not for you, and waiting is dumb. It will take courage as the enemy wages war on you in this vulnerable position of personal weakness totally reliant on God’s Strength and Power. Yet, those who decide to wait patiently on the Lord will see His Goodness by His Grace.

Luke 15:25-29 (NLT)

“Meanwhile, the older son was in the fields working. When he returned home, he heard music and dancing in the house, and he asked one of the servants what was going on. ‘Your brother is back,’ he was told, ‘and your father has killed the fattened calf. We are celebrating because of his safe return.’ “The older brother was angry and wouldn’t go in. His father came out and begged him, but he replied, ‘All these years I’ve slaved for you and never once refused to do a single thing you told me to. And in all that time you never gave me even one young goat for a feast with my friends.

Theodore Roosevelt said, “Comparison is the thief of joy!” Comparison to anyone other than Jesus Christ lowers our standard of living. Comparison kills faith leaving room for doubt. When the brother returned home, the one who remained with his father was mad. He was hurt. The hardworking and dedicated older son began comparing himself to his younger foolish brother. Red flag, red alert, danger Will Robinson! I am guilty of this and you are too, if willing to admit it. We see the “good” things happening to other people and begin asking the Lord, “Why not me? Why not now? What have I done wrong?” We become envious and jealous not really knowing what is going on behind the scenes. I have had this conversation many times with young Christian woman who look at my family now assuming that it has always been this way. They don’t think someone like me can relate to someone like them. I am not ashamed of my past because God is perfecting it. He is making good on every detail (even my mistakes) and its working in my life. When the younger son returned home, the older brother refused to join the celebration complaining that although he had remained faithful and committed to his father – there was no celebration in his honor. His father reminds the angry son, “His father said to him, ‘Look, dear son, you have always stayed by me, and everything I have is yours. We had to celebrate this happy day. For your brother was dead and has come back to life! He was lost, but now he is found!’” (Luke 15:31-32) The Father is whispering to us today, “My child, you have always stayed by me and everything I have is yours…” There is no need to become jealous of what God is doing right now in other people’s lives. Do not compare your life as a believer to anyone else’s life. By remaining faithful to God and waiting expectantly, EVERYTHING that He has is yours in the Name of Jesus! We have all been the prodigal but by the Grace of God that flows in the Blood of His Son Jesus Christ we become His Son and Inheritor again! It will be worth the wait. You aren’t missing out but in full preparation to receive all that God has for you with the wisdom to turn it into prosperity rather than squandering it in the world!

Psalm 38:14-15 (NLT)

I choose to hear nothing, and I make no reply. For I am waiting for you, O Lord. You must answer for me, O Lord my God.

I do not recall ever pausing to reflect on these verses but today in the silence of waiting on the Lord they make total sense. I have long since stopped running around telling everyone what the Lord is telling me. In Habakkuk 2:3-4 it says, “Then the Lord said to me, “Write my answer plainly on tablets, so that a runner can carry the correct message to others. This vision is for a future time. It describes the end, and it will be fulfilled. If it seems slow in coming, wait patiently, for it will surely take place. It will not be delayed.” The Lord told the prophet “write my answer plainly on tablets”. He did not tell the man to go share it with the world just yet. He did not instruct him to seek the counsel of men. Write it down. I keep a journal. I strongly encourage every believer to keep one. Psalm 38 says, “I choose to hear nothing.” God said it so that seals it. “I make no reply.” Stop telling everyone your business. Do not expect that to embrace everything God is doing in your life and strongly support it. I have one example for you – Joseph! I am waiting on You, O Lord. You must answer me. When God gives you a vision, dream, idea or Word – write it down first. Pray about it. Talk to the Lord about it. When the time is run – He will tell you to run with it. You run the risk of disappointment, delays and detours when you decide to seek the counsel of man because it is an act of doubt and disbelief. It opens the door to distraction. Put a lid on it. Zip it. Wait on the Lord!

Psalm 5:2-3 (NLT)

Listen to my cry for help, my King and my God, for I pray to no one but you. Listen to my voice in the morning, Lord. Each morning I bring my requests to you and wait expectantly.

 

I am still waiting because God is teaching me to patiently and expectantly wait on Him to act rather than racing off trying to do it myself all the time. Is that you today? Perhaps, that is why you are still waiting, too. Or maybe God is just not finished lining up everything perfectly. You may be willing to settle for less than His Best, but that is not the kind of Gift Giver our Father is. Each morning – every day – we must learn to make it a habit to bring our requests to the Lord and leave them there remaining in His Presence as we wait for Him to do what His Word says. I have waited impatiently and it is very unpleasant at times. But when I give it to the Lord and choose to wait expectantly and strive to remain patient, I find that He fills me with a peace that passes all understanding and even in the most critical of times there is joy even laughter. Trust in God promotes a lifestyle of joy and peace rather than stress and anxiety but the only way to discover it is wait and see. I pray to no one but you! How many other people do you lay out your dreams, visions, plans and even problems to before taking them to Jesus? Yeah, me too. I am learning the simplicity of giving them all to Jesus and waiting. It is a process. No one wakes up with the gift of patience. They are a hard lesson learned. Especially for all those hard-headed, strong-willed, flesh-driven believers like me. Thank you God that your grace is sufficient for me. It helps me in my weakness. I will be a lifelong learner when it comes to patience. I am still waiting for many of His Promises to come to pass but I will wait expectantly. I will wait patiently (or at least do my best to try). I will settle for nothing less than God’s Best even if I must wait for it (and wait for it some more). God is good. His Promises worth having and according to His Word when I wait in His Presence everything He has belongs to me! I’ll take it even if I have to keep waiting for it!

Psalm 37:7 (NLT)

Be still in the presence of the Lord, and wait patiently for him to act. Don’t worry about evil people who prosper or fret about their wicked schemes.

 

One thought on “Still Waiting – A Devotion

  1. I think this applies to just about every believer! Thank you for posting, such an encouragement to keep waiting, and to keep trusting! He is definitely faithful! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

