Secret Life – A Devotion

Close up of woman shushing

Matthew 13:11-12 (NLT)

He replied, “You are permitted to understand the secrets of the Kingdom of Heaven, but others are not. To those who listen to my teaching, more understanding will be given, and they will have an abundance of knowledge. But for those who are not listening, even what little understanding they have will be taken away from them.

 

I have a secret life. It is a place that I go to be by myself to spend time all alone. The door is closed and the place is quiet. I listen and watch wondering if he will come. This is personal. A place of intimacy so sweet that no one else is welcome in but the One who loves me most. My heart becomes soft at His Gentle Whisper as I invite Him to spend time with me. I ask Him to share with me all that He knows and am sad when our time together must end. I used to think I could share these moments with the world. I would try to speak to Him in the midst of the crowd but sadly could not hear His Voice or feel His Breath close to me. In pure exhaustion, I would collapse when my eyes were heavy and ears worn from the many conversations of the day and ask Him to speak to me as I drifted off to sleep missing that precious time when He tells me all that He knows and wants to share with me. My secret life is my own. My family knows about it and accepts that I am a better person for it. My husband is not jealous but encourages me to go. My secret life is the time I spend in the Presence of the Lord. It is valuable and worthwhile leaving a void if it is missed or forgotten. God has secrets that are meant just for me. To know these Kingdom secrets will give me the understanding that I need and abundance of knowledge that I desire to prosper my life in the Presence of God. For those who do listen, or avoid understanding it will all be taken away from them.

Deuteronomy 29:29 (NLT)

“The Lord our God has secrets known to no one. We are not accountable for them, but we and our children are accountable forever for all that he has revealed to us, so that we may obey all the terms of these instructions.”

 

God has secrets that no one knows. We are not accountable for those things. But as Children of God, once we know something about Him, then we become accountable. God gave us the law to show us that we could not live in right standing with Him. It proves that we are sinful from the inside out and incapable of a relationship with Him outside of His Son – Jesus Christ. God is not ruled by His Emotions. He does not act according to impulse. His Word is firm. It does not change nor does He ever change His Mind. (Numbers 23:19) While in most cases this is quite comforting, especially when it comes to His Unfailing Love, without full working knowledge of the Grace of God it can also be a very scary thing. The Law is overwhelming. It condemns us before we fully realize its full ramifications. God offers us a covenant in exchange for the Law that is His Free Gift of Salvation through His Son. When Jesus died on the Cross, He gave us full access to the Kingdom of God along with all its secrets. Once revealed, it is now our responsibility as we continue in covenant to be accountable as the Lord reveals His Word, Will and Way to us. It is important to know God’s Secret. It is equally important to constantly seek to expand our knowledge of God and develop wisdom where He is concerned. But it is that little thing called accountability that holds us back from experiencing God’s Glory in our life. Because now our life is held to a much higher standard that requires an inward and outward change to have all He promised. Out of sight out of mind is a much more comfortable position.

Jeremiah 33:2-3 (NLT)

“This is what the Lord says—the Lord who made the earth, who formed and established it, whose name is the Lord: Ask me and I will tell you remarkable secrets you do not know about things to come.”

 

If Deuteronomy 29:29 is true, and it is, then once we ask God to reveal something to us and He does than we are instantly accountable to do what He says. The trouble is many times we ask God to tell us His Secrets without knowing the true ramifications of such a request. The moment God reveals a new truth to us, there is instant accountability to do what He says. If we don’t ask, then we are not obligated. If I come boldly to the Throne of God, I am able to ask for anything and it will be given in the Name of Jesus. Hold that thought! When I do, I become instantly accountable to do what He says when He reveals His Will and Way to me. This is not a trick or some way God lures us in. But this is the way that the terms of our covenant work. He told us so in Deuteronomy 29:29, so maybe it is important to really seek God’s Face and know what we are asking for before we make our request to the Lord. He will answer us when we call every time. By faith, the Lord gives what we ask for. (John 14:14) Ignorance is not bliss. It can be dangerous. There is responsibility that comes with knowing God’s Word, Will and Way. It would seem important to know God and what you are asking for before you ask Him for it.

In Matthew 13:11, Jesus plainly tells us that His People are permitted to know the secrets of the Kingdom. We must know what we are asking for ahead of time and be willing to do what He say when the Lord shares them with us to remain in obedience to Christ. When our prayers seem to go unanswered, could it be that when God reveals His Secrets that we are not willing to do what is required to experience what He has shared?

Daniel 2:17-19 (NLT)

Then Daniel went home and told his friends Hananiah, Mishael, and Azariah what had happened. He urged them to ask the God of heaven to show them his mercy by telling them the secret, so they would not be executed along with the other wise men of Babylon. That night the secret was revealed to Daniel in a vision. Then Daniel praised the God of heaven.

 

God shared His Secrets with Daniel. The Lord God was speaking to the king in his dreams. He had grown frustrated because he did not know God so he was not permitted to find meaning in these visions. He had sent out a decree to kill all of the wise men in his fury and frustration. When the commander of the king’s guard came to kill Daniel, he went directly to the king to ask for more time to discover the meaning of his dream and it was granted. Daniel and his friends asked the Lord to show him mercy by telling them the secret meaning of the king’s dream. God revealed the secret to Daniel that night which he went on to share with the king.

I have had my God mail read by people more than once. It is quite unsettling when it happens but fills me with overwhelming wonder and joy that the Lord loves me so much to send one of His “Mail” men and women to me. I have one woman in particular that comes at just the right time. Although she is a dear friend who I love very much, we do not have the opportunity to spend much time together. I believe this is by God’s Design. Because we do talk every day or stay on top of each other’s comings and goings when she sends me a timely message with things only the Lord knows – I am consistently blown away. God has sent me secret messages through many people who were completely oblivious of the hidden meaning of our conversation but inside me I knew with deep satisfaction that the Lord was speaking directly to me in that moment. Why? How? Because I have a secret life. The time I spend in deep conversation and contemplation of God, His Word, His Will and His Way allow me to see things in the natural that can only be perceived spiritually. Why all the secrets?

John 10:10 (NLT)

The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.

 

When our house was burglarized several years ago, I was walking through with the detective to determine what was missing. As we went from room to room, thankfully our house had not been ransacked. But there was a deliberate pattern in their search throughout, I asked the officer why only certain things were moved. He indicated that this was no petty thief but a professional one. The perpetrator knew exactly what they were looking for and where people kept their valuables and weapons so that is where they looked. This would not allow them to find what they were looking for but not waste time or risk getting caught plundering through worthless items. The thief in our life comes to steal, kill and destroy us. Jesus came to give us a rich and satisfying life. He is the gatekeeper (John 10:9) who only allows His Own People to come and go as they desire. The Lord keeps the enemy from touching our inheritance and blessing in Him. God keeps His Secrets until we are ready to receive and able to hold on to that which He has promised. I want to know all of God’s Secrets but I must be ready to receive them.

Colossians 1:26-27 (NLT)

This message was kept secret for centuries and generations past, but now it has been revealed to God’s people. For God wanted them to know that the riches and glory of Christ are for you Gentiles, too. And this is the secret: Christ lives in you. This gives you assurance of sharing his glory.

 

How do I discover God’s Secrets? It is not as hard as one might think because Christ lives in you. That’s right, all you must do is ask and it will be revealed to you. It is at that point that we must do whatever is required in our request. How am I supposed to know all this? God gave us His Spirit which is the living breath of Jesus Christ. We are given the Mind of Christ. (I Corinthians 2:16) However, our sinful nature requires us to spend time with God to know Him more. We must learn to build our relationship with the Lord so that we recognize His Voice. God is speaking to us every day but if we do not listen how will we know. If we do not spend time with Him, there will be no relationship. Without a relationship, there is no intimacy. Without intimacy, we will never know His Secret or the abundance they bring to our life. The Spirit of God that lives inside of every believer is ready to reveal all of God’s Secrets to us. (I Corinthians 2:9-11) God’s Spirit also examines the human heart preparing us to receive these precious promises that have been given to us. (I Corinthians 4:4-5) Examining our motives and intentions towards the Lord, the Spirit of God molds us and shapes us for more of Him. We are being transformed into God’s Secret Keepers and Message Deliverers day by day by His Spirit living inside of us. (I Corinthians 15:51-52) So now what?

Habakkuk 2:1-3 (NLT)

I will climb up to my watchtower and stand at my guard post. There I will wait to see what the Lord says and how he will answer my complaint. Then the Lord said to me, “Write my answer plainly on tablets, so that a runner can carry the correct message to others. This vision is for a future time. It describes the end, and it will be fulfilled. If it seems slow in coming, wait patiently, for it will surely take place. It will not be delayed.

 

God’s Plan for our life is firmly established. It is a good plan with a future and hope. We must listen and obey the Lord to fulfill His Plan for our life. He give us all the grace and mercy that we need to have all that He has promised. The Spirit of God gives us the Mind of Christ along with peace and patience to fully discover the Will of God for our life. It may come in visions or dreams by way of messengers – God is working overtime to share His Inner Most Thoughts with us. We must be prepared to receive. The Word of God tells us that our secret life will one day be revealed. (Mark 4:21-23) Everything will be brought before the Light of this world. We will be judged according to our secret life. Not just the life we lived when no one else is watching, but all the times God shared His Heart with us and we chose to ignore His Voice. (Romans 2:16) If you are asking the Lord to speak to you today, you are in essence asking for Him to share His Secrets with you. This is our divine privilege through our covenant with Christ. Once we hear His Voice, we must do what He says. It is my secret life.

Matthew 10:26-27 (NLT)

“But don’t be afraid of those who threaten you. For the time is coming when everything that is covered will be revealed, and all that is secret will be made known to all. What I tell you now in the darkness, shout abroad when daybreak comes. What I whisper in your ear, shout from the housetops for all to hear!”

Leave a Reply

