Snow Globe – A Devotion

Snow Globe

Matthew 5:14-15 (NLT)

 “You are the light of the world—like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden. No one lights a lamp and then puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand, where it gives light to everyone in the house.

 

Snow Globe (By Matt Wertz)

Chorus

Sometimes I wished I lived in a snow globe
Where the wind blows … It’s wonderful
And every single time that you shake it
You’ll make it so beautiful.

 

When I heard this Christmas song the other day, the chorus stayed with me. Mingling with my thoughts, playing in my head, and writing on my heart. We are to be a light to the watching world. The Lord places us like a city on a hill that many can see even those far from us. His Purpose is not for His People to live obscure and mundane lives but rather to shine His Glory and share Jesus with the world. But if our life is sedate and ordinary, would we ever develop a passionate desire for the Lord. I mean really – lets be real. Most people call on the Lord like some kind of Santa Claus who will give them the stuff that they desire or pay a bill or two. Others want Him to be their Prince Charming who comes to the rescue, sweeping them up out of their situation to carry them off to a faraway castle and distant land to live a fairytale life always happily ever after. One day Jesus will return to whisk away His Bride. The Bride must be read with a heart on fire for her Lover rather than mixing things up in the world. So God in His Infinite Wisdom and Divine Grace allows us to be shaken from time to time. It’s in those times we are forced to leave our comfort zone. Complacency dies in our need to survive and desire to thrive so we embark on a journey to know Him more. Shaking is a part of the process by which we grow. But like a snow globe, all the elements are in place for a beautiful life for the world to see. Sometimes we just need a quick shake to see its beauty.

I Chronicles 16:30-32 (NLT)

Let all the earth tremble before him. The world stands firm and cannot be shaken. Let the heavens be glad, and the earth rejoice! Tell all the nations, “The Lord reigns!” Let the sea and everything in it shout his praise! Let the fields and their crops burst out with joy!

 

In our freedom, we forget who is in charge around here. God reigns. He has given all power and authority to His Son, Jesus Christ. Even though by His Grace and Mercy we are given the freedom to choose death or life, it does not change the end that is coming. It decides our future in that end. Choosing life is a commitment to follow Jesus Christ. To confess Christ with our mouth not meaning it our heart is a decision to die when the world comes crashing to an end. I know, I know it sounds so barbaric. God is serious. We do not take Him seriously or it would impact how we live. Unfortunately with the advancements in technology and humanity’s self-exaltation, nobody knows what to believe anymore. Convinced they can make the world better and that they have unlimited lives, we live in the moment rather than planning for forever. Sadly the church has been impacted as well. Religion is rampant. Remnant relationships are nowhere to be found. Church is big business yet few tarry at the Cross. It is time to get back to basics. It’s time to allow God to shake up our lives and have His Way which He already promised will be good with a future and hope. Every detail will be good. He will perfect all that concerns us. What will you do when God shakes you up? We must remember that although we feel in control of our life. It is God who set things in order. When He said it was finished, everything completed from beginning to end. We have but one thing to live for. His Name is Jesus. He is our only way to exchange this snow globe life for a glorious forever with God in Heaven forever. It doesn’t matter if you believe me. It only matters if by faith you believe in Him.

Psalm 16:7-11 (NLT)
I will bless the Lord who guides me; even at night my heart instructs me. I know the Lord is always with me. I will not be shaken, for he is right beside me. No wonder my heart is glad, and I rejoice. My body rests in safety. For you will not leave my soul among the dead or allow your holy one to rot in the grave. You will show me the way of life, granting me the joy of your presence and the pleasures of living with you forever.

 

Growing up with many struggles as a young child made me a control freak by nature. I fight the urge to take over every situation. It is how I survived. Eliminating the element of surprise by depending only on myself was my answer to it all. Well, that doesn’t work in my relationship with the Lord. He must be in control. For many years, God would shake my life and I would quickly work to restore proper order according to my survival plan. He continued to try to put things in proper order according to His Will and His Way. God wants to bless me. He loves me. He desires me to always be successful and live in prosperity. But in my effort to control my life so I would not be destroyed – I fell into religious disobedience. Doing all the right things, but never fully trusting the Lord. We do it all the time. We speak the Word one day. Complain, grumble and gripe the next day killing our seed in the ground. We do what the Word says but with a hard and unforgiving heart voiding the blessing of obedience. We live for Christ claiming to love Him but love no one else as He instructed us to do. So God shakes us.

I have been shaken many times in my life, carefully putting the pieces back together to paint a pretty picture worthy of the fridge but that is not God’s Plan and Purpose for my life. I am to be a Masterpiece.

Ephesians 2:8-10 (NLT)

God saved you by his grace when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God. Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it. For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

 

My life is being made into a Masterpiece by God. One worthy of a place in a famous museum on public display. Why? I am the light of the world. I am to be a city on a hill. Not just me but you, too. People will intentionally look at our life because of the Glory that God is working in it. Signs, wonders and miracles are for those who submit their life to Christ. Words are not enough. Religion will never do. Actions must have the right attitude. Our minds must change from thinking about this life in its comfortable little package to the potential of forever with an enormous God! So He shakes us up to make us what He planned for us to be. I understand these words and instructions the Lord is sharing with me today but I cannot see beyond the “snow” right now. Our life has been forever changed in the last three years. It will never be the same. I must be okay with that and come to terms with it to step into the future that God has for me. When I am shaken, self-control must kick in not to try to make life as it has always been. We are beginning with Christmas this year. How appropriate as we celebrate the birth of Christ marking a new beginning for all mankind. Our traditions are changing. We are embracing each other more than gift and routine. I am thankful that we have been shaken but not sure where the pieces will fall into place. If you are being shaken, please be encouraged today. The best is yet to come if we let the Lord have His Way. Everything is going according to His Plan and it will all be okay – if we choose to remain still in the storm holding our anchor of hope. We must remain faithful in the wind and rain as He makes our life beautiful in the midst of the storm. We will be His Masterpiece. We will be His Light. We will be the city on a hill that He promised. And yes, we will be shaken again and again until He comes as He looks in our life and makes us right once and for all. We may not live in a snow globe… but every single time that He shakes us – it will be beautiful!

Psalm 62:1-2 (NLT)

I wait quietly before God, for my victory comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress where I will never be shaken.

Leave a Reply

