What God Wants – A Devotion

What God Wants

John 14:12-14 (NLT)

“I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father. You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!

 

Where are the greater works? Why do Christians ask for “everything” in His Name and yet seem to come up short? This is totally contradictory to the Word of God. It just doesn’t add up which means either God is a liar (gasp) or we are doing something wrong. I have shared many times the dissertation between God and I the night our son was diagnosed with cancer. I told the Lord all the reasons that this could not and should not be happening in our life. I began by telling Him what His Word said. I continued with all the righteous and obedient things that I had done. This tirade went on and on locked in a public restroom until His Spirit finally got my attention. The Voice of God called to me in that place. If you have never heard Him audibly, it is indescribable and unmistakable. When it happens, you know Who it is immediately. Out of breath and sobbing, His Voice a quiet whisper. “Do you trust me?” What? Are you kidding me? I was almost offended at His Question but He asked me once again, “Do you trust me?” All I could say was “Of course, I do.” “Your son will live and not die.” After reciting God’s Word and reminding Him all my “works” which I thought represented my faith, God asked of me the one that that He wants with all His Heart. Do I believe? His Word is for my benefit showing me the way to live. The things that I do gained relevance only after Jesus Christ sacrificed His Life so I could step back into right standing with God the Father once more. His Spirit is the only guarantee that I have that His Promises are for me. God wants one thing – me. It is up to me to decide if He is all that I want.

Matthew 17:19-20 (NLT)

Afterward the disciples asked Jesus privately, “Why couldn’t we cast out that demon?” “You don’t have enough faith,” Jesus told them. “I tell you the truth, if you had faith even as small as a mustard seed, you could say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it would move. Nothing would be impossible.”

We are given a measure of faith from God. (Romans 12:2) Perhaps, it is the size of the mustard seed that Jesus compares it to. The promise is that if we have faith as small as a mustard seed that nothing would be impossible. But the problem is that people do not understand that faith is not for natural things but a supernatural God. We put our faith “in God” for what we want. Faith is the substance of things hoped for and evidence of the unseen. (Hebrews 11:1) If you can see it, it is not the subject of our faith which is designed to promote confident hope in our life. Successfully Christianity is rooted and grounded by our faith in God through Jesus Christ. Faith in Christ must have the right motive otherwise why would God insist on constantly examining our heart. God examines our heart and knows everything about us. (Psalm 139:1) What is your motivation for pursing the Lord? No really, we must examine our motives to be certain that we have not misplaced our seed of faith. If you are not experiencing such wonderful things as miracles, signs, wonders, answered prayer, or provision in this life, than something is out of place because this is God’s Plan for our life.

Jeremiah 29:11-13 (NLT)

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.

 

Knowing that God has a plan for us that is good with a future and hope is not enough. We must want His Plan enough to seek Him wholeheartedly. Now before you get your knickers in a twist, think about it this way. Would you follow God if not a single thing in your life changed for the better? If you did not make more money, get a new house, find a spouse, or improve your current lifestyle? Don’t be too hasty in your answer. Examine your heart. Think carefully about your answer. It could change your life forever.

Philippians 1:21 (NLT) For to me, living means living for Christ, and dying is even better.

 

Doe living for you mean living for Christ? How do you know? There was a man who thought he wanted to follow Jesus until it meant leaving his family behind to pursue such a commitment. (Matthew 8:18-22) When Jesus said, “Let the spiritually dead bury their own.” What did the man do? The hardest decision that I have made so far by faith is that to trust the Lord completely with the life of my child. I had no choice, but it did not make it any easier. When I had to face the fact that he could leave this world to be with Jesus, I had to decide that if this was God’s Plan and my son died would I still love God? Would I? There was another young man with many possessions who thought that he wanted to pursue Christ. That is until Jesus told him to sell them all, give it to the poor and then come along. The man was sad because he loved his stuff more than God and changed his mind. (Matthew 19:16-22) We must seek the Kingdom of God first above all things…everything…even those things we constantly pray for. (Matthew 6:31) If God does something other than what you are praying for and never answers your prayer the way that you want, will you still love him, trust him, serve him and follow him in this life?

Matthew 6:9-13 (NLT)

Pray like this: Our Father in heaven, may your name be kept holy. May your Kingdom come soon. May your will be done on earth, as it is in heaven. Give us today the food we need,and forgive us our sins, as we have forgiven those who sin against us. And don’t let us yield to temptation,but rescue us from the evil one.

 

May your will be done… God wants me to want Him more than anything else even those things that I pray for. To love Him so much that I trust Him for everything I need, want and desire enough to say if it’s not your will God then that’s okay and mean it. The desire for God’s Kingdom means that your heart is in alignment with the Lord’s Will and you desire His Way on the earth. What if His Way means that healing will not come? Will you still love Him? What if it means that you will never be married? Will you find satisfaction in Christ alone? What if it means you will never have worldly wealth will godly contentment be enough? God wants to know…do you trust Him? Faith makes all things possible. Faith must be invested in God’s Love which requires trust that will be turned to confident hope. God wants to make every detail of your life turn out for His Good. (Romans 8:28) Not a single tear is wasted, He collects them in a bottle for redemption sake. (Psalm 56:8) Sorrow only lasts for the night but joy comes in the morning. (Psalm 30:5) I believe He takes those tears cried in the night and turns them into new mercy each morning as we learn to trust Him more. (Lamentations 3:22-23) We find our hope in Him. This hope never leads to disappointment. (Romans 5:5) He wants to do more than we could even think to ask for in our life, but cannot until we surrender all of our heart and mind to Him. (Ephesians 3:20) We must surrender our will to have the Will of God for us. God wants us to want Him all of Him. Not halfheartedly but wholeheartedly until we are complete lacking no good thing. (James 1:4)

I Thessalonians 2:4-6 (NKJV)

 But as we have been approved by God to be entrusted with the gospel, even so we speak, not as pleasing men, but God who tests our hearts. For neither at any time did we use flattering words, as you know, nor a cloak for covetousness—God is witness. Nor did we seek glory from men, either from you or from others, when we might have made demands as apostles of Christ.

 

God tests our hearts. He studies each one examining the contents for genuine faith in Jesus Christ. Genuine faith wants Christ above all other things. The primary motivation of our heart must become the Will of God. This is why He gives us mercy each day. It is the reason His Grace had to be sufficient because we fall short so many times. In our weakness, we find our strength. Broken and desperate is when we finally release our will to fully embrace God’s Will for our life. The “cloak of covetousness” is a dangerous guise where we approach God’s Throne entering His Presence requesting the idols of this life. We are the Bride of Jesus Christ. This is not a marriage of convenience but a covenant relationship with the Lord. All I am for all that He is. All that I have for all that belongs to Him. To love and trust Him more with such a commitment will produce our greatest desires in life and we may not even know what they are yet.

To my friend who is believing God for a husband. She is constantly petitioning God to bring a man into her life. There is an obvious void that she believes such companionship would fill. She looks at other people who are calling themselves Christians but pursuing companionship like the world. Saying the right things, but doing all the wrong ones. She feels as though she is missing out somehow. What she doesn’t understand is that God has a plan for her life that requires Him to be her most passionate pursuit. Faith proclaims that He is all she needs and everything (everyone else) is second. Once He is enough to satisfy her soul, I believe the man she has been praying for will come into her life. Christ alone must be enough so we do not allow idols to become the objective of our life. I have friends that are not satisfied without money. They need cash flow to feel and see God’s Glory in their life. They care too much about what other people think forgetting that what God thinks about us is all that really matters. They continuously live in lack. Godliness with contentment is great gain. (I Timothy 6:6) What will it take for you to see that Christ is all that matters? What will be the breaking point that empties your heart of all the superficial things to accept the Holy Spirit in each chamber? What is it that you potentially want, love and desire more than God, His Son or His Spirit? This is exactly what is keeping you from giving God what He wants which is one thing – all of you!

2 Corinthians 6:15-17 (NLT)

 What harmony can there be between Christ and the devil[a]? How can a believer be a partner with an unbeliever? And what union can there be between God’s temple and idols? For we are the temple of the living God. As God said: “I will live in them and walk among them. I will be their God, and they will be my people. Therefore, come out from among unbelievers, and separate yourselves from them, says the Lord. Don’t touch their filthy things, and I will welcome you.

Leave a Reply

