Light Your Lamp – A Devotion

Light a Lamp

Matthew 6:22-23 (NLT)

“Your eye is a lamp that provides light for your body. When your eye is good, your whole body is filled with light. But when your eye is bad, your whole body is filled with darkness. And if the light you think you have is actually darkness, how deep that darkness is!”

 

Rain, rain, go away, come again another day. It has rained for days and days it seems though probably only about a week. The sky has maintained an ugly hue of gray. Constant mist in the air makes everything wet. It is so dreary outside that it is hard to be motivated but rather makes you want to hibernate. My people become irritable when they are shut in. They need the sunshine to bask in but it is nowhere to be found. There is a glimmer of hope in the forecast that Christmas Day will be sunny and bright but until then the weather app boasts of 100% chance of rain. Beautiful! For some people this holiday season, they did not have to look out the window to feel down. Dark gloominess overtook them long ago when life didn’t turn out the way they expected, maybe they have lost their job or worst a love one, perhaps sickness has taken over their household and body, or it could be just a winter depression that they fight every year. Oh how they hoped this year would be different but were dismayed to feel the same way. Hope without faith will never happen in our life. Without faith, things are not subject to change and reality suppresses the impossible. There are times when it is by faith we find the light that we need to make it through the dark times of life. It is in those moments that we let go of the image of life that we have mustered up to accept the perfect will and way of God that He has predestined for our life. It is so much better than anything that we could ever dream of. It is not subject to the light but can shine even in the darkest of times. We need our faith to become hope. Hope is not only an anchor for our soul but the hold we have on living in the Light of God’s Love forever.

“Your eye provides light for your body.” God will most definitely reach into the darkness with the Light of His Love and show you the way out of your situation. His Hand will scoop you up and rescue those who want to be rescued. For some darkness has become a comfort zone of safekeeping with walls of doubt and fear limiting options of release, renewal, restoration and revival of our heart, mind, body and soul. When your eye is good, your body is filled with light. But if you are blind, you cannot see the light. We must learn to look for His Light. God’s Love surrounds us in every way, shape and form. Optimism is the world’s answer to fear, doubt, discouragement, and depression. Faith is the only way out of such emotions permanently. The greatest optimist can become letdown. But when we learn to walk by faith and not by sight, everything changes.

2 Corinthians 5:7 (NLT) For we live by believing and not by seeing.

 

When you look in a rear view mirror, you see the word “objects may be closer than they appear.” I believe that this can be true in the spiritual as well as the natural. There is a battle being waged for your mind, soul and body every day. The enemy wants to steal, kill and destroy any part of you left uncovered by the Grace, Love and Mercy of God. I have literally felt it before. When I sense it, I pray harder, study the Word more, and seek the Father intently to make it go away. It’s not spooky. It’s not freakish as one might imagine. I have become sensitive to spiritual things because I believe. We are to live by what we believe and not what we see. This is so difficult especially for people who believe only what they see. The Lord pronounced a special blessing on those who believe without seeing. That’s you and me. We did not have the privilege of following the Lord when He walked on the earth. We did not see Him heal people. We were not party to His Teaching. I was not there when He died on the Cross. I missed the day that they discovered an empty tomb. See I have to believe what I know to be true and not what I see with my natural eyes. This is a difficult transition in a world that flashes images in front of me influencing my perception.

Psalm 139:11-12 (NLT)

I could ask the darkness to hide me and the light around me to become night—but even in darkness I cannot hide from you. To you the night shines as bright as day. Darkness and light are the same to you.

 

Darkness and light are the same to God. He is the One who divided them long ago. He knows where one starts and the other one ends. He gave power to the light. He sees through the darkness as if it wasn’t so. The differentiation is for us. There is time when darkness provides comfort in the shadows. I have hidden in the darkness of my room with praise music blaring through earbuds just to be away from the world and sink into His Presence only to find comfort and peace. Children fear the dark. They do not like the unknown. They do not like to be alone. But as they grow older and wiser, they come to realize that there is not a monster under the bed and the boogey man doesn’t live in the closet so they are comfortable when the lights go out. The Lord wants our confident trust that even in the darkness that He is in complete control of our life, working every detail for our good and perfecting our way. Do you believe that today? Do you live the same way in the darkness and the light?

Isaiah 49:8-11 (NLT)

This is what the Lord says: “At just the right time, I will respond to you. On the day of salvation I will help you. I will protect you and give you to the people as my covenant with them. Through you I will reestablish the land of Israel and assign it to its own people again.  I will say to the prisoners, ‘Come out in freedom,’ and to those in darkness, ‘Come into the light.’ They will be my sheep, grazing in green pastures and on hills that were previously bare. They will neither hunger nor thirst. The searing sun will not reach them anymore. For the Lord in his mercy will lead them; he will lead them beside cool waters. And I will make my mountains into level paths for them. The highways will be raised above the valleys.”

 

Nowhere in the Word of God does it say, “God helps those who help themselves.” But oh how we want it to – if anything it would say, “God helps those who cannot help themselves.” When my husband and I married more than a decade ago, I had been a single mom for a few years. I had children that I was raising almost completely alone. I wanted him to take on a leadership role. After years of being solely responsible for these little people, I had an idea in my mind of how things had to be done. I expected him to help but to do it my way. I became very frustrated when his way was not my way. I finally figured out that I cannot have it both ways. If I want it done my way, then I am going to have to do it. But if I want help, I had to let him do it his way. What a powerful lesson in submission I soon learned. If I want it my way then I will be the one who has to do it and responsible for the outcome, but when I decide to let Jesus actually be more than my Savior and make Him Lord, then I have to let Him take over my life. There are times when I am completely oblivious to everything that the Lord is working on and try to figure it out, work it out and help Him along. God calls into the Light of His Love which is a commitment of faith and trust to live what we believe. We must enter the realm of hope where darkness is not permitted. But our sinful nature prefers control and wants to do things our own way. Could it be that darkness is our choice? Is possible to always live in the light?

Psalm 112:4 (NLT)

Light shines in the darkness for the godly. They are generous, compassionate, and righteous.

 

The Lord is calling to those wandering in darkness, depression, and discouragement today. Yes, even those who call themselves Christians and really believe will find themselves there from time to time. His Grace and Mercy are for times like this. It is the avenue by which we step back into righteousness and choose to live a godly life. Faith is essential to light the way. To those who choose to believe when shrouded in darkness and despair but keep groping for God’s Light Switch by faith – they will be shown the deep and mysterious things of God. (Daniel 2:22) He will light a lamp for us in the darkness showing us the way to live in His Light. God’s Way is always perfect. Do you believe that today? If so, than worry, doubt, fear and anxiety have to go in the Name of Jesus? They blind us to the Love of God. They keep us from seeing the Light of His Love and moving in that direction. Darkness can only keep those bound up in fear and doubt. Those who live by faith and who choose to believe will walk in the Light of His Love always. In the valley or on the mountaintop, your faith and hope remain the same.

Isaiah 50:10-11 (NLT)

Who among you fears the Lord and obeys his servant? If you are walking in darkness, without a ray of light, trust in the Lord and rely on your God. But watch out, you who live in your own light and warm yourselves by your own fires. This is the reward you will receive from me: You will soon fall down in great torment.

 

Well, it looks like another day of rain. 100% seems pretty certain to me. The gray misty sky is at it again. Cabin fever is beginning to set in so I will have to find a way to distract these people I live with. If you are beginning to feel the darkness closing in, or maybe you cannot remember how the Light of His Love feels, it is up to you whether or not that will change. The Light of His Love is inside of you. Will you feed the Light or sink deeper in darkness? Look around. There is always someone who is praying for what the Lord has already given you. There are some with more than you dreamed of but have never felt the Peace, Love and Joy of Jesus Christ. We have to change our perspective to encounter the Light. Faith removes fear. Trust removes doubt. Obedience changes your direction. Hope keeps us moving in the right direction. It is time to light our lamp and keep it burning even when darkness seems endless and time stands still. Faith, hope and love are eternal qualities and the Light of God for our life. Just take a few moments to stop looking for the sun, and step into the Light of His Love!

Psalm 18:25-30 (NLT)

To the faithful you show yourself faithful; to those with integrity you show integrity. To the pure you show yourself pure, but to the crooked you show yourself shrewd. You rescue the humble, but you humiliate the proud. You light a lamp for me. The Lord, my God, lights up my darkness.  In your strength I can crush an army; with my God I can scale any wall. God’s way is perfect. All the Lord’s promises prove true. He is a shield for all who look to him for protection.

Leave a Reply

