I Wonder – A Devotion

I Wonder

Psalm 65:5-8 (NLT)

You faithfully answer our prayers with awesome deeds, O God our savior. You are the hope of everyone on earth, even those who sail on distant seas. You formed the mountains by your power and armed yourself with mighty strength. You quieted the raging oceans with their pounding waves and silenced the shouting of the nations. Those who live at the ends of the earth stand in awe of your wonders. From where the sun rises to where it sets, you inspire shouts of joy.

 

“May we never lose our wonder…may we never lose our wonder…bright-eyed and mystified may we be just like a child staring at the beauty of our King.” (Bethel) Woke up this morning with this chorus playing over and over in my head. After a night of peaceful sleep, it was a fresh revelation to my settled and open mind. It was His Mercy greeting me as I began to stir embracing a brand new day. Hope began to flood my soul at the thought that God the King of the Universe was near to me. I have been struggling lately. Not with my faith in God but keeping a firm grasp of the future that is where my hope lies. The daily grind of life with its many tasks and responsibilities have kept me racing to and fro. The demands and pressures of the world attempt to unsettle me and disturb the precious peace that I have found in my faith and hope in Christ alone. After being through so much, how could I be so careless? I know better. Yet it’s those little foxes that King Solomon warns us of that keep me chasing my tail half the time. I know who is to blame but I will give him no credit here but rather focus my time and energy on the wonder of My King.

Psalm 65 doesn’t instruct us on how to live, how to serve or even on the merits of righteousness. It is a detailed account if only a glimpse of the awesome, marvelous and excellent God who we serve. If we can take hold of this glorious revelation and apply it to our life in that we always look for the Glory and Splendor of God in each day, it is the opportunity to hold fast to our hope and see past the trials that are probable as we walk through this life to Eternity. Those who live at the ends of the earth stand in awe. I am no Bible scholar but I definitely think this points to those who can see past the futility of life to the future that is the Kingdom of God. I cannot make this world a better place but only introduce the people in it to a wonderful God through His Son, Jesus Christ. I am the Light of the Word. Jesus told me so. So am I the one who “from where the sun rises to where it sets, you inspire shouts of joy” as I live as a reflection of the Love of Jesus Christ. I cannot do that if I am filled with regret, remorse and resolution. This comes only to those who see the Beauty of our King. He is our Hope. All that I am rests solely in the fact that He is alive and well. I need to live in the wonder of My King.

Psalm 71:19-22 (NLT)

Now that I am old and gray, do not abandon me, O God. Let me proclaim your power to this new generation, your mighty miracles to all who come after me. Your righteousness, O God, reaches to the highest heavens. You have done such wonderful things. Who can compare with you, O God? You have allowed me to suffer much hardship, but you will restore me to life again and lift me up from the depths of the earth. You will restore me to even greater honor and comfort me once again. Then I will praise you with music on the harp, because you are faithful to your promises, O my God. I will sing praises to you with a lyre, O Holy One of Israel.

I am not old and gray although creeping close to fifty and heavily dependent on my hairdresser. When I was a child, there were some very rough times. I grew up in a mobile home. I decided in my young mind if I ever got out of that park and moved into a house in a neighborhood that my life would get better. We did, but it didn’t. As I grew up and built a house of my own, I realized that the house did not make the structure but the love that grew inside was the foundation of our family. I didn’t realize this until seeing a mobile home for sale on a local online garage sale. For less than the price of a new car, I could have a house for our family that would release us financially from a mortgage. I was intrigued. I jokingly shared it with my husband and he even entertained the notion of a life free of worldly obligation. Live and learn.

God allows us to suffer hardship. Why? If He loves us so much, why the hurts in life? The things that we go through are the direct result of man’s choice to rebel against God’s Way. The consequences of life date back generationally to the first sin when we chose something other than God’s Way for our life. His Way does not produce such things in our life. If God took away our ability to choose, then our relationship with Him would be enslavement not love. God’s Love gives us the right to choose our own way of living even if it is not the best way for us. Those who live in God’s Love and strive to remain in close proximity to Him experience different outcomes because they make better choices. What about when bad things happen to God’s People? Loving and trusting the Lord is a process. In that process, God is working diligently to make good every detail of our life. (Romans 8:28) He perfects all that concerns us. (Psalm 138:8) This includes taking our past and making it good for our future. This is deep philosophy and nothing that we will ever fully comprehend until we meet Him face-to-face but it is absolutely essential that we become determined to discover the vast Love of God for us by turning every aspect of our life over to Him. God has done so many wonderful things in my life. I cannot begin to even tell you the ways that He loves me. Now that I am older, I can look back and see where God saved and delivered me from some pretty horrible situations that I was not aware of until now. Yes, I know that our son has had cancer multiple times. The Lord has healed him every single time without fail. His body is strong despite endless rounds of poison being pumped in his body. He is happily recovering on his Xbox taking online classes satisfied like a pig in mud. His bills are paid and he does not have a care in the world other than remembering to make it to visit his doctor. After each appointment, he hangs out with the nurses to play more Xbox and save the world from zombies. My son is alive and well. How can I not be amazed at the wonderful God who I serve when so many others have lost their children? We have been spared by our Father who is making the best of a situation caused by the sin of man which is the root of sickness and disease. Not my sin, but the global rebellion of humanity against God and His Kingdom. My life, my future is in my hope. God is my hope. Hope is the wonder of God. We must live in constant hope to make it through this place to life!

Psalm 16:8-11(NLT)

I know the Lord is always with me. I will not be shaken, for he is right beside me. No wonder my heart is glad, and I rejoice. My body rests in safety. For you will not leave my soul among the dead or allow your holy one to rot in the grave. You will show me the way of life, granting me the joy of your presence and the pleasures of living with you forever.

 

The Lord is always with me. I will not be shaken. My body rests in safety. In Acts 2:26, Peter says, “My body rests in hope.” You will show me the way of life granting me the joy of your presence and the pleasures of living with you forever. The future is forever, but it encompasses your past, too. God recorded every moment of your life before you were born. This includes every fault, failure and consequence so that when Jesus died on the Cross your debt would be paid in full. It is a constant reminder to the Lord of the details that need revision, restoration and renewal for His Good and the areas that need perfecting. God erases all the bad things we do with the Blood of Jesus Christ covering it with His Grace so that our life will become all that He planned it to be despite of the consequences incurred by our imperfection. This makes my heart glad today. My Father is not punishing me but perfecting my life to reflect the Beauty of His Awesome Love for me. Hope takes my wonder for God and fills my life with wonderful things. Joy is found in the Presence of God not the place where we live. Pleasure is at that thought that He is with us forever. We are never alone. We are never abandoned. We will not be forsaken. He is always with us, right there next to us, before us, behind us and inside us. We are hemmed in by God’s Great Love for us.

Psalm 139:1-6 (NLT)

O Lord, you have examined my heart and know everything about me. You know when I sit down or stand up. You know my thoughts even when I’m far away. You see me when I travel and when I rest at home. You know everything I do. You know what I am going to say even before I say it, Lord. You go before me and follow me. You place your hand of blessing on my head. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too great for me to understand!

I moved a lot when I was kid. I went to eleven different elementary schools. The only place that was constant in my life would be my grandparent’s home. When my grandfather died my grandmother decided to sell the home to move in with my aunt. The last time I would ever visit the home, I realized that it was not as spectacular as I remembered it to be. The walls were cracked and in need of great repair. The hardwood floors well-worn from almost forty years of traffic. The kitchen and bathroom outdated ready for major renovation by the new owner. Why had I not seen it before? The love that I found in that home kept me blind to the natural condition of the place and was wrapped up in the relationship that I had with my grandparents. They were the grounding force for two little children lost in a divorce. They were the ones who introduced me to Jesus Christ and fostered my relationship with Him. They cared for us and met the needs our struggling young parents could not. When they left the house, it became a structure in need of repair. Jesus Christ sent His Spirit to live in me. As long as I live in a covenant relationship with Him, I can see past the faults and failures in this world whether mine or anyone else’s to the Beauty that His Love is creating in my new life. Where I live, what I have and who I know pale in comparison to the hope that I have found in Him but somehow improves all the conditions and outcomes in my life. It’s crazy. It’s wonderful. It’s amazing. Sometimes, I have to be reminded so that I will continue to find wonder in the God who I serve, His Son who I love and the Spirit that I have. I wonder…

Psalm 89:15-17 (NLT)

Happy are those who hear the joyful call to worship, for they will walk in the light of your presence, Lord. They rejoice all day long in your wonderful reputation. They exult in your righteousness. You are their glorious strength. It pleases you to make us strong.

Leave a Reply

