Pinterest – A Devotion

Pinterest

Habakkuk 2:1-3 (NLT)

I will climb up to my watchtower and stand at my guard post. There I will wait to see what the Lord says and how he will answer my complaint. Then the Lord said to me, “Write my answer plainly on tablets, so that a runner can carry the correct message to others. This vision is for a future time. It describes the end, and it will be fulfilled. If it seems slow in coming, wait patiently, for it will surely take place. It will not be delayed.”

Pinterest is life. No really, this imaginary bulletin board is a God-send in many ways. When first introduced to it, I was reluctant to get on board simply because I did not need another thing to suck time out of my already busy life. But then cancer came into our life requiring many long periods of waiting, so one day I took the plunge. Chemotherapy infusions can take up to six hours of sitting with absolutely nothing to do. The board I created was for various recipes that I wanted to try. I “pinned” all day only to discover that I had not saved a single item. Not to be discouraged, on our next trip to the hospital I tried again. I was hooked. Suddenly, one board became eight and I dove headfirst into the Pinterest world. My cooking has gone to a whole new level. It seems now that whenever I want a new and fresh idea for my appearance, my home, my family or life, I log in and start pinning whatever I find there.

Our daughter’s wedding could be labeled a “Pinterest” wedding. Most all of our ideas and her desires are pinned to her secret board called “Hush Hush.” Not much of a secret anymore as the wedding has come and gone, but now it is fun to look at the pins from beginning to end to see the maturation process that led up the big day. The wedding dress she dreamed of changed to something completely different in the end. Every detail of her wedding is pinned to that board some things we nailed and others forgotten. Like an online journal, it is filled with her dreams and visions of the biggest day of her life so far. She allowed a few other people including myself to add to it as well. Now as we move on to other things, each of my girls are creating Christmas lists via Pinterest. I have a board to makeover our youngest daughter’s room, an exercise board to rev up my workout and a just added Thanksgiving board since it is just around the corner. But I also have dreams of other things that I have created secret boards for that no one can see, where I work out the visions planted in my heart, running through my mind, working their way our according to God’s Plan. God speaks to people. He expects us to do something with the dreams and visions that He gives us. Like Pinterest, we must find a way to channel these thoughts and images so that they will become a reality in our life. Are you dreaming? Do you envision things that are not already here? If not, you should be.

Hebrews 11:1 (NLT)

Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.

 

There is more to life than this my friend. The trouble is too often we are running so fast that we do not take our place on the watchtower to wait for the Lord to work out the dreams and visions that He has for us. It is all part of the plan for our good that contains a future and hope. (Jeremiah 29:11) We cannot have the plan of God if we do not know what it is or work to find it. We must do things His Way. “I will wait to see what the Lord says…” Could it be that we are so busy that we do not stop to hear the voice of God? Is it possible that the only time the Lord can get our attention is in our sleep? Faith is confidence that what we hope for will happen. Faith is the assurance that what we hope for will happen. If you can see it, do it, or make it happen than you do not need faith. Faith is for those unseen things that need to become a reality. We must learn to wait on the Lord and listen for His Voice. Seek His Face so we know our direction. We must take note of our dreams and visions as they lead us into the realm of Hope where all the good things He has promised can be obtained.

Job 33:14-15 (NLT)

For God speaks again and again, though people do not recognize it. He speaks in dreams, in visions of the night, when deep sleep falls on people as they lie in their beds.

 

God speaks to His People again and again. People just do not recognize the Voice of God. I have clearly heard the Voice of God three times in my life. Each time, I know it was audible and directly to me. I have not a single ounce of doubt that the Lord was telling me something in that moment. Each time a miracle has taken place. I know God because I have a relationship with Him. My time with the Lord goes beyond religion. Yay me! Not really, I came to Jesus because I desperately needed salvation. The closer I get to Him the more I need Him. This is not a powerful position but an empowered posture bowed before the One who can make my dreams come true and do more than I could think to ask for. (Ephesians 3:20) Like Pinterest, my relationship with Jesus Christ stretches my mind and increases my aptitude to do things that I never knew could be done or accomplishments that I thought too great for me. He speaks to me in dreams. Not all dreams, but those who make it a point to know His Voice will easily discern godly visions from gross pizza. When I eat chocolate before bed, it gives me crazy dreams. These are not visions from God but rather my digestive tract going into overload. I always knew chocolate was a drug. Pizza or other spicy food can do the same thing. Thank God those are not realities of God making their way into my thoughts but natural occurrences that can easily be dismissed. We must know God to discern His Voice from all the other voices in the world including that of our own flesh.

Joel 2:28-29 (NLT)

“Then, after doing all those things, I will pour out my Spirit upon all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy. Your old men will dream dreams, and your young men will see visions. In those days I will pour out my Spirit even on servants—men and women alike.”

 

Acts 2:16-18 (NLT)

“No, what you see was predicted long ago by the prophet Joel:  ‘In the last days,’ God says, ‘I will pour out my Spirit upon all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy. Your young men will see visions, and your old men will dream dreams. In those days I will pour out my Spirit even on my servants—men and women alike—and they will prophesy.”

I love it when a plan comes together. Joel prophesied that God would pour out His Spirit on people. He predicted that they would see visions and dream dreams. When the Holy Spirit came on the day of Pentecost, the prophecy was fulfilled. Now we can communicate with God directly through His Spirit who allows us to know God’s Heart, His Secrets and His Plan. He lives inside of us as an interpreter so we can know what God is up to in our life. Sometimes we may not know exactly what the Lord is up to but we know it is Him as the Spirit gives us peace and joy in our wait time. Daniel and the three Hebrew men were given an aptitude to know and understand all dreams and visions. (Daniel 1:17) Jacob saw Heaven and earth connected in a dream. (Genesis 37:8) His dream kept him going when he feared for his life. Joseph’s dreams almost got him killed by his brothers. Not everyone is going to understand your dreams and visions, so sometimes it is best to keep them to ourselves. (Genesis 37:8 & 20) However, our dreams give us something to hold on to in the midst of tests and trials. Such things prepare us to fulfill God’s Plans which are the premise of these dreams. As He works on our character, we can wait on Him because we see where we are going not where we have been. (Psalm 105:17-19) Your dream should not look like your reality it should reveal your faith and hope in God. Dreams give purpose to our tests as the Lord refines our character to have all that He has promised. Have you written down God’s Promise for your life? Are you journaling the dreams for the future you have? Just because you don’t feel comfortable talking about them, does not make the insignificant or unimportant details of your life! Write your vision. Make it plain. Wait for it to come. This is faith. It will become confident hope to those who allow it to grow and mature in God’s Love and Timing.

I Corinthians 2:9-11 (NLT)

That is what the Scriptures mean when they say, “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love him.” But it was to us that God revealed these things by his Spirit. For his Spirit searches out everything and shows us God’s deep secrets. No one can know a person’s thoughts except that person’s own spirit, and no one can know God’s thoughts except God’s own Spirit.

God’s Spirit lives in you. The Voice of God is speaking to you. You are fully equipped to hear Him and know His Thoughts concerning you. Are you listening? When a thought pops in my head of something that I need to do or remember, I immediately write it down or log in the notepad of my smartphone. Why? It is important. I do not want to forget. What more important details could there ever be for my life than those whispered to my heart by Jesus? I can’t think of any. I find pins on Pinterest because I spend time on the website. I look at what my friends are pinning. I browse popular pins and boards of interest. I can even search for pins on particular topics. Why not spend time in the Word of God and listening for the Voice of God the same way? When I find something important, I should write it down. If it seems like a good idea, why not try it? I can live in God’s Word just like many of us do on Pinterest and other social media. The biggest difference is that God knows my heart and Jesus died to give me a rich and satisfying life, why not pay attention to the One who is trying to give me all I desire and more than I can ask rather than trying to do it all myself! God’s Secrets are deep in His Presence but not hidden from us. We must go into His Presence to know them.

Proverbs 13:19 (NLT)

It is pleasant to see dreams come true, but fools refuse to turn from evil to attain them.

Clear and consistent dreams are divinely connected to our relationship with God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit. I remember once testimonies of a youth group that had begun to experience some profound dreams from the Lord. Not to be left out several young people began to express dreams that were clearly of their own making. One in particular connected with a secular television show that was clearly contradictory to anything the Lord would have her watching. People who have dreams and visions of a spiritual nature must have a connection to the Lord. (Colossians 2:17-19) God will warn us in dreams when we go astray. But those who want to live to fulfill God’s Plan and Purpose means doing things His Way, the facilitation of dreams and visions that lead to miracles, signs and wonders are solely based on intimacy with the Lord. You cannot expect God to tell outsiders His Secrets. Our daughter has proclaimed that her wedding day was perfect. Praise the Lord and thank you Pinterest! It took a year to plan and execute her big day but she had dreamed of it since she was a little girl. As her mother, I protected and nurtured that dream as she grew into a young woman. When she became engaged, we worked out every detail the way that she wanted it. Toward the end of the process, I adopted the mantra “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.” (All the mothers of bride said, “Amen!”) Her wedding day was amazing. I am just a human being. Imagine how God works in us to fulfill our dreams and visions that are far beyond our expectation? He is God! He is the Creator of all. Could there be anything better to search for? I find that over the last few years I do not dream like I once did. Visions have become sparse. We were being tested. I was being refined. But now Lord, I am ready. Pour out your Spirit in my heart and mind all over again. I want to dream again. I want to envision the things that You, God, have planned and prepared for my life. I want to do it your way in every way. Please help me to wait on you. I will write it down. I will make it plain. It will be perfect just like you planned it.

Proverbs 13:12 (NLT) Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a dream fulfilled is a tree of life.

Leave a Reply

