Meaningless – A Devotion

Meaningless

Ecclesiastes 2:11 (NLT)

But as I looked at everything I had worked so hard to accomplish, it was all so meaningless—like chasing the wind. There was nothing really worthwhile anywhere.

 

Life without purpose is meaningless. When you discover that you have been created by God with divine purpose, it is very difficult to continue a course when there is no meaning. At the end of each season of life, as I am led into another purpose begins to wane. It is not the death of a dream but rather fulfillment that causes me to seek something more meaningful to pursue. I am in that season of life. As fall turns to winter, the leaves on the trees change colors and begin to fall dramatically. In Ecclesiastes 3:3, it mandates that there is a “time to kill and a time to heal.” Before anyone gets excited, a pastor who is well-educated in Hebrew recently pointed out that “a time to kill” is not permission to take out those who have been making your life difficult but rather a directive to “let go”. What tells the leaves that it is time to release their hold on a tree? What is telling me that it is time to let go and move on? What makes the leaf trust its intuition and release its hold of the limb? What allows me to release the past to grab hold of the future that is clearly set before me?

When the very thing that once brought satisfaction has become meaningless, I believe it is the urgency of God and impression of His Spirit for us to look farther than our comfort zone for our next great commission. Otherwise, our life becomes meaningless. When life is without purpose, it requires no faith which stops the production of hope that we hold on to. Hope is not only an anchor for our soul but the grip that we have on Eternity. Your life is not random. God created you with divine purpose that does not always look like or feel like the world’s representation of you. It is when everything becomes meaningless that continuing our present course becomes tedious and lacking which is not the life planned for us by the Lord. Jesus did not die so you could maintain monotony. He died that we would have an abundant life overflowing with all of His Love, Goodness and Kindness wrapped in His Favor. When we no longer feel that our life is “rich and satisfying” the enemy comes like a thief ready to “steal, kill and destroy” all that the Lord is doing in us and through us moving us from this season to the next where our harvest waits. (John 10:10) What should I do when life becomes meaningless?

Isaiah 49:3-4 (NLT)

He said to me, “You are my servant, Israel, and you will bring me glory.” I replied, “But my work seems so useless! I have spent my strength for nothing and to no purpose. Yet I leave it all in the Lord’s hand; I will trust God for my reward.”

 

Purpose is the reason that something exists. I was created by God with purpose. I am not random. There is a specific reason that I am here. I have something if not many things that I am to accomplish. Psalm 139 details God’s Creation of my life with intent and purpose. Everything in my life has purpose and meaning that can only be found in God’s Will for my life. The good times, bad time, happy times, sad times, easy times and hard times all are filled with meaningful purpose for my good and His Glory. Faith is how I truly discover such things. Trust is the binding force by which it makes its way to me. Hope is the reason that I continue even when “my work seems useless”. Just because I “feel” like I have spent my strength for nothing and to no purpose” does not mean that it is true. Faith is not an emotional response to God. Faith is a commitment to God’s Purpose and Plan for my life that requires me to trust that He is doing His Part to take the seeds that I plant and turn them into the harvest that He has promised. The Lord said to me (just today) that “I am His Servant and I will bring Him glory!”

Romans 8:27-28 (NLT)

And the Father who knows all hearts knows what the Spirit is saying, for the Spirit pleads for us believers in harmony with God’s own will. And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.

 

As the bride and bridesmaids prepared for our daughter’s wedding ceremony, the hair salon was a flurry of activity. Many girls opted for elaborate updo’s. As each one sat in the chair and the stylist began to work, it was difficult to see where she was going as she took this strand of hair wrapping and braiding it together with another one. It was hard to tell what the final product would like. But each time, when the style was complete it was beautiful. Just a few moments prior, it may have looked like a tangled mess but with each stroke of the brush, pull of the comb, properly placed pin and squirt of hairspray – it all came together. I wonder how many times God is working out the details of our life into something wonderful and beautiful that we become impatient, squirm around or get up and leave before He is finished. How close were we when we jumped ship and abandoned faith? We have been given His Spirit so that we can align our lives in harmony with God’s Own Will. Why? Because His Will contains a plan and purpose that is good with a future and hope. His Spirit equips us for success producing many fruits that sustain us in the process. (Galatians 5:22-23) As I cleaned up our daughter’s recently vacated room, my heart ached for the little girl who once lived there. My mind knows that she is happy and ready to spread her wings and fly but I love being a mom. It is one of my favorite purposes in life. I am shaken back to reality by the horrible grinding of something caught in the vacuum cleaner as I bend down to find a leftover bobby pin. Tears fill my eyes and laughter pours out of my mouth, as I am reminded that God’s Plan and Purpose for my life is not over but only beginning. Keep the faith. Just because your season is over, a new one is beginning. The moments of your life comprise a plan and purpose so complex that you will never fully comprehend it naturally. God does more than we could even think to ask for. What we can do is focus on His Purpose and align our life with Him.

I Corinthians 9:26 (NLT) So I run with purpose in every step. I am not just shadowboxing.

 

The Lord has ordered my steps. (Psalm 37:23) If this is true, which I believe it is, this means that every step that I take has the potential to be purposeful. I must make the commitment to find purpose in each step. An athlete trains to win the race. A soldier trains to win the battle. I must train to fulfill my purpose. If that purpose is found in Jesus Christ, it would seem that every step I take closer to Him would fulfill that my purpose. The closer I get to the Light of His Love the clearer His Plan for my life becomes. The deeper into His Presence I go the less of a distraction the world will be. My purpose and the reason that I exist is to glorify God with my life. Dissatisfaction is not the mark of Children of God but a rich and satisfying life. If life is meaningless to you, it doesn’t mean game over but that you never started playing. Those who put their faith and trust in the Lord will always have confident hope that allows them to move from season to season as effortlessly as a leaf releases its grasp from a tree in fall. It doesn’t mean that sometimes you will not hesitate or hold back a little, but isn’t that what grace is for anyway? Jesus Christ died for you to have a rich and satisfying life. This should be your purpose in life. Not getting by or making ends meet, but whatever His Purpose is for you to find it and give Him room to make it a reality in your life. You will definitely need patience and learn how to wait but when you allow His Spirit to takeover – He will produce these in you, too!

Philippians 2:1-2 (NLT)

Is there any encouragement from belonging to Christ? Any comfort from his love? Any fellowship together in the Spirit? Are your hearts tender and compassionate? Then make me truly happy by agreeing wholeheartedly with each other, loving one another, and working together with one mind and purpose.

 

Purpose is my encouragement from Christ. Life doesn’t have to be meaningless anymore. The times when I begin to feel this way have become a sign that a season is ending and change is coming. I have a heightened awareness that God is moving in my life. There is comfort in His Love. When you begin to know and understand just how very much that He loves us, it becomes the buffer needed to get through stretches of waiting. We can fellowship with His Spirit. The Holy Spirit produces the sustenance that we need to get through the “droughts” and “famines” in life when things don’t make sense and we do not seem to be getting anywhere. During these times as we press into Jesus, we move our life into agreement with Him. Wholehearted agreement with the Lord fulfills our purpose in Him. So I will wait while I work on achieving one heart, one mind and one purpose with God. As we agree with the Lord, new purpose – true purpose is revealed in our life. This produces contentment with where we are and what we are doing even if it is nothing like we ever expected! My purpose is please God (I Thessalonians 2:4) and that is what I intend to do. I have to remember that sometimes when I try to hold on to the past and remain in my comfort zone. Life has new meaning when we put all of our trust in Him!

Jeremiah 32:38-40 (NLT)

They will be my people, and I will be their God. And I will give them one heart and one purpose: to worship me forever, for their own good and for the good of all their descendants. And I will make an everlasting covenant with them: I will never stop doing good for them. I will put a desire in their hearts to worship me, and they will never leave me.

One thought on “Meaningless – A Devotion

  1. I am 19 years old and I currently am on staff with a missions organization in Washington, DC. Over the past two months my friend and I “jokingly” kept throwing around the “life is meaningless” verse simply because we were burnt out and just felt so finished with everything. I read your post and it changed everything for me! Thank you for encouraging me in the Lord! Bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

