Another Season Change – A Devotion

Another New Season

Job 29:19-20 (NLT)

For I am like a tree whose roots reach the water, whose branches are refreshed with the dew. New honors are constantly bestowed on me, and my strength is continually renewed.

 

Yesterday, we welcomed a new son into our family. We watched our daughter become a wife. After months of planning and days of rushing around, a grand celebration would follow sweet vows made between our children. As I sat on the front row, my dream finally came true as I scanned the bridal party looking intently at each one of my precious children all dressed up lovingly supporting their sister on her new journey. I have longed for this day. We all fought hard to get there, but as I held my husband’s hand a warmth covered the inside of me even though it was freezing cold outside. We made it. It is another new season in our life. Sometimes the crossover is hard. I love being a mom. It is the greatest job in the world. But now my role with our daughter has changed as she has become an adult. Although I long for her childhood, I must embrace the blessing standing before me. We must learn to celebrate each season in our life even those that pass too quickly or those that I am not ready to see go. God is doing something in each one of us that requires seasonal changes just like the world in which we live. The majestic oaks surrounding the venue have been there for hundreds of years. Though the wind was blowing they did not cower. Leaves changing colors before they fall to the ground do not affect the stature of the trees as they seem clueless that they are dying on the outside because they flourish on the inside. Next spring new leaves will begin to bud and sprout once again producing a lush covering.

I am like a tree. My roots reach down into a source of Living Water that allows me to be refreshed day by day. God is renewing my life from the inside out. I am more comfortable with the seen rather than unseen things in life. But my hope is not based on how I feel or the appearances in life. I am bound by my faith to remain attached to confident hope that only comes from Jesus Christ. He is constantly bestowing “new honors” on me as a Child of the Living God. My strength is continually renewed. It is by faith and nothing else that believers can produce fruit no matter what season it is. For our family, it is another new season.

2 Corinthians 4:16-17 (NLT)

That is why we never give up. Though our bodies are dying, our spirits are being renewed every day. For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever!

We never give up. Oh, I have tried many times to throw in the towel but the Holy Spirit just keeps handing it back. My body is dying. It started the day that I was born. But the day that I became born again, my spirit started being renewed. I believe that our faith in God makes us like trees because on what happens on the inside of us. As we begin to invest more time and energy in becoming rooted and grounded in the Love of God, choosing to spend time in His Presence, developing intimacy with Him, studying His Word, walking His Way and surrendering to His Will even when it seems like nothing is happening on the outside everything is changing on the inside. When we decide to believe God enough to become invested in the growth and maturation process that He offers us through righteousness found in our faith in Jesus Christ, we encounter His Glory. His Glory produces overflowing peace and indescribable joy in our life. Please do not give up. It could be that you are entering a new season, too.

Psalm 1:1-3 (NLT)

Oh, the joys of those who do not follow the advice of the wicked, or stand around with sinners, or join in with mockers. But they delight in the law of the Lord, meditating on it day and night. They are like trees planted along the riverbank, bearing fruit each season. Their leaves never wither, and they prosper in all they do.

 

The joy found in obedience to God and the surrender of our life cannot be described adequately. No one will ever understand the peace that I have and satisfaction found in Christ until they travel to that place. We are to bear fruit in each season. That means that even when the season is harsh the Glory of God can be produced in the believer’s life. We are promised to prosper in everything that we do as God renews us inside where it matters. I will be the first to admit that so many things in life do not add up. It is hard to see the purpose in pain. It is difficult to see victory in the midst of despair, but it is there. I want leaves that never wither. I want to prosper in all I do.

Psalm 103:4-5 (NLT)

He redeems me from death and crowns me with love and tender mercies. He fills my life with good things. My youth is renewed like the eagle’s!

 

Prosperity is part of a maturation process. It cannot be rushed or taken. When Jesus Christ redeemed your life, you were given a crown of righteousness that cannot be earned in any way. It was our Lord’s Gift to you. Now we have His Love and Tender Mercy. It belongs to us. We do not have to work for it or even attempt to hold on to it. We must become Christ-like to enjoy the benefits and blessings associated with living in close proximity to God … like a tree planted along the riverbank. It is the Lord who fills our life with good things. He is the One who works every detail for our good. It is an inward process with outward results. God is renewing us today. Such a change requires us to change seasons. Be willing to go or let go. Do not fret when everything changes but embrace the new beginnings that lie ahead. God is good. Jesus died for you. His Spirit lives inside you and you have the ability to prosper just because He lives.

Jeremiah 17:7-8 (NLT)
“But blessed are those who trust in the
 Lord and have made the Lord their hope and confidence. They are like trees planted along a riverbank, with roots that reach deep into the water. Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought. Their leaves stay green, and they never stop producing fruit.”

 

To be blessed all that I am required to do is trust the Lord. He is my hope and confidence that faith is worth having and will produce His Glory in my life. Do I trust the Lord? Your faith in God does me no good. It is a personal matter. I trust God. When the seasons of life change around me, I must look deep in my heart to determine if I really am rooted and grounded in the Love of God by faith. How will I know? Peace and joy that comes even in the most challenging times is validation that I am affixed to something or rather someone who is greater than the hardship I face. The deeper I go in God through Jesus Christ, the less life seem to affect my overall being. Not to say that I do not get tired, weary, rundown, overwhelmed, disappointed or even defeated, but it means that even when things seem to be falling apart, I know who the Source of my Hope is and choose to remain confident in His Love. It is a process that has undergone some very challenging trials. My deepest desire is that through it all, the good, the bad and even the ugly that I will continue to produce fruit that glorifies the Lord who lives in me. He is the River of Living Water that runs through me.

Colossians 2:6-7 (NLT)

And now, just as you accepted Christ Jesus as your Lord, you must continue to follow him. Let your roots grow down into him, and let your lives be built on him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness.

 

I know that God has a sense of humor. As Floridians, we are blessed with comfortable weather most of the time. The last couple of months, fall has come but the weather in our area has been just wonderful. That is until we are ready to have a wedding outside and it drops twenty or more degrees. The bride’s maid’s dresses were purchased for an October wedding that had to be postponed. The ceremony was planned for outside. It was in the very low 50’s with a wind chill in the 40’s when it was time to begin. As a new chapter began in our family, the weather around us changed dramatically, too. Could it be the Lord reminding us to look within? Was He showing us a change in the atmosphere to point to the inward process that is occurring? Accepting Jesus Christ as Savior makes Him Lord of our life. He cares for us. He provides for us. He is our source of life. Without strong roots of faith dug deep into confident hope, we will never survive or thrive in the seasons of life but find each one more shocking and brutal than the last. The Lord has offered to be the foundation of our life. He gives us blessings and promises too good to pass up. Seasonal changes are necessary to keep producing more and more of God’s Mercy and Grace in our life. It is the process of sowing and reaping that God relies on to get His Goodness to us. Embrace the change in your season today. Trust God because He knows exactly what He is doing in your life. He has a plan. It is a good one with a future and hope that you do not want to miss. Celebrate each season of your like knowing that He is working every detail for you and perfecting all that concerns you. See knowledge, wisdom and understanding so you will stay strong in the cold, stormy, windy nights. Farmers use an almanac but we have been given the Living, Breathing Word of God to help us be prosperous so use it. Finally, be patient. God has appropriated a certain time for everything in life. If your new season is not here, wait its coming. For now just be thankful that God loves us enough to change the seasons in our life.

Psalm 92:12-13 (NLT)

But the godly will flourish like palm trees and grow strong like the cedars of Lebanon. For they are transplanted to the Lord’s own house. They flourish in the courts of our God.

One thought on “Another Season Change – A Devotion

Leave a Reply

