Faith Impossible – A Devotion

Faith Impossible

Psalm 18:1-3 (NLT)

I love you, Lord; you are my strength. The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior; my God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the power that saves me, and my place of safety. I called on the Lord, who is worthy of praise, and he saved me from my enemies.

 

Out of the frying pan into the fire. It feels that way sometimes as I walk this walk of faith learning to trust God with my life. I close the door to one battle and open another only to find another waiting on the other side. I need to hear the good news again from Isaiah 35, “strengthen those who have tired hands, and encourage those who have weak knees. Say to those with fearful hearts, “Be strong, and do not fear, for your God is coming to destroy your enemies. He is coming to save you.”  Even God’s strongest fighters get tired, limping along with their sword of faith dragging behind them. I am that warrior. Overwhelmed at the thought I swinging it one more time, I just want some relief. Are you there? Have you ever been there? Am I the only one who gets tired of fighting the good fight of faith? Or could it be it is in moments like this that God reveals Himself to His Children in all of His Glory? Why? Tired, drained and out of strength, we become totally reliant on His Power and Strength to overcome every enemy that comes at us in this life to be where He is. We run to the Lord as our Rock, Fortress and Savior when we cannot do it our self anymore. He will be our protection when we stop trying to defend ourselves and allow Him to be our shield, power and safety. In our weakness and total vulnerability, the true potential of our faith is discovered.

Psalm 18:16-19 (NLT)

He reached down from heaven and rescued me; he drew me out of deep waters. He rescued me from my powerful enemies, from those who hated me and were too strong for me. They attacked me at a moment when I was in distress, but the Lord supported me. He led me to a place of safety; he rescued me because he delights in me.

 

God helps those who help themselves is NOT a Biblical truth but human philosophy. It is one of the most common misunderstandings and debilitating lies that the enemy has ever told. We couldn’t save ourselves from death and the grave. I couldn’t save our son from cancer. Ultimately, isn’t that what we are all fighting for – life. Life more abundantly. The battle is definite. The struggle is real. But human strength will never be strong enough in and of itself to overcome the enemy. We need God. The Power that brought back Jesus from the grave is the only way for anyone to overcome. The picture in Psalm 18 is one of great relief. He (the Lord) reached down from Heaven. He rescued me. He drew me out of the deep waters that I was drowning in. He rescued me from my enemies who hated me and proved too strong for me. They attacked me in my moment of distress. (Wow, this is so true.) BUT the Lord supported me and led me to safety. He rescued me simply because Jesus delights in me. Nowhere in this account does it say that anything was necessary on my part but surrender. I just had to accept His Help and let His Power pull me out of danger’s way. Do I trust the Lord enough to fight for me today?

Psalm 18:25-28 (NLT)

To the faithful you show yourself faithful; to those with integrity you show integrity. To the pure you show yourself pure, but to the crooked you show yourself shrewd. You rescue the humble, but you humiliate the proud. You light a lamp for me. The Lord, my God, lights up my darkness.

 

Faith is my trust in God. If I trust Him, He will prove faithful. His Position of Sovereign Power over everything ever created is not in any way threatened or lessened by man’s unwillingness to believe. To those with integrity – He proves to be Truth. His Power is available for me. It is always available, but I do not always rely on Him. I try to fight my own battles and when I fall short in personal strength to overcome is when I run to Him. God promises me victory. He will give me everything that I need to win every battle, but my sinful and pride-ridden nature forgets and tries to do it myself. God rescues the humble. Humility is not a characteristic easily gained. It requires submission. But as I learn to surrender more and more of my life to His Love and Power by faith, He lights up the darkness and I realize that I have nothing to fear. I do not have to fight but rather just watch as the Lord fights for me because of His Great Love.

Psalm 18:30-32(NLT)

God’s way is perfect. All the Lord’s promises prove true. He is a shield for all who look to him for protection. For who is God except the Lord? Who but our God is a solid rock? God arms me with strength, and he makes my way perfect.

 

God’s Way is perfect. His Plan is always good and much better than anything that I could ever come up with. Anything less is compromise. All of His Promises are true and applicable to my life. He is my shield. His Word is my sword. But I cannot safely use His Word in my life without first securely grabbing hold of the shield of faith, because to do so is invite the enemy to engage in war against me. He hates it when I trust God and believe in Jesus Christ. I must put on God’s Full Armor to successfully stand in every battle against the adversary who wants to destroy my life. (Ephesians 6:10-12) In His Perfect, wrapped in His Armor, we can stand on faith and confidence that God will rescue us and fight for us in every situation. In this place of surrender to God’s Power, He trains us (Psalm 18:34) He strengthens us. He shields us. (Psalm 18:35) He supports us giving us everything we need to be safe and secure in times of desperation. He helps me. God makes a wide path for my feet to follow Him step-by-step through the minefields of testing set by the enemy to take out God’s Children. (Psalm 18:36)

Psalm 63:6-8 (NLT)

I lie awake thinking of you, meditating on you through the night. Because you are my helper, I sing for joy in the shadow of your wings. I cling to you; your strong right hand holds me securely.

 

When I lie awake at night thinking about the battles of each day, I can change things in that moment when I decide to meditate on God’s Promises and by faith dare to believe that they apply to me and my life. It takes the power from the enemy and hands it back to Jesus so that He can defeat and overcome every opposition in our life. Power is given to the one who dominates our thoughts. Why? Because we are not fighting flesh and blood but principalities and darkness that are constantly trying to inject rebellious thoughts into the heart and mind of God’s People that our Father doesn’t love us, care for us, provide for us or fight for us. Such thoughts disengage our heart with fear separating us from our Protector and Provider by a barrier of fear that causes disbelief. We know that it is impossible to please God without faith. (Hebrews 11:6) But are we convinced?

Psalm 44:3-8 (NLT)

They did not conquer the land with their swords; it was not their own strong arm that gave them victory. It was your right hand and strong arm and the blinding light from your face that helped them, for you loved them. You are my King and my God. You command victories for Israel.  Only by your power can we push back our enemies; only in your name can we trample our foes.  I do not trust in my bow; I do not count on my sword to save me. You are the one who gives us victory over our enemies; you disgrace those who hate us. O God, we give glory to you all day long and constantly praise your name. 

You have been given victory. Jesus Christ has handed us the Keys to His Kingdom. Are we using them to open up the refuge that He has prepared to us entered by faith. Do we dare believe in His Power and Love enough to stop fighting our battles and use our faith to achieve the impossible. Just a little faith has the power to change our life. (Matthew 17:19-20) Yet we believe the enemy’s report never trusting a single word that Jesus has given us unless pushed to brokenness and utter devastation battling in our own strength and power. What if we dared to sit on our faith and remain anchored in hope (Hebrews 6:19) and allowed the Lord to fight just one battle for us today? We would be victorious. How do I know? Victory always glorifies God. We were made to give Him Glory.

2 Timothy 2:3-4 (NLT)

Endure suffering along with me, as a good soldier of Christ Jesus. Soldiers don’t get tied up in the affairs of civilian life, for then they cannot please the officer who enlisted them.

 

To fight the good fight of faith and win, I must endure to the end. Every trial in life bears the distinct opportunity to glorify God as He fights for us and rescues those He delights in. Faith allows us to believe that God delights in us because of Jesus and not anything we have done or not done. Our hope is that our faith will result in every promise the Lord has given us. When trials come, we can be glad. There is always a promise attached. There is blessing in victory. Joy lies ahead. (I Peter 1:6-8) Why? Because our faith is made stronger as we learn to endure until we are complete lacking nothing. How do I know? It is the Truth written on my sword. It is the inscription on my shield of faith. I must only endure. I cannot get tangled up in civilian’s affairs including the threats and taunts of the enemy cast out through other people. They are fighting for faith just like me. I must only seek to please the officer who enlisted me – Jesus Christ. I have the victory. I am blessed. I will glorify God. I will discover the true potential of faith and He will rescue me.

I Timothy 6:11-14 (NLT)

But you, (insert your name), are a man (or woman) of God; so run from all these evil things. Pursue righteousness and a godly life, along with faith, love, perseverance, and gentleness. Fight the good fight for the true faith. Hold tightly to the eternal life to which God has called you, which you have declared so well before many witnesses. And I charge you before God, who gives life to all, and before Christ Jesus, who gave a good testimony before Pontius Pilate, that you obey this command without wavering. Then no one can find fault with you from now until our Lord Jesus Christ comes again.

Leave a Reply

