My Provider – A Devotion

My Provider

Philippians 4:19 (NLT)

And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.

 

How many times in our moment of need have we declared this trusted Word of God over our life? Suffering from dissatisfaction or discontentment, it is our mantra to remind ourselves that God is our Provider. But really this is not our personal testimony, but rather the words of Paul concerning his own life experience. He starts out by saying, “This same God who takes care of me will…” There is no doubt that God has the ability and wherewithal to supply everything that I need from His Glorious Riches. The Word of God clearly states that it is my covenant right and inheritance in Christ Jesus. But I am afraid that many will never find such satisfaction as that which is called contentment simply because they do not know how to access the provision of God and live in His Glorious Standard.

Romans 3:23 (NLT)

For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard.

 

There is no upper or middle class in God’s Kingdom. There are no places of poverty such as slums or projects. There is one standard for all. It is God’s Glorious Standard. I believe that our standard of living on the earth can match that of Heaven for those who call on Jesus Christ to be their Savior and Lord. It is my understanding that such a revelation and commitment offers the Keys to God’s Kingdom. Those who have keys to my house have access to all that is mine. God’s House and His Kids are no different. My children have access to my home even after they have grown up and moved away. If they need anything, they know that it is here for them. All that I have belongs to them if they need it – all they must do is ask for it. As parents, we will do all that we can to meet their need. Sin is a violation in any relationship causing separation. If my child were to defy my trust, steal from me, or come and misuse that which I would freely give – then access to all that is mine might be denied. Sin did just that in our relationship with the Father. He created us and recorded every single moment of our life at that time. In doing so, He knew exactly what we would need to live a life to His Glory. He provided it in that moment including the perfect sacrifice to restore a right relationship between us. We have access to our Provider if we are willing to go where He is.

Genesis 22:13-18 (NLT)

Then Abraham looked up and saw a ram caught by its horns in a thicket. So he took the ram and sacrificed it as a burnt offering in place of his son. Abraham named the place Yahweh-Yireh (which means “the Lord will provide”). To this day, people still use that name as a proverb: “On the mountain of the Lord it will be provided.” Then the angel of the Lord called again to Abraham from heaven. “This is what the Lord says: Because you have obeyed me and have not withheld even your son, your only son, I swear by my own name that I will certainly bless you. I will multiply your descendants beyond number, like the stars in the sky and the sand on the seashore. Your descendants will conquer the cities of their enemies. And through your descendants all the nations of the earth will be blessed—all because you have obeyed me.”

God’s Provision is found in the complete sacrifice of our life and newfound freedom to Jesus Christ. It is how we regain access to all that belongs to Him. It raise our standard of living from the impoverished state of this life to the Glorious Standard of God’s Kingdom. For many who are saved, there life will begin to change for the better as they make better choices. This is definitely a good thing but not necessarily a God thing. You will never know if your faith in Jesus is genuine or if our Love for God pure without being tested. The true potential of our new life in Jesus Christ I found in complete surrender of all we are to fully accept all that He is. Less of me and more of Him. I must decrease so the Lord can increase in my life. Abraham was a friend of God. He was a righteous man who truly loved the Lord. When his son, his only son, the one he waited a hundred years for was required, Abraham headed straight to the mountain of sacrifice. What is the Lord requiring of you today? Are you willing to give it? Until in the midst of all other options, we are willing to say, “Lord, I choose you.” We will never experience the peace, love and joy of His Presence in our life. The place of provision in our life is the place of sacrifice. Why? Not because God wants anything that we have or to punish us in any way but simply to know that we will withhold nothing from Him. This is the intention to love overflowing from our heart. Even in the face of great loss, we are still satisfied, content and following Jesus Christ.

I am not Abraham. In no way do I feel that my righteousness or faith is equal to this Mighty Man of God, but I watch him. I read about him. I have identified with him in our journey with our son and his battle against cancer. I had to decide if I would continue to follow Jesus Christ or run off like a crazy person in the midst of fear, disappointment and grief. My faith had to grow from sprints to more of a marathon. My hope had to be in God alone to get through the last three years. I had to decide if my son did die in this process, would I still love and trust the Lord My God? This is what it means to give all of who I am for all that He is. Thank God, He has not required the same of me as Abraham. Thank you Lord for pressing me, encouraging me and teaching me to love you more by giving more of my life to you! God blesses those who withhold nothing from Him. It may appear to be a mountain of sacrifice you are climbing when really it is the Place of Provision and Blessing you are about to enter in.

I Timothy 6:3-10 (NLT)

Some people may contradict our teaching, but these are the wholesome teachings of the Lord Jesus Christ. These teachings promote a godly life. Anyone who teaches something different is arrogant and lacks understanding. Such a person has an unhealthy desire to quibble over the meaning of words. This stirs up arguments ending in jealousy, division, slander, and evil suspicions. These people always cause trouble. Their minds are corrupt, and they have turned their backs on the truth. To them, a show of godliness is just a way to become wealthy. Yet true godliness with contentment is itself great wealth. After all, we brought nothing with us when we came into the world, and we can’t take anything with us when we leave it. So if we have enough food and clothing, let us be content. But people who long to be rich fall into temptation and are trapped by many foolish and harmful desires that plunge them into ruin and destruction. For the love of money is the root of all kinds of evil. And some people, craving money, have wandered from the true faith and pierced themselves with many sorrows.

Live a godly life. This is how we obtain open access to the Kingdom of God and all His Provision. Jesus Christ is the Gatekeeper. He opened the gate and carefully watches over all comings and goings. There are wolves among the sheep who preach and teach a prosperity gospel that does not include sacrifice but pure selfishness. We read the scripture “love of money is the root of all kinds of evil” out of context. Anything we love more than God is an idol in our life and the root of evil. If your life is consumed with acquiring cash and resources in a natural sense, it becomes our God. Even if it stems from a sense of entitlement created by misused Word or ill-planted seeds. To serve the Lord to have more is not going to result in the life you are after. In the Kingdom, less is more. When the “stuff” God gives us means less than the overflowing abundance of our heart – you will have more.

When our son was diagnosed with cancer, it culminated in costly medical treatments, medications and endless doctor visits including hospital stays. The insurance company who is our provider approved the treatment and everything was fine. When we exhausted conventional treatment to enter the “realm of hope” as the doctors would deem it, the insurance decided to stop paying for treatment calling it experimental. They indicated that if he had cancer again they would treat it but not allow him to have a procedure that was showing great promise in long term remission. We were denied multiple times and exhausted all appeals. We began to look for other avenues of treatment and ways to finance his care. Nothing. For months, I fought and fought to essentially “save his life” only to find out that this world has put a price on human life. It is possible to have a treatment in one hand but if there is no cash in the other it can be withheld. I will never forget the day that I gave up. It was in my office at work with the door shut and blinds closed on all the windows. After hanging up with the finance director at the hospital, I just broke. My words were simply this…”God I put Brenan in Your Hands. I have done all that I can do. You have to do the rest.” The next day, I received the call that his treatment was approved and would begin immediately. Everyone involved was stunned. No one really knows how it all changed in an instant…but I do. I discovered over this past year that money cannot change my life. The currency of the realm of hope is righteousness. Faith in God demonstrates our righteousness. We must exhaust our desire and end our thirst for money as a means to an end to fully pursue Jesus for Himself not for His Riches in Glory. Divine cash does not look like the American dollar or any other manmade money. It is blessing, honor and glory that the Father gives His Children providing for their every need in their choice to live a godly life.

I Timothy 6:11-12 (NLT)
But you, Timothy, are a man of God; so run from all these evil things. Pursue righteousness and a godly life, along with faith, love, perseverance, and gentleness.
Fight the good fight for the true faith. Hold tightly to the eternal life to which God has called you, which you have declared so well before many witnesses.

 

But you, ___________, are a man (woman) of God so run from all these evil things. Pursue righteousness and a Godly life. This is the meaning of life and to choose a new provider. Our son underwent a bone marrow transplant and is recovering miraculously. Our family is experiencing peace and overwhelming joy. I am blown away by the Goodness of God that is evident in our everyday life that was long taken for granted. The Light of His Love is always leading us to His Promise. (Exodus 13:21-22) Our supply comes from an everlasting kingdom and attentive God who listens for His Children and waits for them to come so He can bless them. God will not give you anything that potentially will separate you from His Love. Even if it means that you may not have an endless cash supply, you will have everything you need and then some according to His Word.

2 Corinthians 9:7-11 (NLT)

You must each decide in your heart how much to give. And don’t give reluctantly or in response to pressure. “For God loves a person who gives cheerfully.” And God will generously provide all you need. Then you will always have everything you need and plenty left over to share with others. As the Scriptures say, “They share freely and give generously to the poor. Their good deeds will be remembered forever.” For God is the one who provides seed for the farmer and then bread to eat. In the same way, he will provide and increase your resources and then produce a great harvest of generosity in you. Yes, you will be enriched in every way so that you can always be generous. And when we take your gifts to those who need them, they will thank God.

Generosity is the act of sowing what God has given us. What has God given you? Give it back. You can never out give God. We have time, talent and treasure that can be used to promote the Kingdom of God. Selfishness indicates that we are withholding some part of our life from the Lord. God is generous and will supply all you need. If you aren’t using what you have properly, He is not going to give you more just to have it and create a false sense of security. The season of life that our family has just endured has blessed me more than I could ever share with you in words. I do not worry like I used to. I do not fret over bills and money as I once did. I do not give in the weight of my burden but have learned to keep pressing it into the Hand of God so that I can continue to worship Him with my life. This used to be such a struggle and from time to time I am on the brink of giving in again but now more than ever I know that God will supply all my needs according to His Riches in Glory when I choose to raise my standard of living in Jesus Christ. You and I decide what we give to God and what we withhold from Him. If our lifestyle or current economic status never changed, would you still bless the Lord and serve Him well? May we all learn to give more and want less today in our pursuit of that which is everlasting and forever! Lord, may we be satisfied in you!

John 10:10 (NLT)

The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.

Leave a Reply

