To Be Satisfied – A Devotion

To Be Satisfied

Philippians 4:11-13 (NLT)

Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to be content with whatever I have. I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.

 

Dissatisfaction is a plague that overwhelms society driven by supply and demand. The media constantly promotes wants as needs culminating in a spirit of discontentment. A new update was released by Apple for the IPhone yesterday. On the way to church, our daughters desperately were trying to eliminate applications, delete pictures and reduce storage usage in order to download the update. They feverishly stressed over what could be removed so they could have the new update and all the latest technology for their phone. As my daughter showed me the new options, I must admit that I was impressed. However, as I caught myself beginning to remove data in order to update my phone, I realized that I may accidentally delete some things of importance in my attempt to have something I didn’t even know I wanted before getting in the car. How quickly I had gone from completely satisfied with my phone to totally discontent in the twenty minutes or so it took to ride to the House of God? Please do not judge me too harshly as we all long to be satisfied.

Not that I was ever in need…this statement rings true today. We have everything that we need. It is provided by God for His Children. The problem is that His Children are not always content with what He gives us or become impatient in His Timeline of giving it to us. It is in that moment that we often decide to settle for something less than God’s Best. Compromise always breeds discontentment. We were created with the express purpose to be Sons and Daughters of God. In the garden, we chose something else. The purpose of our life is to reestablish right standing with God the Father through Jesus Christ by developing faith that will become confident hope in the Lord. (Period) So anything that we do to the Glory of God has the potential to satisfy our soul causing it to prosper. This means that we can be happy, content, fulfilled and joyous no matter where we are or what we are doing. The secret of living in every situation is to be content. Contentment comes from a right relationship with God!

Ecclesiastes 2:24-25 (NLT)

So I decided there is nothing better than to enjoy food and drink and to find satisfaction in work. Then I realized that these pleasures are from the hand of God. For who can eat or enjoy anything apart from him?

 

We have begun to study the Book of Ecclesiastes in our midweek service in church. Our pastor warned the congregation that if you are depressed this may be a difficult study for you. He was joking but it is true. The wisest man in all of history calls life meaningless over and over again. King Solomon had it all, had done it all, and had experienced every possible success in life but he was discontent. He was not satisfied even in all of his fame and fortune which describes most famous personalities today. The Book of Job and Ecclesiastes are two difficult books to study in my opinion. In Job, his friends make me crazy with their incessant ramblings. Job was completely misunderstood by those who were the closest to him. How frustrating that must have been for him in the midst of great heartache and pain? This man went from having it all to losing it all in a day. Yet, he still blessed the Lord. At the end of his second trial, Job prayed for those who caused him grief within his grief. God blessed him double for his trouble. Job found true contentment and satisfaction in the Lord as is demonstrated by anyone who still pursues the Lord in the midst of great disappointment, devastation and disaster. However, King Solomon lost nothing. He still had everything but proves by his discourse that it doesn’t matter what we have outside of God. Without Him in our life, everything else is meaningless. Faith, hope and love are eternal things…everything in this life will one day pass away no matter our best efforts to preserve it. If our soul has not found contentment, we will even lose that, too.

John 10:10 (NLT)

The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.

 

Jesus Christ came to give us a rich and satisfying life. We are to be satisfied. It is God’s Will for our life. The word “rich” can be described as having wealth or abounding resources. Nowhere in the dictionary did I see the word “money” specifically except in some examples. Why? Because true wealth is not monetary but in the knowledge and revelation of Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord. This opens up all of God’s Kingdom to our immediate use. God supplies us from His Riches in Glory where gold is something that we walk on like asphalt. The riches of glory are faith, hope and love that all lead to a prospering soul. The problem is that we think a “rich” life is an abounding bank account rather than a prospering soul. You can be unhappy at home with a thriving checkbook, but happiness surrounds those who are satisfied. Happiness is not a place but an attitude of gratitude. Who can be mad and thankful at the same time? I know that I can’t. Standing around talking after church, my eyes searched the lingering people in the sanctuary including my husband and three daughters. I could feel the gratitude rising up for my family. I began to miss my sons out living their adult lives. Soon our oldest daughter will do the same and I must adjust to be the full-time mother of two. I looked at all the people in that place who I have relationships with beginning with faith-in-common. These people who have united to pray us through the dark days of cancer, feed my family when I was away and will soon become our extended family by marriage. Warmth rushed over me as I could feel contentment rising up within me. I wish that I remembered to be content always and in all things but the enemy of my soul is constantly trying to take my satisfaction and give me lesser things. All too many times I fall for his trickery.

Proverbs 3:13-18 (NLT)

Joyful is the person who finds wisdom, the one who gains understanding. For wisdom is more profitable than silver, and her wages are better than gold. Wisdom is more precious than rubies; nothing you desire can compare with her. She offers you long life in her right hand, and riches and honor in her left. She will guide you down delightful paths; all her ways are satisfying. Wisdom is a tree of life to those who embrace her; happy are those who hold her tightly.

True wisdom is found in Jesus Christ. When we acknowledge who He is and all that He has done to reestablish our right standing with God the Father, it requires a choice. This is revelation knowledge that becomes the true wisdom that satisfies and completes our life so that we will be content. It says that joy full is the one who finds wisdom. Solomon was not in right standing with God despite the gift that he had received from Him. How do I know? The man had 700 concubines. End of story. He used his wisdom in the natural to pursue earthly wealth but never became rich in spirit. Toward the end of his life, he realized his grave error. It is the moment that discontentment consumes us that we realize that there is nothing worth having outside of a right relationship with our God through His Son, Jesus Christ. Faith is not something we can see. We are not hammered by the media to pursue faith and trust in God, but most of time to do the opposite altogether. It is a dangerous trap that always leads to discontentment in our life. I want to be satisfied so therefore I must locate the source of true wealth who is Jesus Christ. He satisfied my sin debt so I could once again enjoy the benefits and blessings of being a Child of the King. As I learn to live in His Righteousness, I will find contentment. I will be satisfied.

Psalm 145:15-18 (NLT)

The eyes of all look to you in hope; you give them their food as they need it. When you open your hand, you satisfy the hunger and thirst of every living thing. The Lord is righteous in everything he does; he is filled with kindness. The Lord is close to all who call on him, yes, to all who call on him in truth.

 

My husband eats very quickly. I am not sure where he learned to do so. I assure you that he doesn’t not have to fight off the children for his food. (Chuckle) But it seems sometimes that as soon as he sits down, he is ready to get up. This is a bad habit. When you eat quickly like that, your body has no idea that it is full. Many people will overeat simply because they do not know what it feels like to be full. It takes our body a few minutes to begin to digest all the contents forced in our stomach. I encourage him to slow down and give his body a minute to digest his food. The Word of God is the Bread of Life and Living Water that we need to become full of God. It will always lead to satisfaction and contentment if we will taste and see that the Lord is good. But like a good meal, we must give it time to digest and work in our favor. Imagine that you have decided to start living a healthy lifestyle and so you adjust your diet in hopes to lose a few pounds, you start the process today and weigh tomorrow morning only to find you haven’t lost a pound. Do you give up? Of course not, you haven’t given your body time to show the results of the change you are undergoing and better choices that you have been making. The Lord opens His Hand to satisfy the hunger and thirst of every living thing. The Lord is righteous so we must remain in His Righteousness to see the results of our salvation and experience true satisfaction. He is filled with kindness. Do you believe God is good? You will not pursue Him in uncertainty but you will thrive in hope. The Lord is close to those who call Him. Are you on speaking terms with your Father in Heaven today? It’s called prayer. It is a direct line of communication. Are you calling Him because you love Him or just want something from Him? There is satisfaction in being a Child of the Living God – it is reserved for His Legitimate Children and will not be given to anyone else.

Psalm 90:14 (NLT)

Satisfy us each morning with your unfailing love, so we may sing for joy to the end of our lives.

 

Each morning the Lord presents us with new mercies those who live in persistent faith and confident hope that beckons them into His Presence. (Lamentations 3:22-23) To accept His Mercy means putting all of our faith and hope in Jesus Christ for the rest of the day. Those who seek the Lord in such a way will be satisfied. Turning our life and its contents over to live as a Child of God renders benefits and blessings in our life beginning with faith, hope and love that yields satisfaction and contentment every time. Discontentment causes endless activity in the world today, but His Love promotes rest to the weary and peace in every storm. (Ecclesiastes 1:7-8) What are you after today? Do you long to be satisfied? Do you want to be content? It is that nagging need and desperate desire that you just cannot seem to describe or fulfill. That is because only He can satisfy! The secret to life is godliness that produces total contentment in our life. It is the passionate pursuit of full satisfaction as called for by our covenant in Christ and salvation that has been given. You will not find it in this world no matter how many different things it offers, but you will be satisfied once you taste and see that the Lord is good. He is good! He is a Great God who is generous and unfailing in His Love for us! You will not ever know true satisfaction in this life or contentment in any situation until you accept His Unfailing Love. I have learned a valuable lesson over the years that our son has been battling cancer. I have learned to be content in the Presence and Power of God. (Period) When money did not help the situation or solve my problem? Jesus was all I had left. When I put all that I am in all that He is – I learned to be satisfied. Now, I am blessed in all things, all the time and whether I am with or without. You can be, too. Jesus is offering you the opportunity to be satisfied. The secret is that you will only find it in Him alone!

 

I Timothy 6:6-8 (NLT)

Yet true godliness with contentment is itself great wealth. After all, we brought nothing with us when we came into the world, and we can’t take anything with us when we leave it. So if we have enough food and clothing, let us be content.

Leave a Reply

